We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAYED BUT GREAT MEALSHERE”
Review of The Cawdor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cawdor
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NEVER STAYED BUT GREAT MEALSHERE”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We have never lodged at the hotel but have had many meals. On every occasion the food quality, cookeing, presentation and service has been fantastic and fair value. Today's lunch no exception. Although very busy the service was impeccable and not tardy. Thanks very much.
We did have one observation however, there was a very large group with badly behaved children, the parents did nothing about it and I don' tthink the hotel said anything, it did spoil things a bit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    149
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
259
16
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Arrived Sunday afternoon, booked evening meal. Room quite spacious, carpet badly stained, as were walls. Noisy heating system kept me awake. Dinner in restaurant really good, wine reasonably priced. Staff were pleasant and attentive. Ordered traditional english breakfast, not very warm & served in bowl shaped plates as was evening meal (would have preferred a plate). My husband thought they were running a creche in lounge area of hotel, noisy, full of mothers with buggies. No room really for guests to sit & chat with a cup of coffee. Made quick exit for home.Hotel fine if you get a good deal but wouldn't pay top rates. Pretty average. No lift so climbing stairs was a feat. Would have dinner in restaurant without over night stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millycat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

It was about 20 years since I had last visited the Cawdor - then it was very much a 'rotary club meets here' type of hotel. Maybe they still do, but if so they're getting a better deal. We stayed for a night on one of the colder weekends of the year, with snow on the ground. We had deliberately booked one of the smaller, cheaper rooms, as we were only staying one night, but it was a fair size for a small room, with a large bathroom. On arrival the room felt cold, but there was an electric radiator provided as well as the heating system - just as well. There seemed to be no way of heating the bathroom besides the towel rail. so the luxury of the double-head shower paled beside the desperately cold tiled floor - an experience that should have been pleasant but wasn't.

We had a meal at the restaurant, which was of excellent quality with acceptable service. The wine list is worthy of mention, with a good selection of sensibly-priced wines, many of which are avaiiable b y the glass. Breakfast was OK, though not outstanding. However for the price we paid. good value.

We were lovely and snug under our duvet, but woke up to find ice on the inside of our window - it WAS a cold night, but I haven't seen that since I was a kid!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafoodQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Just back from another brief stay at the Cawdor and enjoyed it as much as always. It could probably do with a lick of paint in places but is tremendously stylish and comfortable. The beds are enormous and comfortable, the showers the best in the business and the Molton Brown shower gel etc lovely. Top quality sheets and towels and none of that feeling of corners being cut, New wooden double glazed windows make for minimum noise disturbance but slightly noisy heating and random loud banging in the pipes did wake this very light sleeper and keep her awake. The meal we had last night was the best I've had for years - absolutely delicious, and the service was friendly and prompt. If I owned a hotel, this is what I would model it on. Llandeilo is a treasure trove of interesting shops and the countryside is beautiful. Carreg Cennin castle must surely win Britain's most romantic castle though yet again the red kites failed to show. I absolutely love it here and would happily take up permanent residence.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocksCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Booked two nights in one of the most expensive rooms, Dynfwr, for my wife's birthday treat because she wanted a full, uninterrupted session at Toast, a designer fashion shop next door. So far so good, brownie points being accumulated with speed. Let's start with Cawdor's self proclaimed 'boutique' monicker implying a level of service and surroundings that mark it out from the ordinary. Llandellio locals look for somewhere to gather and spend so the Cawdor, certainly above a Weatherspoons cavery, ticks the box. But does a few leather sofas and wall of wine bottles give it 'boutique' status? No not really.
The Cawdor has some pretentions above the neighbouring pubs but all in all it struggles to maintain the standard of 'exclusiveness' it aspires to. No body in reception appears to think that guests would want help with luggage without having to ask for it and as there is no lift we struggled up 4 flights of stairs. Calling reception is hit and miss and clearly there is no room service line as each time you ring they answer as if it were an external enquiry.
Our room was bright, cheerful and warm with a nice view. Decor was uninspiring, again judging it against it's self proclaimed boutique status. The polished wooden floor combined with the bed's castors meant if you sat up in bed, slowly you pushed the bed away from the back rest that meant every 10 minutes getting out bed and pushing it back again.
The restaurant was an upmarket canteen, a large, bordering on cavernous hall of a place. The menu priced at £18 p/p for two course, was locally sourced, creative and just about filling but again very average for the UK but perhaps exciting for Wales?
You were obliged to make your own toast at breakfast, the cereal selection boring as someone had obviously done a deal with Kellogs but the smoked fish portion huge and well cooked.
All in all a hotel that tries it's best but is found wanting on so many levels, not least staff that are keen, cheerful but lack leadership from someone experienced. 6/10 with room for improvement before it can claim it's title.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LordLucan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Travelled with my husband for a special night away .Had heard great reviews about the hotel but I must say it exceeded our expectations .Rooms are clean and well equiped .Bathrooms lovely with fluffy bathrobes and towels .Staff attentive but not in your face .Food was superb in the evening and breakfast .If you book a night here I,m sure you will not be disappointed .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BessieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west wales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Llandeilo is a fabulous Welsh upmarket town, it's quaint and truly adourable. I am probably being biased!!! But truly ;-) try this fabulous hotel for yourselves, as it's my favourite hotel. I live literally 10 mins away, and work in the best place ever TOAST. Yes Toast is here at Llandeilo :-) a bonus i would say. But back to the Cawdor hotel, the hotel manager Mary is just so lovely and warm. Believe me, all her staff are just as nice :-) especially the bar man/cocktail pro.. David Procter my personal favourite, as David has a certain charm, and has excellent customer skills, as well as good old fashioned manners, something i find hard to find at times. I truly hope that other people will comment on his high proffessional standard.( please do!!) No relation i swear :-) The service which the Cawdor hotel provides is exceptional. I have stayed at the Cawdor a few times, but have my lunch there at least once a week as a treat. The service has been fantastic each time:-) Hey! you may think hang on!!!!! local woman, working near by!! are they working together ummmm!!! Seriously NO, I am giving you the public, a very honest oppinion. Llandeilo is a very beautiful place, small, colourful. and very vibrant :-) with many local eccentric characters which i am sure you would find very engaging. Call and have a chat sometime with me at Toast ask for Jan, i can give you some fab tips if you want a truly lucious weekend :-) give Llandeilo a try. Best wishes Jan xx Plus check out Llandeilo website as we have so much to offer, Llandeilo festival of senses will take place in November, don't miss it!! ring the Cawdor for more info plus a room :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshoney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
88 reviews
15.1 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
552 reviews
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
6.3 mi away
Llwyn Helyg Country House
Llwyn Helyg Country House
#1 of 2 in Llanarthney
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cawdor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cawdor

Property: The Cawdor
Address: 72 Rhosmaen Street, Llandeilo SA19 6EN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cawdor 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Cawdor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cawdor Hotel Llandeilo
The Cawdor Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing