We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“T' best most relaxing weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The views from The Healthy Home are breathtaking. There are two private terraces, not overlooked
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The views from The Healthy Home are breathtaking. There are two private terraces, not overlooked
Relaxing with stunning views: the large conservatory Big Room : perfect for groups, celebrations and holistic retreat classes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The views from The Healthy Home are breathtaking. There are two private terraces, not overlooked
Relaxing with stunning views: the large conservatory
Big Room : perfect for groups, celebrations and holistic retreat classes
Large Barn Lounge with comfortable seating and large curved screen TV
Central Barn Lounge: relax, unwind and enjoy time together
The Barn Conservatory
Dining for 12 with a door out on to the second of three terraces with views of the valley
The well equipped breakfast  kitchen
Seating for 12-14 in the Cottage Breakfast Kitchen, complete with wood burning stove
1st Floor Panorama Lounge
Stunning views across Yorkshire countryside for miles around
Scenic views
Bedroom 1 - twin cottage bedroom, 1 of 6 bedrooms
Bedroom 2 - cottage king, one of 6 bedrooms
Bedroom 3 Family Room
Having a King sized bed, a single, optional pull out single, ensuite shower
Bedroom 4 - Barn twin bedroom
Bedroom 5 - Barn double
Bedroom 6 - Panorama Suite double bedroom
Cottage Bath/Shower room (one of 5)
Cottage Shower room (1 of 5)
Panorama Suite bathroom (1 of 5)
view from the big party room onto one of the patios
Huge garden with two private terraces
The New Building added in 2004, made from reclaimed stone, added on to the centuries-old Barn
Late summer
Vintage Tea Party in the conservatory
The view from our private terrace
The field below the house
Winter here is magical
A very peaceful vibe throughout the whole house
Ten minutes from Skipton on a hilltop above three villages with magnificent views
view from the breakfast table
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Skipton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lewis C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“T' best most relaxing weekend”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We arrived at the Healthy House to the warmest of welcomes from Debra and instantly the hustle and bustle of the city felt like a distant memory... then our 10 friends arrived.

The house comfortably sleeps 12 across 6 bedroom each with their own character and feel. If the weather doesn't allow for country walks then it is still possible to get your fill just by wandering through the house which is an amalgamation of several buildings.

There are numerous sitting areas each providing comfort and entertainment for all ages and interests, the 1000 piece jigsaw of a traditional Dutch landscape from the conservatory being my personal fave.

The hosts provided a meal for all guests on Friday evening for £5 per head. A hot and delicious pie and veg followed by more pie and custard set us up perfectly for the weekend ahead.

The prized asset of this house is undoubtedly the garden and the stunning panoramic views. When not distracted by the in-house weasel that made the odd appearance, we all enjoyed sitting in the generous May weather admiring the best countryside in Yorkshire.

Massive thumbs up for the healthy house no matter what you want from your weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2016
Really pleased you all enjoyed your weekend get-together. The weasel must be a new visitor .. we usually have rabbits, sheep, pheasants and the odd racing pigeon stopping off for a rest. Sounds like you had everything you needed which is what we try to ensure. Thanks very much for the lovely review (from all the Healthy Home team).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milcol
Loughborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house in a stunning location!”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An amazing space to spend time with friends and family.

Beautiful views out over the hills, the house is full of character and the owner and house keepers are very helpful and accommodating.

Would suit families with children or groups of friends looking for a great place to get together and spend some quality time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you Colin, you are most welcome. It was a pleasure to host you and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
1 review
“What a week ! Fantastic summer holiday in the Dales.”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in August 2014

We found the house to be a wonderful peaceful retreat for our four generation get together ! During our week we packed in plenty of fantastic excursions around Skipton and the Dales as well as having plenty of time to chill out in the lovely gardens.
The views were breathtaking and were wonderful to wake up to.When the sun came out breakfast on the terrace felt like we were in Tuscany !
There was plenty of space for our big tribe and most importantly the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed for our daily feasts.
The house is interesting and quirky and we loved the little touches like teddies for the kids,the table of games, the walking maps and the books to read.
It was a perfect week of relaxation and fun, we all want to return to this extraordinary house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thank you Julie for sharing the fun and delight that you all had ... we very much look forward to hosting you again for another one of your family reunions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B S
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

This was such a home from home for us traveling from Australia and easily allowed us to spend time with our UK family. The views were amazing and it was so peaceful. We will definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of the home
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you. You are so welcome... looking forward to hosting your return visit to the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolultly lovely house to stay in!”
Reviewed 16 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This house is brilliant for friends and family to stay in. Gina, the owner was great and always on the end of the phone if we needed her! Would recommend to anyone wanting some time away in a large group as it has such great rooms and views. Easy access into Skipton also. We will be returning!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you Emma, I am so glad your celebrations went well and we do look forward to welcoming you all back .. with your families as well :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feedom to allow the children to play in the large lounge
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Dec 2015
Thank you Chris .. we'd love to welcome you back. I'm so pleased all the celebrations went well. We are grateful for the care you took in leaving the house in fabulous condition. Very kind of you , thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzanne H
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grandad's 80th”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our large family group consisted of all age groups and we travelled from all over the country and Denmark to be there for a very special birthday weekend, we arrived at night in very bad weather conditions to a warm welcome from Gina, who was keen to ensure we all had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. The house is everything the other reviews said and more spacious yet cosy and everyone had privacy and felt at home straight away. The views are spectacular and our only complaint was that we wished we were staying longer than two nights. Thank you Gina we would love to return again one day to experience the house and gardens in summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Slightly hard to find but owner helped us so not a problem
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2015
Thank you ... and I'm so pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves ... particularly the birthday boy. Yes, you must return and enjoy the views when the summer sunlight is here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing