We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel fantastic facilities ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rendezvous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel fantastic facilities ! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Had a look round the other hotels in the area and settled on this one, service was excellent, very good value and full range of facilities unlike some of the other hotels in the area. The hotel room was large and spacious and had a great view! If I'm in Skipton again I'll be back!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Max030984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    359
    156
    60
    27
See reviews for
154
493
24
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a couple. Room was spacious however it was on the roadside and extremely noisy. It was like trying to sleep on the hard shoulder of the M6. As the sun also goes down on this side of the hotel the room was boiling, and as their was no air con then only option was to open the windows. Bathroom was ok and toilet roll was good quality. Had a meal in the restaurant which was a bit weird to be honest. Setting was lovely in the conservatory overlooking the canal, however I ordered ham, egg and chips. I wrongly presumed it was a hot meal but the ham was served stone cold. Never really ordered that before so didn't really know what to expect, but just found it odd. Maybe that's the norm for ham, egg and chips eaters. Anyway got plenty of cold ham, a reasonable egg but only about 7 dodgy chips. All in all rather disappointing. Parsnip soup to start was nice though. I feel this hotel has massive potential but desperately needs major investment. Not sure who chose the decor in the corridors or indeed the paint for the yellow doors but obviously they have a good sense of humour.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PIW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay and had a very nice stay at this hotel.

Looking at some of the previous comments about the "dated decor", I have to say I don't know which part of the hotel this refers to. The areas we visited, reception (obviously), bar, restaurant and general public areas were all perfectly fine.

The pool, sauna, steam room and changing areas were clean and certainly adequate for purpose. I have to say though that the sign in the pool saying "no more than 30 persons" was probably a bit optimistic. The gym was very well equipped although we did not actually use it.

Our room was a family room (105) on the ground floor on the main road side. The traffic noise was not a problem and certainly did not disturb us. It was very spacious with a double bed and a proper single rather than a camp bed/sofa bed. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculately clean so well done to the cleaning staff.

The wi-fi was a bit hit and miss in the room but it was free and did the job, just about.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and sat in the conservatory part overlooking the canal which was quite picturesque. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was reasonably priced and very tasty so a very enjoyable meal all round.

We found the hotel to be a bit far to walk to the town centre so made use of Tesco car park and walked the short distance from there. 3 hours free parking, every little helps!

If I were ever to go back to Skipton I would have no hesitation about staying there again. We did get the room though a deal so I do not actually know what the full price would have been.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunburnt_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scorton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay, only booked the night before and got a Sunday night deal. We had interconnecting rooms a double and twin(for 2 boys) and there was loads of space. Food was very good, we had to eat in the bar because of a big party and couldn't get in the restaurant until late. The decor may be a little dated but it was very clean and we enjoyed the pool area. For a quick night away it was good value and great for visiting The Dales.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 7Siddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
459 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, booking a deal via Great Little Breaks.
The deal included an upgrade to a canal view room which was a reasonable size, clean and had a lovely view of both the canal and countryside, shame about the view of the dirty laundry skips.

It's a pleasant walk along the canal to Skipton and a quick easy drive to the dales.

The included dinners were reasonable, but the typical buffet breakfast could have been great but was mostly cold and not very fresh on both days.

To summarise, this hotel is very good if you get a good deal but not if you pay full price for it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had to stay in this hotel because all our regular haunts were fully booked. Won't be staying there again. Very dated decor, like a 90's time warp. My beer was off, so I decided to take it back and demand the other real ale on offer. However as I approached the bar, another customer was returning the other ale for the same reason! The food was decidedly average - having seen what was served to a colleague, we went up to the curry house in Skipton. It was a very hot summer's evening and my room was in the roof space. Had to keep the velux window open to cool off, which meant all the noise from the main road outside and the railway across the valley. Then the rain poured in during a shower in the night - the sign next to the water stains by the window stated not to leave it open! And to cap it all, I have never felt so young (at 51) as apart from our team, we at least 20 years younger than the remainder of the guests. Strange, strange place.

Room Tip: Not on the top floor and not around the front of the hotel by the main road. Back of the hotel by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al1wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is not really the type of hotel I would usually stay, to big, to 'holiday, premier inn etc' but it is very nice and well situated. Skipton town is 15 min stroll down the canal. The rooms are large, clean and well presented but sadly no wifi signal on the 4th floor. Breakfast is excellent and the food in the restaurant is very good and excellent value. The service was a little hit and miss, our bottle of wine was plonked on the table unopened. Fortunately it was a screw top. All in all very good and I will be staying again. But please stop playing the dreadful soporific music, we had it in the corridor, the lift, at breakfast and at dinner. It's inescapable and invasive. It would have been nice to sit quietly at breakfast and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpiperpickedapec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skipton
1.2 mi away
Herriots Hotel
Herriots Hotel
#2 of 4 in Skipton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
7.3 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
1.1 mi away
Throstle Nest Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel

Property: Rendezvous Hotel
Address: Keighley Road, Skipton BD23 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Skipton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Skipton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rendezvous Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family run hotel on the outskirts of the delightful market town of Skipton - gateway to the Dales, offers the best in Yorkshire hospitality - with staff who really do care! Guests return time and again, whether it's for business or leisure, because we offer warmth and a genuine professional hospitality. Dine in our canalside Baby Swan restaurant where a stream of activity keeps you entertained. We are proud of our restaurant, offering straightforward, honest to goodness food, cooked by a dedicated team supporting local suppliers. We've a fantastic gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, spa pool and one mile walk on the towpath of the beautiful Leeds-Liverpool canal into the delightful Dales market town of Skipton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous At Skipton Hotel Skipton
Rendezvous Hotel Skipton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing