We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique country hotel”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Cawdor last week and would highly recommend it. We stayed in room 19 called dinefwr, which had a traditional feel to it with wood beams and a very large bathroom with a shower to die for! The views were fantastic of the countryside. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome, check in was quick and easy. We had dinner in the hotel which was excellent, the food was amazing so top marks to the chef. We would recommend this hotel and it's sister hotel Morgans in Swansea.

Room Tip: Room 19, dinefrw was lovely and had a window seat looking out onto the countryside which was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for The Cawdor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our daughter & son in law had their wedding reception at the Cawdor Hotel in April 26th, Mary was the wedding co-ordinator helped by her excellent team of staff, nothing was too much trouble.They certainly made the day flow smoothly without a hitch!
The venue and the food were first class, Our family and friends can't stop talking about it, just wish we could do it all again!

We really can't praise it enough, diolch I pawb am ddywrnod arbennig.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mai101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Despite our late arrival, the staff were polite and helpful.
The room was lovely - really enjoyed its decor size and comfort. The bathroom was beautiful
Breakfast was a feast with lots of choice. Would have liked to have spent more time there and may return again. Only downside was the car park was through the garden terrace - a bit out of the way and up lots of steps. Don't know if they had another access route for those less able.

Room Tip: None. our room at the front on the main high street was quiet enough though it was a Sunday morning
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Room62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Good rooms. Good modern bathroom with powerful shower and bath. Excellent and imaginative restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed scallops, Welsh lamb, panna cotta, cheesecake, Welsh goats cheese, all served on Welsh slate plates.
Not cheap but value for money and a good place to stay to visit this part of Wales. There is no lift in the hotel which may be a drawback for the infirm and disabled. The restaurant is large but does not lack atmosphere. Good for couples or as we were, part of a group.
The hotel is on the High Street.
Parking is round the back of the hotel.
They even laid on fantastic weather.
Breakfasts were huge and there was abundant choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Judi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

An old coaching inn with character in the heart of Llandeilo. Unfortunately there is no lift because it is a listed building but friendly and helpful staff will deal with your luggage.
There is a wide choice of tasty, imaginative food in the attractive restaurant, which is worth going to even if you don't stay at the hotel.
Nearby Dinefwr House and garden (NT), with all its Welsh history is worth a visit.

Room Tip: We liked the Nonni room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrockerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had the absolute pleasure of staying here whilst attending a Wedding this weekend.
There was nothing to fault, the rooms, food, service were all excellent and they dont rip you off on the drinks either!!! The Wedding Breakfast was held here and the food was fantastic, majority of which was hand made. Rooms were well attributed and spacious. If forced to make any downside it would be to say it would benefit from a lift but this is really trivial. Staff were very helpful and friendly. If you were to hold a wedding here you would not be disappointed and the way they served the tables was so professional too. Breakfast was plentiful and cooked freshly, there was so much even I could not quite manage it all!!! Do not pass it by when on your travels in Wales.

Room Tip: we were in Nonni (12) 2nd floor excellent room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Well we only had to wait for15 minutes! Some two years since our last visit and, if anything, it has got better. The staff here are great and made all the difference. We went tonight for their dinner special deal. Great friendly welcome. The dining room is a bit dark as is the hotel decor, perhaps ceiling lights focussed on each table would retain the ambience whilst allowing customers to read the menu. Food was excellent quality and well presented, the waiting staff were attentive but not in your face. The vegetables were beautifully cooked and plenty enough.
Well done to the team there who have obviously been well trained and managed. Just one observation -I don't think that a Caesar salad should have red onion in it.
Excellent evening all round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
91 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
13.4 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: £81 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing