We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Herriots Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Herriots Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed here several times for work. The place was always lovely and clean and the staff really helpful. The food was also really good.
The hotel is only a few minutes away from the town centre and the train station is just across the road. Also there is a Morrison very near the hotel. The only downside I ever experienced was on a late arrival that there was nothing available to eat. I have recommended this to people in the past, who have agreed that its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

789 - 795 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is a good hotel with nice rooms and good food but what sets it apart is that the staff all try really hard to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one. From Kelly and Sally, the bright witty receptionists, to Alex the helpful waiter and the young Chinese girl who offered to carry my heavy suitcase up the stairs, every single one was perky and keen to help. When I got to the first floor, even the cleaner offered to carry my case. Best of all was Berry, the waitress who made a huge fuss of our toddler. She was terrific. They all deserve a huge Christmas bonus and no, I am not related to any of them. My only 'area of improvement' was that I had agreed a 1pm check in over the phone, then when I got there, was told I couldn't check in until 3. An innocent mistake in an otherwise exemplary stay. Maybe the fresh fruit could have been a bit fresher at breakfast but compared with the pure zingy intelligence of the staff, these are truly minor criticisms in a generically excellent hotel. Thoroughly recommended and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conkers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Admittedly we stayed at Herriots as just needed somewhere to stay for the night whilst travelling around the Yorkshire dales. It was late, and it looked ok from reception and the receptionist was most welcoming. However, as soon as we got to our room (overlooking the canal) things went down hill. The bathroom was dirty, the plastic skirting board peeling from the walls. We went to their brasserie and were served extremely mediocre food (but again ok service). We went back to our room for the night. It was boiling so we opened the window. This let in a large moth. We got into bed to be stirred by another moth under the covers. A third was found in the showeroom. In the morning the shower barely produced an water, and it was luke warm. We came away wanting to wash every item that had come into contact with anything in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eyedeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 August 2010

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Herriots. We pride ourselves in trying to offer the best in comfort and hospitality. We carry out regular room checks with regard to cleanliness of rooms and were commended for our standards in our recent AA inspection. We are sorry if this was not the standard you received. With regard to the room being hot unfortunately we do not have air conditioning within the guest bedrooms and on the less frequent occassions when we have hot weather, the rooms can become very warm. It appears you had a canal side room with french doors overlooking it and whilst floor length nets are provided at these doors, moths were attracted into the room by the light. Once again we apologise if this inconvenienced you.
We have many reviews commenting on the excellent hospitality of our staff and food in Rhubarb, and as you have pointed out in your review, our staff are very customer focused and will do all they can to ensure you enjoy your stay. I am therefore very regretful that any issues you had during your stay could not be resolved at the time and would very much welcome a personal response from you so that we can restore your confidence in our hotel. All customer feedback is always welcome as it is only by listening to our customers that we can continually strive to offer them the best in comfort and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed for 3 days and found it a perfect base to visit Ingleton, Settle, Hawes and various places between. The hotel is also only a few minutes walk along the canal towpath to the centre of Skipton.

The room was very good, overlooking the canal, which had wild life and a fair amount of canal traffic. The food was excellent with generous portions with a good choice of wines. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Herriots Hotel last week for four nights.We stayed in room no21 the jacuzzi room.This room had it's own Juliette Balcony overlooking the canal was spacious and very quiet. The only thing I would say against the room was that it was very warm even though there was no heating o and there was no way of cooling it down during the night. We had a most enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly and yes some were foreign but they were most pleasant and their English was perfect.Nothing seemed too much trouble even when we asked for another towel in our bathroom it was delivered very promptly.The food was excellent the 'Hearty Yorkshire Breakfast' was huge. We joined in on the quiz night which was very entertaining even better that we won ! We would certainly return if we were in the area again.Thank you The Herriots for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshlady61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

It was our first time visiting the hotel and was greeted by a member of the staff excellently and really enjoyed out stay, The reception staff were really helpful and i even got her name as i was very impressed, she was called sarah, would deffinatly come back as this stay was one of my best in a long long time! we decided to eat in the restaurant, the food was gorgeous and the portions were just huge!! i couldnt eat it all!!!, you must try the steak and ale pie its to die for, overall our stay was brilliant and would reccomend this hotel to anyone! Thankyou very much to the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmo1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff and management in this busy hotel. Our room was very modern and overlooked the Canal. They made special arrangements for us so that we could have dinner as they had a large function on and we had not prebooked.
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break and would definately go back .

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDKLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel
Rendezvous Hotel
#3 of 4 in Skipton
1,247 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
6.1 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
6.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
840 reviews
12.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herriots Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriots Hotel

Address: Broughton Road, Skipton BD23 1RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £83 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Herriots Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convieniently situated alongside the canal and just a 5 minute stroll down the tow path to Skipton High Street. Herriots Hotel is renown in the area for it's high standards in hospitality and personal service, resulting in repeat business from both locals and visitors to the area alike. Further to the completion of our million pound development, Herriots now boasts luxurious canal side accommodation, fully integrated conference and banqueting suite and a landscaped courtyard conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Herriots Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herriots Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing