We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room & Service”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here recently. The room we had was gorgeous, lovely four poster bed, lovely furnishings and lovely clean bathroom. The restaurant and bar areas are spacious, well laid out with lots of choice and great value. We were lucky enough to have a sunny day in Skipton so we made good use of the outdoor seating area too. We paid a supplement to have breakfast delivered o our room on Sunday morning, it arrived promptly and was lovely.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a central location, near to the canal, great value, great food and staff and a lovely room.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 397Destination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

482 - 488 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We turned up without booking and got a twin room whilst on a motorbike trip.

On the plus side:
Staff were all very good. Polite, friendly and attentive.
The bar area is great and the beer was good.

On the down side:
The bedrooms need some TLC. It feels as if all the money was spent downstairs.
The room was exceptionally hot even though there was no heating on and it was cool outside. The window had to be kept open with one of my motorcycle boots just to let some fresh air in.

Overall, it could be a great little hotel if some more money was spent on the bedroom accommodation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PeterW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very average accommodation dressed up to look like boutique hotel and priced accordingly.

Firstly, the room and corridor outside is unbearably hot despite there being no heating on and it was only 12c and drizzling outside, as there is simply no ventilation. Even with the supplied (noisy) post fan stood on the windowsill with the (small) window open as far as it would, we couldn't get the temperature to drop as there is no circulation of air.
Secondly, it's seriously noisy; we had to have the TV turned up full (to 90!) to hear it because of the wedding reception below, despite requesting a quiet room. In fairness the receptionist did mention this at check in, but they didn't have a quieter room available for both nights so we would have had to move rooms, and the quieter one would have overlooked the same courtyard, where the wedding was, as ours did, so we decided it wasn't worth the hassle.
The feeble shower barely gets you wet. As mentioned previously, an old creaky fan is provided, but that's yet more noise when you're a light sleeper.

Worst of all, it's really EXPENSIVE for what it is; £90 for each night in a tiny room, no bigger than you'd get in an Innkeeper's lodge, with no airflow, where you won't sleep because of heat, music, over firm bouncy bed, and to add insult to injury breakfast's another £9.50 each on top, when we noticed on the board outside that non-residents get it for £5.95! How cynical is that?! Knock 30-50% off and you'd be nearer the mark for what you actually get.

Breakfast on the first morning was good enough, but we went to Wetherspoon's the second morning, just as good and half the price (though they did still try to charge us twice for breakfasts at the hotel at check out time).

Nice wallpaper and lampshades, but scruffy electrics and a grubby carpet. Maybe more attention needs to be paid to making the rooms more habitable than providing little bundles of biscuits when you check in!

Look elsewhere as other hotels in this price bracket in the general area offer genuine quality rather than the thin veneer of quality over mediocrity and shabbiness, which soon becomes apparent, that we experienced here.

I'm really disappointed to have to write such a negative review as this stay was booked by my partner as a birthday treat for me and the reviews we read weren't bad; it's just really upsetting seeing seeing the one you love paying over the odds like this when money's tight. Skipton and the surrounding area are lovely and really worth a visit and there's loads more going on than you'd expect, which is fortunate as this hotel really had the potential to ruin the break had the rest of our weekend not been so fantastic.

Room Tip: Take your own portable air conditioner and ear defenders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyRidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a room overlooking the canal which was spacious but much too hot. The remote for the TV was missing, the toilet leaked and the cover on the device for the shower came off in my hand. The staff were lovely and provided a fan for the room and procured a new remote (with delay) but it just felt like a hotel that needs a little investment.
The breakfast was great, good selection & service. We only ate in the restaurant once and were a little disappointed with the range - only one fish special available - and the service. The restaurant was by no means full yet at one point the receptionist was doubling up as a waiter which gave as slightly unprofessional air.
The location is great, easy walk to the town centre, but a little TLC would not go amiss.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a room overlooking the canal which was spacious and well appointed and exceptionally clean. The location is perfect and within easy 5 minutes walk from town centre. Although we did not eat in the restaurant (as we were visiting friends) everyone I spoke to who had eaten there said the food was excellent.

The bar is a nice place to relax over a few drinks with a few different seating levels which provide an element of privacy should you wish.

We will definitely be back again - thank you

Room Tip: The canal ones are just perfect for the view and activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpookyTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

As I said before I would be back me and partner couldn't wait to come back because of how welcoming all the staff are! Once again we were not disappointed by all of the lovely staff and friendly faces that remembered us! Breakfast was spot on ... Had a room in the canal and a lovely view! Great market town and full of lovely people we will be back soon! Thank you to all the staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Expert159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We did not stay at this hotel, but ate at the Rhubarb restaurant off the main bar area. The tables were nicely set and the decor in the room very tasteful. Money had clearly been spent! We were shown to our table by a smiling waitress who was smartly dressed and offered us a jug of water whilst we chose our drinks and food.

The meal was excellent in both food quality and the way it was cooked. Not large portions, but flavoursome. Our waitress, Maria, was attentive, continued to smile and even the water jug was replenished without prompting.

These days positive service and food quality rarely go together, but here they were both spot on which, with a nice ambiance, made this a very good experience for my wife and i.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller69Phuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,231 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
223 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £81 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street. Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike. Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing