We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming cafe”

Hettie's Cafe Bistro
Ranked #28 of 150 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Welwyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly, welcoming cafe”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We found Hettie's by chance and we're very glad we did. David and his wife were very welcoming and the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly. The food was great too!
This was an evening visit and the pianist playing in the background added to the atmosphere.
We will certainly return when we're next in Yorkshire. Thank you!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Owner at Hettie's Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your evening and we are very glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    11
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ignored”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went in with a friend for lunch. We weren't hungry when we went in but certainly were after waiting half an hour to be noticed even though we said hi when we came in and were sat next to another big table. We eventually had to go downstairs to order our food and said we had been waiting for a while, this wasn't acknowledged. Food came about another half hour later and cutlery plonked on the table. Nice food but that might just be because I was starving! I've spoken to the owner previously who seemed nice but young waitresses didn't seem to know what they were doing, also I don't think jeans and a T-Shirt is appropriate.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderland92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Owner at Hettie's Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are very disappointed that it seems that you were ignored when you visited Hettie's - there is absolutely no excuse for that and all our staff have been told about your experience. Unfortunately as all our food is individually prepared there may be a delay when we are busy, however we do try to keep our customers informed of the status of their meals.
I hope that you will visit us again and have a happier time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best turned out”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Having just been at the Skipton horse trials, the analogy to call Hettie's the 'Best turned out' seemed appropriate. The presentation is superb, with the colourful little menu's accompanied by a small historical story. I had to recall what a Shippen was, until my wife reminded me our barn used to have one. The ambience is classically English. We visited on a Friday evening with the baby grand piano in full swing, playing pop songs in a classical / easy listening style. The clientele were correspondingly genteel. Hetties excels in the hospitality of it news owners, who apart from being keen to make a success of their new venture, are authentically exceptionally welcoming, even evangelical in their warm exuberance.

The food and drink were good, but only good, so didn't quite match the quality of everything else. The wooden platter we had was adequate, but seemed too close to Morrison's packets served on a plank of wood. The fish I had was lost in a tasty soup of cheese. I was disappointed that despite being locals the new owners hadn't realised they were in Yorkshire; there was a lack of any bottled Ales (e.g. Copper Dragon) in comparison to German or Italian lagers. Just a little more work and sparkle on the menu could make this place one of the best cafes in the area. I would encourage you to try it as they progress towards that.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Owner at Hettie's Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your comments all of which we have taken on board and we are currently sourcing some local beers to add to our selection. We hope to see you again next time you come to Skipton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe in Skipton”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I visited Hettie's for lunch with a friend and we were really impressed.The sandwich I had was delicious and it was clear that the ingredients used were of high quality. The cappuccinos were also really well made. The service was friendly and despite the cafe being busy we didn't feel rushed to leave. We will definitely be back to sample the cakes and wouldn't hesitate in recommending others to visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth556677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Owner at Hettie's Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our café. We are vey glad that you enjoyed your lunch, that you did not feel rushed and could relax here with your friend. All our cakes are home made so do come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming x”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Both staff and owners a like were very welcoming and willing to talk and advise about the local area. Children's food was perfect and portion size was spot on. Food was delicious and not over priced. The fresh baked goods were an added bonus...... especially the brownies!!! :)
Thank you for a lovely lunch xx

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R, Owner at Hettie's Cafe Bistro, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
We are delighted that you were happy with your visit to us and hope that you will call again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hettie's Cafe Bistro also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Barnoldswick, Lancashire
 

Been to Hettie's Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing