We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I stayed at the Cawdor on two occasions over the last month due to working in the area. From the warm welcome, the large comfortable room, the impressive bathroom and the food, everything was excellent. I will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamboGoddessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    149
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
259
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We used the hotel recently for Sunday lunch, we were seated in the bistro restaurant and had the fixed lunch menu.
The meal was excellent and reasonably priced, the service was very good, the staff very friendly and we enjoyed the whole experience - would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here as a special Birthday treat & what a treat it was! The room was beautiful and luxurious, the food was faultless and the service just lovely. The décor of the whole building is gorgeous and the use of Melin Tregwynt fabric & furnishings through out adds a well thought out & much appreciated touch.

We enjoyed our stay immensely & revisited for Sunday lunch a few months after our stay.

Highly recommended by two quite picky people!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsievonchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was a last minute booking to stay and dine on a Saturday evening-we have eaten here before but never stayed. The whole experience was very enjoyable and the quirkiness of the hotels ,rooms and service appealed to us. The staff are friendly and helpful and the public areas are very nice but found the bar a little bit soulless-but we were not there to sit in the bar! The menu offered an excellent choice and the restaurant manager took time to explain the dishes and advise if they needed side orders to accompany them-very refreshing in this upsell society that seems to have pervaded every aspect of life.
The room Nonni was charming and well appointed with the right balance of old furniture and modern comfort-very good wifi and free.
What was not to like? The bedroom sash window was broken and would not stay open unless wedged-the tourist brochure came in handy-and the drain on the shower/bath needed a dose of Mr Muscle -you ended up standing in a few inches of water-don't be persuaded by the 'Wine of the Moment' very unpalatable and for a few pounds more they have some great wines on their extensive wine list.A good stay and enjoyable time we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P.Lago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Although the rugby result went against France the enjoyment our friends received at the Cawdor Hotel, Llandeilo was unsurpassable. Both the service and quality was praised by our French friends. We felt so pleased when they described the food and service as second to none. They compared the evening as one of the best six nations food they had experienced for a very long time. Nothing was too much for the well trained Cawdor staff. They did as much as was needed without taking over the evening - they were there to support us as hosts to which every Welsh person present commented. If ever we have foreign guests in the future we will not hesitate in providing them with the same pleasure as our friends from France experienced last weekend. We cannot wait to take other guests to enjoy what we experienced last weekend. Thank you the staff of the Cawdor a Hotel, Llandeilo for a truly excellent night.

Room Tip: We only had a meal in the hotel restaurant which we would recommend to everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coleg72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at the Cawdor many time over the years & have never been disappointed. The rooms are spacious, clean & comfortable. We have usually eaten in the restaurant whenever we've stayed & again, have always been pleased with out meal - never had a bad one yet! The only negative thing I would say, is that the room we had didn't have air conditioning, so when we stayed in August, it was like a sauna. However, it didn't de-tract us - we kept all the windows open, and luckily for us, we don't get heatwaves very often!

Room Tip: The Cawrdor have townhouse apartments too, so if you're a larger party/family then you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stunning hotel decor and the room was fantastic. The bathroom was amazing - full wet room & huge bath.
The service was friendly and excellent. Great evening restaurant menu and the breakfast was hearty and tasty.
Definitley a candidate for repeat visits.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
88 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
454 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
22.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing