We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but a lont time to wait” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tempest Arms Restaurant

The Tempest Arms Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 147 Restaurants in Skipton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$57
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food but a lont time to wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I visited this restaurant today (30th July 2014) with a group of friends. Overall the group enjoyed the food but we felt there was far too long a wait before the food was served to us. We were in the restaurant quite early.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello thank you for your review, it pleases me that you did enjoy the food we served I am sorry for what seemed a while for our chefs to prepare the dishes for you.

But to be honest from order to serving you it was actually 40 minutes, off an a la carte menu all with different choices I think it wasn't too bad?

I do hope you call and see us again, with that in mind I think one of your party left a carry bag behind with a bunch of 'Lancashire Life' magazines and a ball of wool! We have tried to contact you but to no avail!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    167
    55
    30
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always fantastic food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Myself and other half often come to the Tempest Arms because it has the real country pub feel but amazing food which is always accompanied by good service. For the quality of food the price is very reasonable and we always leave full up and happy! Its sometimes difficult to book a table due to the popularity of the place but theres nearly always room in the relaxed and cosy bar area. 10/10 every time :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumblebee13390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
THANK YOU for your lovely review it thrills to bits that we get it right and of course you tell us!
We ALL look forward to seeing you again soon!

The Tempest team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yummy grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have been to the Tempest 3 times and never been disappointed. Went today,28th July 2014. There were 5 adults and a 5 month baby. Staff found us a quiet table where baby would not be disturbed. Service was spot on and food was excellent. Everyone has something different. All courses were enjoyed. Total cost was £105 including drinks. Pretty good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and of course for taking the time to to tell us! We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

With all best wishes Martin & Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I went to this restaurant with two other couples on a busy Sunday afternoon. Excellent service, staff very friendly, food very good, location very nice. Can't think of any negatives, price was OK. Highly recommended.

Fenners

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fenners68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Manager at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review it is great to see such favourable words!

With all best wishes

Martin and Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy and poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked a table for four on 25th July and requested a quiet table. We were placed next to a noisy group of a dozen and it was hard to have a conversation. When the group went, a waitress moved the tables and chairs as we ate and made a noise pulling them across the floor! The service was slow and altogether it was a disappointing experience.

R J Shipley

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nitramYorkshire, Owner at The Tempest Arms Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that we where so busy! But Sunday lunchtime can be like that we do however try to accommodate our customers requests I wonder though did you ask to move tables? If we had been able to we would have done.
I do hope you try us again, perhaps during the week when it is a little calmer...

Best wishes and once again thank you for letting us know.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tempest Arms Restaurant also viewed

Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Tempest Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing