We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average rooms”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average rooms”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night over the Easter holiday... Great time here, the food and the service in the restaurant was fantastic. The room however wasn't the best. We were in room 1 and you could hear absolutely everything that went on and struggled to have a good nights sleep as kept being woken up by noise. You could hear the neighbours above just walking, could hear them going to the bathroom, the windows were shaking and banging (it didnt shut properly) and also the room were cold. I would stay here again but would have to try a different room!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrot1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    248
    76
    37
    20
See reviews for
84
436
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms 6-14 are like climbing Everest. So many stairs that I had to stop half way for breath. Reception not well sign posted. Asked at bar and young gentleman told me to go out and go around the corner. This I did but discovered the reception was only a few steps away and he did not point this out clearly or properly direct me. Room was ok but I have been in many hotels, never had such a gap under the bedroom door. The draft coming through was terrible and you could see people walking past underneath the door.
I had to put paper inside the door as it was not fitted properly and kept rattling. There was no heat in the room, I didn't shower as it was so cold. The sign in the bathroom said please wait for 3 minutes for hot water, it was always lukewarm.
The noise of toilet, pipes and din from other rooms was horrendous. I ate in the bar once, their sandwiches are £7.95 because it includes chips and coleslaw, marketing trick. I only wanted a sandwich because of poor appetite, didn't want chips or coleslaw. Surprise surprise got stung for one sandwich at £7.95 by young female bar staff. That has to be the most expensive sandwich I have ever had. Money grabbers springs to mind. I found Reception staff most insincere, caked in make up and no interest. If you are relying on wifi, it kept going on and off like a yo yo. Very disappointing few days and a bit of a trek to town centre. If you have walking issues I would advise keep well clear.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

stayed 2nights , reception lounge furniture has seen its day very shabby. the lift was broken for the 2 days we were there my wife has walking problems I would have thought it was priority to have it repaired the day it broke as the hotel seemed to be busy the 2nd day of our stay the fire alarm went off for no reason at 7am , the hotel was being painted the painter ask if he could paint the patio door but would have to leave them open for three hours the owners have not arranged the maintainance planning very good as the holiday season is about to begin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife & I have just had 3 lovely nights here. We had a nice sized room in the older part of the hotel on the inside of the building over looking the courtyard so it was nice & quiet at night. The beds were lovely & comfy, the bath was a good size & there was lots of really hot water. We only had one evening meal in the hotel as there are such a lot of good places to eat in Skipton but the meal we had, which was on my wife's birthday.was excellent. The hotel's location is really good as you can either walk along the towpath at the back of the building or along the main road at the front & be in the town centre in 5 to 10 minutes. Also the railway station is straight across the road from the front door so you are handy for a trip on the Settle to Carlisle train. All of the staff were very friendly & helpful. Before we left we asked the receptionist if we could have a look at a room on the canal side of the hotel & he gave us keys for 2 rooms which were vacant & when we saw them we decided that when we go back there, which we definitely will do, we will have a room on that side as they are even better than the one we had. The only criticism we could make is the price of the breakfast, but Morrisons is just along the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night en route elsewhere but will definitely be back for a longer stay. The staff were lovely & sorted out an electrical problem swiftly & efficiently. Lovely chefs biscuits on arrival. The room was tastefully decorated with a huge shower & plentiful hot water. The bed was comfortable. Happy hour cocktails nice too ....

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleswalker4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely hotel, very reasonable price, tastefully decorated room with careful attention to details as to what you might need. Pleasant, sincere, attentive staff. Dining, bar and lounge areas comfortable and relaxing. Tasty, imaginative, well presented food combinations. Great breakfast. We were going to a concert at The Mart Theatre on the Saturday night and the helpful young Bulgarian waitress serving dinner arranged for us to have a very early main course and then we came home to a platter of cheeses biscuits, fruit cake etc afterwards, no trouble, no extra price. Lovely! Also a great location overlooking picturesque part of canal, with ducks, swans, birds and of course boats!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking canal with juliette balcony, HUGE bed, nice big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altofts, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

As afternoon teas go this was very ordinary. For what is, after all just tea and a sarnie with a few cakes there was very little flair and the whole experience left us underwhelmed. Service however was good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baskingseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing