We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thank you Herriots for making my visit to the great Yorkshire show greater than ever could not fault my three day stay with you made feel so welcome great room over looking the canel and the food was brilliant in the rhubarb restaurant many thanks to a great chef for great evening meals and super breakfasts served by a brilliant waitress Bridget who we can't thank enought for being so very helpful she's a little star and since my last stay at Herriots we now have a new manager Chris who we wish all the very best I will be coming back to this great hotel any time I am in this part of Yorkshire so thanks again to a brilliant hotel with great rooms and brilliant staff

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the canel are great with a great out look up and down the canel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (831)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What a little gem. Stayed here mid week while visiting the Yorkshire show. Was made to feel very welcome, nothing was to much trouble. Was greeted by Janice on reception who explained where everything was and how to get into the town, which was a lovely walk along the canal. We had a meal in the restaurant that evening which was superb credit to the chef, our waitress Bridget was lovely, very friendly and polite nothing too much trouble. The bar and restaurant decor was very tastefully decorated. Tom was on the bar, very friendly chap. We also met the manager Chris very friendly and polite too. Our room was over looking the canal, which was lovely watching the boats going by. Everything worked in the room no problems with anything plenty of hot water, comfy bed. We really enjoyed our stay here and will book for another stay soon!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Kaz4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Herriots with others. Your feedback is very important to us and nothing rewards the staff more than knowing that they have helped guests to enjoy their stay with us, so thank you for pointing out those particular staff who made an impression.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited here on what must have been one of the busiest Saturdays 5th July when la Tour de France travelled through skipton, visited at 2.45pm to be told they were no longer serving food. WHAT a let down. While we sat having a drink 2 couples were also told no food they had stopped serving. Had we not have ordered our drinks we too would not have stayed. This Hotel turned down good paying customers. Not many places can afford to do this.
Disappointed

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank CJH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are truly sorry that you were unable to dine when you visited but, as you will see from the previous review, we also had a large wedding on that day. Therefore, once lunch service had finished, the service of the wedding had to take priority and food then commenced again in the bar and restaurant again at 5.00pm.
We value all our customers but pride ourselves in the quality and level of service that we offer and therefore will do all we can to ensure this is achieved.
We would however love to welcome you back so that you may experience this for yourselves and would be more than happy to arrange this with you, should you wish to contact the hotel and ask for Chris Fenton the General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sally-Ann the wedding coordinator and the staff at Herriots hotel made our big day run smoothly and provided us with the perfect wedding venue. The food and service were sublime and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We will be recommending them to everyone and will be thinking of using them again for any occasion. Definitely a 5 out 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theducketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review and sharing your wedding day with others. We are so pleased you had a great day especially with the challenges La Tour De France presented.
It means so much to Sally and the team that your day was everything you dreamed of and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The hotel was easy to find as its right by the station and from there a lovely walk along the canal takes you into the town. We were met by Chris the new General Manager who was most helpful and he gave us a good introduction to the hotel and the surrounding area.. Our room had everything we needed with a super shower and the double bed was very comfortable. We dined in the Rhubarb restaurant later which had a good variety of meals available and the quality of our food and service was excellent. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. When we revisit Skipton we will always head for Herriots.

Room Tip: I believe that here is one room that has a four poster bed that may be worth asking for - if you fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzerbeeza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
We are pleased you tried our restaurant Rhubarb and enjoyed your meal as whilst we recommend it to our guests, the experience of other guests enjoying our delicious dishes is far more valuable in encouraging other guests to try it for themselves.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a lovely hotel, cannot fault it any way. The room was lovely, everything in it wonderful. We met up with our friends who also stayed at the Herriot and who also thought the same as us.The restaurant was brilliant, we had a lovely meal at night staff were very attentive, looked after us very well. Next morning we really enjoyed our breakfast. We cannot fault any of the staff. We stayed at the Herriot a year ago, we found a much nicer atmosphere there now. We were very impressed with the new manager, he was very helpful in every way. We will definitely be back. Nice to see young management.Good luck.

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your feedback is very important to us, especially the staff who all work very hard to ensure you have a great stay that you will want to repeat.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went with our best friends for the weekend, The Hotel was fabulous.We had a beautiful room with a four poster bed. The furnishings were absolutely lovely. and the bathroom was imaculate, one of the first things I look for in accomodation. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, the food was spot on, couldn't fault any of it.The waiting on staff were very attentive, and very nice, in fact every member of staff in the hotel was very helpfut, cannot fault any one of them. As a bonus the weather was lovely, so we were able to get out on the canal which we really enjoyed, and then back to the bar for a welcome drink before dinner. I would like to thank all the staff from management to all of you for making us a very good weekend. Jen St14

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster, brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,197 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
218 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street. Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike. Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing