We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Carreg Cennen Castle
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This spectacular gray-stone fortress dates back to the 13th century, and is noted for its awesome views from the craggy hilltop upon which the castle sits.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The castle is an amazing trip, staff are really friendly and helpful

Food is great in the cafe, great homemade traditional food

Will certainly be visiting again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouiseE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    126
    23
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best castle by far!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Easy to find just follow the signs to the small village of trapp.
Large carpark
Quite a daunting castle towering over you as its right on the top of a hill but the path from the car park zig zags so its not loke montain climbing!
There are some fablous walks around the castle some harder than others you can get plenty of good advice while having a cupper and welsh cake in the shop/cafe.
The castle it self has amazing veiws all the way down tbe towi vally.
Lovley space for the kids and a narrow windong path down the the dungeon. Be carefull though it does get slippery!

Great for all the family and on the way back dont forget to pop In the pup "The Cennen arms" also can be found on trip advisor.

Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Dramatic Castle, Well Worth the Climb”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have been trying to visit this castle for several years, we live in London & only occasionally visit South Wales, each time we have planned to visit the castle it has poured with rain. This time it was third time lucky & we made it on a gloriously sunny day. It was worth both the wait & the climb. The scenery is great, after exploring the castle we walked back on the "short" circular walk through the woods, this was really lovely. The walk ended behind the teashop from which point there is a dramatic view up to the castle. We rewarded ourselves with tea & a lovely cake at the delightful tea shop in the farm. We then drove round the lanes following a sort of square pattern by keeping turning right & we ended up climbing up to some moorland from which we had a great view across to the castle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMOGtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Not as far away as it looks”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The aspect from the car park is rather daunting - the castle seems a terribly steep climb and, equally, a long way away, but once we started out, even crumblies like us found it quite manageable. The sun was shining and there was a stiff breeze which made for clear skies and lovely views. The castle is a ruined - like most Welsh castles - but is very interesting for all that, although a bit of imagination is required. As members of English Heritage we didn't have to pay as there is a reciprocal arrangement between them and Cadw (Welsh Heritage). We had taken a packed lunch but the restaurant looked very good - one gripe was that the young lady behind the ticket counter seemed a little unenthusiastic, not the warmest welcome we have ever received. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although it is a bit of a drive most things worth seeing in Wales are!! Free parking and only £4 entrance fee it's a bargain. Don't forget to take a torch so you can check out the caves, or you can hire there for £1.50. I would recommend the riverside walk which goes off down hil to the left at the castle entrance. It's a very beautiful stroll with good views up to the castle and we didn't see another soul the whole time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carreg Cennen Castle also viewed

Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Carreg Cennen Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing