We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, but ate at the Rhubarb restaurant off the main bar area. The tables were nicely set and the decor in the room very tasteful. Money had clearly been spent! We were shown to our table by a smiling waitress who was smartly dressed and offered us a jug of water whilst we chose our drinks and food.

The meal was excellent in both food quality and the way it was cooked. Not large portions, but flavoursome. Our waitress, Maria, was attentive, continued to smile and even the water jug was replenished without prompting.

These days positive service and food quality rarely go together, but here they were both spot on which, with a nice ambiance, made this a very good experience for my wife and i.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller69Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Four of us stayed on Thursday and Friday night at the end of May and could not fault any part of our stay. Every member of staff was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. We chose to have the Discover and Dine package which was excellent value. The dinner was superb and the breakfasts amazing. We had a room in the older part of the hotel but overlooking the canal which was lovely and very comfortable. The hotel is positioned very near to the town centre with a lovely walk along the canal side. We definitely would all stay again. The hotel is right across the road from the railway station and so is perfect for travellers coming by rail.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a 4 poster bed and Room 14 has a large corner bath in the en suite - both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

On the 24th May 2014 Herriots hosted us on our wedding day, we were married in church and transported 95 guests to the Rosewood suite at Herriots for the Wedding breakfast, and a further fifty guests joined us there in the evening.

Sally-Ann is the Events Manager and we were her third wedding at Herriots, she is truly brilliant! Nothing was too much trouble, she cared about the delicate nuances as much as the big arrangements, and when unsure about the detail she asked until we were clearer about what we wanted. She was in regular and reassuring contact by phone and email, or in person as we needed. Helpful, professional and so caring that our day went just as we wanted. Sally-Ann is a massive asset we think, and every aspect of our day ran smoothly, nothing was forgotten or missed out. She worked with our photographer, DJ, florist and balloon provider to ease the hassle and pressure on us in the weeks before the wedding. We had lots of dietary needs, special arrangements and children to feed a three course meal and she and her team didn't miss a beat. This was in part down the planning that Sally-Ann had done in advance, ensuring that everything was clear, prepared for and ready in the weeks before our wedding.

The Hotel itself is lovely, recently redecorated function room, and many of our guests commented on how nice it was. The room looked stunning and was light and bright. Despite being set for almost a hundred people there was plenty of room and everyone looked really happy. The food we had ordered drew the most praise. The portions were really good. We had a chicken Caesar salad to start, roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and followed it with a trio of mini desserts (homemade ice cream in brandy snap basket, lemon meringue pie and sticky toffee). Everyone, even those with a hearty appetite, were satisfied. It was delicious. The food arrived quickly, it was hot and tasty. Some family who eat out a lot in trendy expensive Manchester restaurants were full of praise. At the evening we had fish and chips in wraps - Sally-Ann disposed of the polystyrene cones in favour of our choice of paper cones.

We would not hesitate for a second to recommend Herriots to you. We were delighted with the hotel, the food, the organisation, the team, the room and the price we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here a few years ago in a room overlooking the canal and it was great. This time we had a room on the main road a bit shabby in places and could do with a bit of TLC. Most disappointing was the bathroom, and a shower that on full power barely wet you. Not good when you've been out walking and sweating in The Dales! Staff were on the whole friendly and helpful. I'd planned to tell reception about our comments when we checked out, but we weren't even asked how our stay had been as we paid. A bit poor I thought. Also there was a wedding the weekend we were there, which didn't disturb us at all and we were forewarned when we booked. The car park was busy though and has limited spaces, so we asked reception what we could do if it was full when we came back. They seemed surprised that we would be driving out anywhere, but said parking was on a first come, first served basis and weren't sure were else we could park nearby! Good and bad points to our stay, but quite expensive for what we got. Be careful what part of the hotel your room is in.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ziptrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My partner and I had a one night stay at Herriots in May. We had a friendly greeting from the receptionist on arrival. The room was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. All the staff were very friendly. We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening as we are vegan and the menu did not have a suitable option. On speaking to the chef later in the evening he said he would be happy to accommodate our diet and we will certainly make a return trip to sample a meal. Breakfast was excellent. Very good choice and I enjoyed a hearty vegan breakfast. Again staff were very friendly and helpful. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

recommend for ideal weekend in a beautiful scenic area of North Yorkshire. Excellent and helpful manager. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. I slept well because I was shattered although there was a wedding party going on

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We went to Herriots last Thursday for dinner in their Rhubarb restaurant and were pleasantly surprised that there was a 50% offer, off the food bill, available if we ordered before 7.30pm.The staff were very welcoming and attentive. I decided to try one of their many cocktails but unfortunately missed out on their cocktail offers. What a great start to the evening, I would have got there sooner if I had known.
The menu choices were very good so I chose the Tortellini with a Garlic Mushroom Cream Sauce and Spring Lamb whilst my husband went for the Chicken Liver Parfait and a Ribeye Steak.
The food was excellent, well prepared and well presented. The wine we chose was a very good quality Malbec and complemented the meal very well. We were full and did not want anything else
to eat but I believe we missed out on some fabulous desserts.
We had a lovely evening , relaxed and well fed. Would definately go again and try some off the
other offers available. I see a girlie afternoon tea with Prosecco in the lovely courtyard, in the sunshine hopefully, very soon.
Thank you for a lovely evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Elvisskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
220 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
824 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £83 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street. Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike. Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing