We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish welsh welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“stylish welsh welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'd heard about this place but only recently got the canhce to stay there. In the wonderful Tywi valley of south-west wales this locla hotel has been turned into a wonderful experience: good rooms - comfortable and modern - and a great restaurant. The staff changed from Welsh to English for different customers and gave the stylish restaurant a warm welcoming feel. Convenient for Carmarthern, Llandeilo and Llandovery, the south wales coast and just to the west edge of the Brecon Beacons this would be a great base for a touring, fishing or walking holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JegeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JegeT,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a brilliant review.

I am pleased that you were able to finally come and visit us and enjoy all our stunning location.

I will pass on your praise to all members of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    132
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
158
378
16
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just had a superb meal at The Plough to celebrate our daughters graduation. We couldn't fault it at all. The food and service were both amazing. Well done on a truly great place to eat. We can't comment on the Hotel as we didn't stay but if the food is anything to go by then the rooms must be magnificent!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Carla D,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to celebrate in our restaurant. Here at The Plough we are passionate about providing 1 rosette quality food, we feel that using local produce where possible really reflects the quality of our dishes.

I will pass on your feedback to all members of my team, and would like to congratulate your daughter on her graduation, maybe next time you visit you can treat yourselves to a nights stay- all special offers can be found on our website.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

What a transformation, from a little pub with a restaurant, to a lovely modern hotel with all the facilities one could wish for when travelling, or just a local for entertaining.and eating. The space created for just sitting or eating was superb. The design team have done an excellent job. Even the toilets could win prizes!
Our lunch menu consisted of Chicken liver parfait and a Wild mushroom cheesecake, both beautifully presented and flavoursome. A little 'toast' with the cheesecake could have made a big difference. The main courses consisted of The Plough curry again beautifully flavoured without being overpowering and the Oven roast salmon with a cockle and cider sauce both excellent, plenty of flavour and of good proportion. Baked Alaska was the perfect sweet to finish a well balanced meal.
The menus presented were very well thought out, and covered all dietry needs.
The staff started with a smile and ended with a smile with food to match--- nothing too much trouble. The time taken between courses was just right with attentive staff doing their job well.
The total cost with drinks was £55.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxavac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Maxavac,

Thank you for taking your time to leave such a marvelous review.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our recently refurbished downstairs area, we worked hard to find the right balance to find the right fine dining experience and to also be able to relax and entertain.

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch, and will be sure to pass on your feedback to my team of chefs, and that my front house staff added to your experience.

We hope that you will return to The Plough again soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We attended a wedding at the Plough and found the building and staff all to a high standard. The hotel had obviously had a lot of money spent on it to get it to this standard. The grounds were also well looked after and were a great backdrop for the photo's. The drinks were not too badly prices and the service level was high. The food was of a high standard.

Room Tip: As I did not stay at the hotel I can not comment other than to say the rest of the group who did sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Bob R,

Thank you for taking your time to leave a review regarding your recent visit.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your day at The Plough, I am pleased especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed your wedding meal and you made the moat of our gardens. I will pass on your feedback to all members of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed with friends who had been before they loved it and so did we.
The staff were very welcoming on arrival ,our room was large airy beautifully decorated with quality fixtures and fittings as was throughout the whole inn, and to top it all we had a lovely rural view from our room .I might add that we had a huge bed which was very comfortable.
The dinner menu was very extensive and our evening meal was absolutely delicious.
Breakfast too was first class catering for everybody's taste .
All in all I cannot recommend this inn more highly the four of us had a wonderful time and will be returning very very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear has rural views and a beautiful dawn chorus
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

A relaxing night away from the kids! Beautiful modern decor. Rooms nicely furnished. Liked the jacuzzi in the bathroom!
Food in the restaurant was of a very high standard - deserving of it's AA food rosette.
Staff we're very warm and friendly, with a constant smile as they worked.
Thank you for our stay - we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear Rhobeth,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a wonderful review

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our executive rooms.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to all of my team, and we look forward to your return to The Plough soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked this hotel for my daughters wedding, we stayed the night before the wedding and the day of the wedding.

This hotel is exceptional, the owner,& staff are extremely dedicated to making sure their guests are well looked after.

The food is superb, the rooms are excellent and the service is very professional.

All I can say is stay at this hotel & judge for yourselves

This is a 4* rated hotel & it thoroughly deserves it.

This is probably my shortest review, but everything that needs to be said is above.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great, but ask for one on the upper floor for fantastic views over the countrys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandamNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear SandamNeath

Thank you for such a lovely and thoughtful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your daughter’s wedding day, and the night before. The team work very hard to give the best possible service and our brigade of chef’s work hard to produce the quality of food you tasted during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plough in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
14.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing