We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par”
Review of Rendezvous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Below par”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Needed a hotel for a night at short notice and found ourselves paying £95 for one night without breakfast. On this basis the hotel was poor value for money. Road side room was very noisy due to traffic even on a Sunday morning. No air con in room so had to have velux window open as room was so hot. Furnishings are showing real signs of wear and paint is peeling on woodwork in places. Bathroom door in 403 is in poor state, hardboard cover is peeling of and has dirty black rough edges. Suite is pale grey in colour which tells you when it was put in. Bad small from sink when used, smelled like drains. Some black mould on tiles and silver colour on shower rail peeling off, over bath shower door is plastic and loose. Reception Staff were neither friendly or unwelcoming just did job in perfunctory manner although on checkout there was a blonde lady who made up for others. On plus side Bed was comfy with a choice of pillows, towels clean and above average size, bathroom had underfloor heating which was a nice touch. Didn't use bar but heard others commenting on layout and understaffing on busy nights. Over all would not use this hotel again, there are better nearby when looking again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fromhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    369
    158
    61
    28
See reviews for
156
506
24
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Friday 28th March. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. the room was spotless and very comfortable. The service in the restaurant at breakfast was first class and the selection of food on offer was first class.
The staff at this hotel deserve praise because their customer service and focus is excellent.

Room Tip: Plenty of free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-le-Moor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Business .. Good access on outskirts of Skipton and useful rooms for meetings. Good location if wanting to explore the Dales. Restaurant provided good menu choice and well prepared food for dinner. Disappointed that although early to breakfast the hot buffet seemed to have already been sat there some time.

Room Tip: Have one that looks out to canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avocettoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a line-dancing weekend at this hotel. I go on lots of these weekends and this hotel is by far the best. Because of this I decided to stay an extra night. The rooms, food and staff are all first rate and the canal side location is a bonus. Be warned however, that if you are on Vodafone mobile network, it doesn't work anywhere in the Skipton area. In my case this was a distinct advantage and made for a totally uninterrupted weekend. .

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room - my friend and I stayed in Room 212 and woke up to the sun streaming in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enid734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just home from three night stay and a fantastic stay it was. The staff were very obliging and pleasant and could not help you enough.Rooms were nicely decorated and furnished and food was lovely. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was friendly and the layout and décor could not be faulted.Will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal have a lovely outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Staff were obliging with catering for my dietary requirements and on the whole the weekend was good apart from the bar closing early in the function room but it was reopened when a few complaints were made by other people. The hotel was very clean.

Room Tip: don't book room 416 in the winter as radiator doesn't work too well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwaite7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband found this hotel and wanted to take me for my birthday in February but on checking we found it booked up at weekends till end of March so thought a treat during the week would be fine as I am retired and my husband is supposed to be!! It is only a about an 1 hour and twenty mins drive from home so was handy. Reception was a nice spacious area with pleasant staff who offered to take our bags but as we were only on 2nd floor and there was lift we said we could cope. Our standard double room was pleasant and looked out onto canal.Quite a good size with a table and two chairs a chair at desk and stool in front of mirror. Tray with plenty of tea coffee and choc drinks available and two packs of lovely biscuits! Bathroom was a good size with shower over bath plenty of hot water and fluffy towels. TV did not pick up channel 3 & 4 very well. Bed not bad but pillows too soft for us! Tried to ring down to reception to book a table for dinner but no reply. However did return our call and all sorted.
Dinner was in restaurant next to canal and choice was good and not badly priced food was really tasty. We had a bottle of house wine which was very good but a little pricey at £17! We ate at a french rest the second nite and a bottle of wine there was £15 50.We did not have breakfast in hotel just the room and the cost was £150 for two people for two nites with canal view room which we really enjoyed and know where to go next time we are in area. Peaceful and pleasant place family run hotel well done!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208 so anything on that side is quiet and on same floor as rest and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Skipton
Travelodge Skipton
#4 of 4 in Skipton
196 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Woolly Sheep Inn
The Woolly Sheep Inn
#3 of 33 in Skipton
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel

Property: Rendezvous Hotel
Address: Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run hotel on the outskirts of the delightful market town of Skipton - gateway to the Dales, offers the best in Yorkshire hospitality - with staff who really do care! Guests return time and again, whether it's for business or leisure, because we offer warmth and a genuine professional hospitality. Dine in our canalside Baby Swan restaurant where a stream of activity keeps you entertained. We are proud of our restaurant, offering straightforward, honest to goodness food, cooked by a dedicated team supporting local suppliers. We've a fantastic gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and one mile walk on the towpath of the beautiful Leeds-Liverpool canal into the delightful Dales market town of Skipton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous At Skipton Hotel Skipton
Rendezvous Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing