We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Formby
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed 18th and 19th July,the hotel was lovely.We too had a canal view room which was modern,large and airy.There was no hot water on Saturday morning but when we arrived back after being out all day there was complimentary bottle of wine and two glasses on the dressing table and a note saying sorry for the in convenience! Also further apologies from the staff,an explanation as to why there was no hot water and asked if everything was ok at the moment so I think that was good PR.Would recommend and definitely stay again,also breakfast well worth it,fab!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    255
    78
    38
    20
See reviews for
85
446
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked dinner with the taster menu last night and had a wonderful meal. Great service from James and wonderful value for money. Would definitely recommend. Good food, varied wine list with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Great location if you are arriving by train - right opposite the station. Stayed in new block second floor with great view over the canal. My room was large and modern although the ensuite was pokey with the toilet directly behind the door but with an over large shower. No hot water for the shower in the morning due to a fuse tripping but no apology either. Meeting room facilities good although a buffet lunch would have been more approriate than the cooked meal we were given. We had group meal in the Rhubarb restaurant in the evening which was average to poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Thank you Herriots for making my visit to the great Yorkshire show greater than ever could not fault my three day stay with you made feel so welcome great room over looking the canel and the food was brilliant in the rhubarb restaurant many thanks to a great chef for great evening meals and super breakfasts served by a brilliant waitress Bridget who we can't thank enought for being so very helpful she's a little star and since my last stay at Herriots we now have a new manager Chris who we wish all the very best I will be coming back to this great hotel any time I am in this part of Yorkshire so thanks again to a brilliant hotel with great rooms and brilliant staff

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the canel are great with a great out look up and down the canel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What a little gem. Stayed here mid week while visiting the Yorkshire show. Was made to feel very welcome, nothing was to much trouble. Was greeted by Janice on reception who explained where everything was and how to get into the town, which was a lovely walk along the canal. We had a meal in the restaurant that evening which was superb credit to the chef, our waitress Bridget was lovely, very friendly and polite nothing too much trouble. The bar and restaurant decor was very tastefully decorated. Tom was on the bar, very friendly chap. We also met the manager Chris very friendly and polite too. Our room was over looking the canal, which was lovely watching the boats going by. Everything worked in the room no problems with anything plenty of hot water, comfy bed. We really enjoyed our stay here and will book for another stay soon!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kaz4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Herriots with others. Your feedback is very important to us and nothing rewards the staff more than knowing that they have helped guests to enjoy their stay with us, so thank you for pointing out those particular staff who made an impression.
We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited here on what must have been one of the busiest Saturdays 5th July when la Tour de France travelled through skipton, visited at 2.45pm to be told they were no longer serving food. WHAT a let down. While we sat having a drink 2 couples were also told no food they had stopped serving. Had we not have ordered our drinks we too would not have stayed. This Hotel turned down good paying customers. Not many places can afford to do this.
Disappointed

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CJH335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are truly sorry that you were unable to dine when you visited but, as you will see from the previous review, we also had a large wedding on that day. Therefore, once lunch service had finished, the service of the wedding had to take priority and food then commenced again in the bar and restaurant again at 5.00pm.
We value all our customers but pride ourselves in the quality and level of service that we offer and therefore will do all we can to ensure this is achieved.
We would however love to welcome you back so that you may experience this for yourselves and would be more than happy to arrange this with you, should you wish to contact the hotel and ask for Chris Fenton the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Sally-Ann the wedding coordinator and the staff at Herriots hotel made our big day run smoothly and provided us with the perfect wedding venue. The food and service were sublime and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We will be recommending them to everyone and will be thinking of using them again for any occasion. Definitely a 5 out 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theducketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanWPoulton, Director of Sales at Herriots Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review and sharing your wedding day with others. We are so pleased you had a great day especially with the challenges La Tour De France presented.
It means so much to Sally and the team that your day was everything you dreamed of and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
202 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 32 in Skipton
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Property: Herriots Hotel
Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street.  Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike.  Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing