We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well run hotel”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well run hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

recommend for ideal weekend in a beautiful scenic area of North Yorkshire. Excellent and helpful manager. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. I slept well because I was shattered although there was a wedding party going on

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    248
    76
    37
    20
See reviews for
84
436
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went to Herriots last Thursday for dinner in their Rhubarb restaurant and were pleasantly surprised that there was a 50% offer, off the food bill, available if we ordered before 7.30pm.The staff were very welcoming and attentive. I decided to try one of their many cocktails but unfortunately missed out on their cocktail offers. What a great start to the evening, I would have got there sooner if I had known.
The menu choices were very good so I chose the Tortellini with a Garlic Mushroom Cream Sauce and Spring Lamb whilst my husband went for the Chicken Liver Parfait and a Ribeye Steak.
The food was excellent, well prepared and well presented. The wine we chose was a very good quality Malbec and complemented the meal very well. We were full and did not want anything else
to eat but I believe we missed out on some fabulous desserts.
We had a lovely evening , relaxed and well fed. Would definately go again and try some off the
other offers available. I see a girlie afternoon tea with Prosecco in the lovely courtyard, in the sunshine hopefully, very soon.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvisskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

we stayed here for 2 nights bed and breakfast and as a rule tend to eat out but after being told about the fresh fish specials by reception (I love fish) decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night. We were not disappointed as the food was fantastic and the staff and service very good, so much so we ate on the second night also.
The hotel has a great location as it is only a short walk down the canal to the town centre and Skipton has some great shops and far more than when we last visited the area.
Would recommend this hotel as it ticked all the boxes for us comfortable rooms, great food and lovely staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Just stayed here on Tuesday, we enjoyed every minute,Fabulous six course taster menu, flavours exquisit and portions hearty, great value!Good selection of wines and really pleasant pre dinner cocktails, from personable, knowledgable bar staff.We stayed in a large,stylishly decorated room at the front of the hotel, very clean.
All staff attentive, and professional but not intrusive.What a breakfast, set you up for the day.We will be going back soon for a longer stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had no idea what to expect, didn't know the area, but stumbled upon a great little place to stay. Comfy rooms, pleasant staff, perfect little pub attached to the hotel, and great food. The Steak and Ale Pie is to die for.
I stay away a lot, and generally at the common brands, but this place trumps them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanley Swan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I booked this hotel without too much research and was slightly misled by the words "Boutique Hotel" It is a small 3* hotel with some good points and some not so good. I upgraded from a room at the front overlooking the road to a Classic room overlooking the courtyard for £25 extra. Fair enough. The room was not large by any means but the bathroom was very small. The water pressure was variable especially the cold water. The shower pressure was just adequate but the dial had black mould around the button. A bit off-putting. The bed was comfortable.
The lift was not working for the 2 nights we were there. Not a problem to us but might be for older visitors. The hotel was having some redecoration of the conference room.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar area would look so much nicer without the many notices about drinks offers etc. The food quality is good and we enjoyed the 2 dinners we had.
Overall it is not quite what we expected and I would look for somewhere else to stay if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Came here Friday for a weekend away with the girlfriend, and could quite easily have written my review Friday! Since the moment we arrived everyone was so welcoming and friendly & couldn't do enough to make sure out stay was fantastic! The rooms were amazing and beds so so comfortable! In fact so comfortable we missed our sitting in the restaurant because we over slept but the staff made a table up for us and still owed us to dine! Mariya who served us both nights was just amazing in her service towards is and everyone else dining! The food at night and at breakfast was just beautiful! We WILL be back this year to stay again thank you for an amazing stay to all staff

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJohnNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing