We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room in the house”
Review of Rendezvous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived at hotel which we felt was dated on first impression. We were escorted to our room and the corridor was very dated, 70s and smelled like an old persons home with mustard doors and dodgy displays. We had booked the best room in the house but it was like a padded cell. The windows did not open and were frosted and the walls were padded a garish pink and silver. It was obvious what it was designed for. On closer inspection it was filthy. Towels were "thrown" on the towel rail and were brown on the edges, shower was brown! We didn't think the bed had been changed from the previous "tennants" We complained and were offered an alternative room but no refund of the difference or apology. A arrogant woman commented that we should have checked the website in advance. The website doesn't show dirt etc. Reluctantly we accepted a lesser room. Quite frankly, I thanked our lucky stars that we had not booked more than 1 night and couldn't wait to leave. Please bring in the hotel inspector to update and deal with the housekeeping and get rid of "the best room in the house" No wonder the hotel is called "rendevous"

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

Lovely hotel, well sized decent rooms, friendly staff and nice breakfast. Unfortunately did not get a chance to make use of the gym and pool facilities available.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al_Musaafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. A very nice hotel with friendly staff who know their jobs. Check in was quick and without long looks at the computer screen. However it is just a little pricey for what you get and for the area. I had a room at the back which was of a good size and quiet. A group of us went to dinner and we wished to each be billed separately. However we were told that this was not possible at the chef would not accept 8 individual orders and it must be one order. The total cost would then be divided amongst us, regardless of who ordered what. It was a point that got too hard to argue. And I always thought chefs were there to do the customers bidding, one lives and learns. Perhaps next time we will sit at 8 tables for 1, order, then all move to onto one large table. However I would not let this little blip put you off staying.

Room Tip: I was at the back and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

we stayed one night for my 50th birthday what a excellent hotel,the staff were very friendly, at evening meal the head waitress knew it was my birtday and said the first drinks was on her what a lovely gesture, we had breakfast which was excellent over looking canal , leisure facilies excellent we will definately visit this hotel again. i have shown many friends, the hotel very clean,and we had a very relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Fabulous views await you here, delicious breakfasts overlooking the canal. A walk into the nearby Skipton with its traditional market. There are a range of bedrooms that can accomodate all shapes and sizes of families. Dining is also good value and they catered well for veggies and vegans with a little advance warning (though sadly nothing specific for vegans on the main menu). Be aware that the place can get a bit noisy at weekends if they have wedding parties etc. I would certainly recommend the place though and is our first choice when staying in this area to visit relatives.

Room Tip: Give the place a call to discuss room options, reception are very helpful and it is as cheap to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeggieFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here last June, with a large group of Oxfam Trailtrekkers. Our large party of 20+ diners all enjoyed our dinner and then relaxed on the terrace outside.

Our room was lovely - just wish we could have stayed in it longer! We were high up and at the front and even though it wasn't a canal view, you still looked out over the hills. We did not have breakfast as our rather early start meant we were on our way before the crack of dawn on the Saturday and then returned on the Sunday afternoon to the most delicious buffet (with scrummy cakes) in one of the function rooms.

This year, we returned with a smaller group of 'Three Peakers' but for two nights. Again the food in the restaurant and bar were lovely and the breakfast had something for everyone.

The staff are very friendly and everywhere is clean.

We went into Skipton, walked round the Castle, the market and looked round the shops and ventured to those tucked down the cobbled alleyways, We wandered along the canal path to Skipton Woods. We didn't have time to go on a canal boat trip though - maybe next time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the canal, however the ones at the front overlook the carpark only if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraftyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

A functional hotel, clean and spacious, if a little dated, with all the usual facilities.

We had a brief stay, overnight en route to a Yorkshire 3 Peaks event.

The staff were pleasant and the evening bar meal tasty, a good atmosphere.

We didn't have time for breakfast so I can't comment on the formal dining area.

The gym, pool & sauna etc was ok, nothing plush and although just next door it is a walk through the car park to get to. They are in the process of decorating.

Overall great value and recommended for a stay although maybe not for a more memorable trip/vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
847 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
223 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
12.6 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.8 mi away
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Old Stone Trough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelbrook
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel

Address: Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range: £77 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run hotel on the outskirts of the delightful market town of Skipton - gateway to the Dales, offers the best in Yorkshire hospitality - with staff who really do care! Guests return time and again, whether it's for business or leisure, because we offer warmth and a genuine professional hospitality. Dine in our canalside Baby Swan restaurant where a stream of activity keeps you entertained. We are proud of our restaurant, offering straightforward, honest to goodness food, cooked by a dedicated team supporting local suppliers. We've a fantastic gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and one mile walk on the towpath of the beautiful Leeds-Liverpool canal into the delightful Dales market town of Skipton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous At Skipton Hotel Skipton
Rendezvous Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing