We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly 100%”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a last minute booking to stay and dine on a Saturday evening-we have eaten here before but never stayed. The whole experience was very enjoyable and the quirkiness of the hotels ,rooms and service appealed to us. The staff are friendly and helpful and the public areas are very nice but found the bar a little bit soulless-but we were not there to sit in the bar! The menu offered an excellent choice and the restaurant manager took time to explain the dishes and advise if they needed side orders to accompany them-very refreshing in this upsell society that seems to have pervaded every aspect of life.
The room Nonni was charming and well appointed with the right balance of old furniture and modern comfort-very good wifi and free.
What was not to like? The bedroom sash window was broken and would not stay open unless wedged-the tourist brochure came in handy-and the drain on the shower/bath needed a dose of Mr Muscle -you ended up standing in a few inches of water-don't be persuaded by the 'Wine of the Moment' very unpalatable and for a few pounds more they have some great wines on their extensive wine list.A good stay and enjoyable time we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P.Lago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for The Cawdor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Although the rugby result went against France the enjoyment our friends received at the Cawdor Hotel, Llandeilo was unsurpassable. Both the service and quality was praised by our French friends. We felt so pleased when they described the food and service as second to none. They compared the evening as one of the best six nations food they had experienced for a very long time. Nothing was too much for the well trained Cawdor staff. They did as much as was needed without taking over the evening - they were there to support us as hosts to which every Welsh person present commented. If ever we have foreign guests in the future we will not hesitate in providing them with the same pleasure as our friends from France experienced last weekend. We cannot wait to take other guests to enjoy what we experienced last weekend. Thank you the staff of the Cawdor a Hotel, Llandeilo for a truly excellent night.

Room Tip: We only had a meal in the hotel restaurant which we would recommend to everyone.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coleg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at the Cawdor many time over the years & have never been disappointed. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. We have usually eaten in the restaurant whenever we've stayed & again, have always been pleased with out meal - never had a bad one yet! The only negative thing I would say, is that the room we had didn't have air conditioning, so when we stayed in August, it was like a sauna. However, it didn't de-tract us - we kept all the windows open, and luckily for us, we don't get heatwaves very often!

Room Tip: The Cawrdor have townhouse apartments too, so if you're a larger party/family then you can have...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stunning hotel decor and the room was fantastic. The bathroom was amazing - full wet room & huge bath.
The service was friendly and excellent. Great evening restaurant menu and the breakfast was hearty and tasty.
Definitley a candidate for repeat visits.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A hotel not to be missed! The rooms are decorated and appointed to a high standard. The staff are pleasant; the bar is well stocked; there's a comfortable lounge; and the food at dinner or breakfast is good. Portions at the latter can be large (big appetites around here!) so be aware when you order!
This is a very relaxing hotel and Llandeilo is an interesting small town with plenty of attractions historically and for its small shops.
The only drawbacks at The Cawdor are that it has no lift and that the parking is way up the back but that's what happens if you come to a small town never designed for cars (or lorries) and you stay in a historic building.
Go there....it's very nice.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you don't want vehicle noise on the main street right outside
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wales25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I attended a family lunch here and stayed for 2 nights. We booked directly with the hotel and received a good deal from the very professional receptionist. The hotel is on the town Main Street but we were able to park at the front to check in and then move the car to their huge secure car park at the rear of the hotel. This might prove difficult for anyone with a disability since from the car park there are numerous steps down to the hotel entrance. We had an excellent dinner the first night with an amazing menu choice of some very interesting meals excellently cooked and presented---top class food and the service was outstanding with one of the staff describing the options before we ordered . We stayed in a very comfortable room which although at the front was not noisy at all, and the bathroom was excellent with a superb bath and a powerful shower and Molton Brown products too. The breakfast choice was extensive with everything from a light continental to a full breakfast or even fish or whatever combination you required!
All the staff were excellent. A delightful hotel very well situated in a pleasant little town convenient for visiting that area of Wales

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Comfortable and chic rooms, designed and decorated to a high standard though now showing a little bit of wear and tear, we stayed in Dryslwyn which has a slightly cracked sink, small chip in the enamel bath and a little mould in the shower area, these are admittedly only minor issues, with what is a very nice room.
Sharon the receptionist could maybe be a little friendlier, but she did appear busy and maybe just a little bit overstretched, thankfully the hotel wasn’t full.
The food (we had the D,B&B option) was sadly disappointing as we were expecting somewhat better, as previous reviews had promised, though maybe because it was a Wednesday (special price) night, that had something to do with it.
Their chance to redeem at breakfast was another miss, due to both my wife’s and my cooked breakfast, being served only luke warm, bordering on cold. Admittedly nobody else seemed to have a problem with theirs, though the waiter apologised profusely and offered replacements in an instant.
Still an enjoyable stay but, we believe, could have delivered so much more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdkwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
91 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: £81 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing