We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and poor service”

The Tempest Arms Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 150 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and poor service”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked a table for four on 25th July and requested a quiet table. We were placed next to a noisy group of a dozen and it was hard to have a conversation. When the group went, a waitress moved the tables and chairs as we ate and made a noise pulling them across the floor! The service was slow and altogether it was a disappointing experience.

R J Shipley

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that we where so busy! But Sunday lunchtime can be like that we do however try to accommodate our customers requests I wonder though did you ask to move tables? If we had been able to we would have done.
I do hope you try us again, perhaps during the week when it is a little calmer...

Best wishes and once again thank you for letting us know.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    178
    57
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No problems with lunchtime service!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We've been meaning to visit again having had several recommendations and The Tempest Arms didn't disappoint. It's a couple of years since our last visit, so we were delighted with the hugely improved decor and seating. The food was good and no problems with the service on a busy Friday lunchtime. I will definitely be making a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Springs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
THANK YOU so much we are so pleased we managed to please you! And thank you so much for the very complimentary remarks regarding our new look! We are thrilled with it too!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but..........service needs improving”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We are fairly regular visits to the Tempest Arms and always enjoy the food and atmosphere. We visited on the 19th July 2014 and had a table booked for 7.30 pm. We finally got to our table at 8.15 pm and our starter arrived at 8.45 pm by which time we had virtually lost our appetite. The reason for the delay was that the previous diners who had our table took a lot longer to eat their meal than was estimated and consequently had a knock on effect.

The food was of top quality, it was just a shame it all arrived so late.

I think the Tempest Arms ought to rethink their policy of trying to fill tables at all times and accept that when a booking has been made for a certain time that they honour it. Please stop trying to cram in diners and hope that they finish in time before the next booking!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Hello there and thank you for the kind words regarding our delicious food we are so pleased you enjoyed it.

I would like to add that our intention is NOT to cram diners in! We do allow a certain amount of time at a table and usually this works just fine, on Saturday we did have a couple of tables that arrived slightly later than booked, we did do our best to accommodate this situation and try to catch up. As you yourselves are regular visitors you know that it we usually get it right other wise you wouldn't keep coming back!

We will certainly look at our table planning but to be honest we have been using this system for 19 years and as I said before normally we are on time and ready for our booked diners.

I do hope that you re visit soon as we would love to serve you even more lovely food and this time on time too!

Best wishes Martin & Veronica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I only rated 4 stars this time as the restaurant is being renovated and therefore the atmosphere and decor isn't so good at the moment, but will be great when finished. The food is consistently good, large portions lots to choose from. I had the seafood risotto and it was excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hodgee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Oh do call again soon the restaurant looks FAB! So great food in a lovely dining room! We look forward to seeing you again very soon, I'm sure you will love it and hopefully we will get a straight 5!

Lots of best wishes from Team Tempest THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“always good”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We are regular visitors to the Tempest Arms and always enjoy the experience. We stopped by again today at lunch time and were, once again, not disappointed. I had the cumberland sausage with onion sauce which I had not had before, but thoroughly enjoyed. My husband had the fish and seafood grill which was quite an unusual dish including salmon, hake and squid and was also enjoyed. There is always a nice ambience at the Tempest and this occasion was no exception.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
CHEERS Jane

Thank you for your review! We are chuffed to bits you liked us and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

From Team Tempest with all best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tempest Arms Restaurant also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tempest Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing