We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great staff & great atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calico Jack Restaurant&Bar

Calico Jack Restaurant&Bar
Ranked #21 of 147 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: Mexican, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff & great atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been here lots of times & never had a bad meal! The staff are fantastic & nothing is too much trouble (on an earlier visit they let me decorate the table for my nephews birthday - in the Pirate theme of course!!)
As usual the food was really good & we didn't feel rushed even though the place was packed!
I would highly recommend Calico Jacks!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jude256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    141
    51
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Melting Moments”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is the second time that I've eaten here and both times excellent, though this was my second time I had tried to get a meal more times, but it's always packed, you need to book, good range of chicken, ribs, pizza, sandwiches, good prices, good service, must try it if in the gate way to the Pennines

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Silver wedding suprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

A celebration surprise from our sneaky children. An excellent greeting from the very friendly who showed to our table decorated very nicely for the occasion.A variety of starters were all tasty and well presented,mains again did not fail to please with the steak and ribs combo being excellent,desserts did not let the meal down being well up to scratch. Over all highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good relaxed dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

we came here on a whim and enjoyed everything our experience.

i do have to say that we did not expect a great deal as uk tex mex / bbq restaurants 99% of the time don't even understand the type of food that they are trying to serve however Calico jack hit the mark on a number of levels.

we shall deff return just for the pulled pork and chilled beer

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A pleasant family experience, very welcoming.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited as a party of nice (including 3 children) after booking in advance - on arrival the welcome was very friendly from the staff and we were seated in the middle of the pirate-themed restaurant on a long table.

Orders were taken efficiently and the food subsequently arrived in good time. I have a few minor gripes about certain things (garlic bread was a little bland, burgers very salty) but on the whole it was a nice meal and the issues I've mentioned didn't tarnish things to the point where I felt the need to mention them. I only do so now as constructive criticism and to share my experience with others.

I hungrily opted for the "Jack Sparrow" burger which is a double - aside from the salty taste (perhaps part of the theme of being at sea?) it was nice enough. Too big to eat as a burger but easy to dismantle. Fellow diners opted for steak and ribs and I became rather envious after trying some of the rib, very tender and well seasoned with lots of meat on them - a definite for next time.

All in all a nice experience, generous portions and good service - just one note, walking in and out past the outdoor seating means you have to swim through a fog of cigarette smoke, tables near the door should be non-smoking to help contain this in my opinion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytapeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calico Jack Restaurant&Bar also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Calico Jack Restaurant&Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing