We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nostalgia visit”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I decided to visit Llandeilo where I used to live many years ago. We found this hotel on the Internet and booked a stay for 3 nights
When we arrived the receptionist helped us with our case and changed our room to a ground floor one because my wife has difficulty with stairs. Our room had 2 single beds in it an was extremely comfortable with lovely views across the Towy Valley. The bathroom was scrupulously clean and had everything in it that we would possibly need. The towels were changed daily.
The restaurant and bar were very pleasant and comfortable and the food was excellent. There were 2 menus to choose from. The quantities of food were great and we were well filled. After dinner we relaxed in the bar area and chatted with fellow guests.
Breakfast was started with a serve yourself table with various fruit, cereals and juices. The waitress took our order for the main part and it was cooked to perfection.
The hotel is about a mile out of Llandeilo on the A40 road and is very easy to find. It is central for a lot of attractions in the area.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who visits the area.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 202 and up are on the second floor but no stairs as the entrance is on the side of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Graham A,

Thank you leaving such a positive review of you stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to The Plough and Llandeilo. I will be sure to pass on all of your positive feedback to my hardworking staff who will be thrilled to know that you had a comfortable stay.

We hope to welcome you back to The Plough soon.

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here with the wife for our anniversary. Had a fantastic picnic at the top of the black Mountains and enjoyed the incredible surroundings at the edge of the Brecon Beacons before finding this little gem.
The welcome was lovely and room was huge with a gigantic bed and lovely bathroom. We decided to go for wander to the village (a 15 min walk) but went back to the Plough because it seemed far nicer than anything else around.
The food was simply beautiful, using locally sourced ingredients - and they serve a nice pint.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely.

All in all a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBMalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear BBMalky,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review.

We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of some of our local attractions.
I am also pleased to hear that you chose to dine with us during your stay, we are proud to offer local produce where possible and my team of skilled chefs work tirelessly to provide 1 rosette quality food.
I will pass on your feedback to all of my staff and we hope to welcome you back to The Plough in the future.

Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a great meal, the menu was a little confusing but once sorted how it works realised could choose from both menus which meant there was lots of choice. Food was well presented very nice and good portion sizes, nice staff and a nice atmosphere will be back soon

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andrewhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Andrewhadley,

Thank you for taking you time to leave such a positive review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening I will pass on your feedback to all of my hardworking team, I am sorry to hear that you found our menu confusing.
We currently run 2 options of a classic and a signature menu, we feel that this caters for all tastes and budgets.
However of course all feedback is taken in to consideration and I will look to implement any improvements necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After a slight mix up with booking dates the management at The Plough went out of their way to ensure that our trip went as smoothly as possible. The accommodation and restaurant are first class and service could not be better. We would definitely stay .
Many Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a wonderful find! We wanted to have some lunch and were looking out for a reasonable looking Pub/Restaurant. When we first entered, beautiful (silk) flowers in large vase dominate the entrance hall. Had a wonderful lunch, plenty of it, all presented very well in modern surroundings. Staff very well trained, lovely and clean, including the loos, always important! Would recommend this wholeheartedly. Their garden looked amazing, and they have rooms, so if you are thinking of staying in this area, perhaps to visit Aberglasney, this is definitely the one to choose. Undergoing some extension at present.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great stay, welcoming and comfy, clean rooms and great beds.
Would definitely re-visit. Beautiful place and very friendly staff.
Thoroughly enjoyed time spent there and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I know it sounds cliché but this place really is like a hidden gem! it's situated in the middle of a little village with a lovely garden and amazing views. Hotel itself is great with larger than expected bedrooms and very comfortable bed. The restaurant however is just outstanding... Delicious food, modern decor and brilliant staff really make this place. Just a hint: go for something you've never tried before, you won't regret it. Breakfast was beautiful as well. We will certainly be coming back bringing our friends and family to this amazing place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank aggiesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
918 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
877 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
733 reviews
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing