We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful & family friendly”
Review of The Plough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very helpful & family friendly”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We arrived here a little early after going to the Royal Welsh show. The staff were very accommodating to us with 2 young children and said that they would serve our food a little earlier than usual ( a bonus with a whinging 2 year old and hot baby!). The staff were excellent and very accommodating. They took our food order quickly and the food arrived quickly. It was tasty, I've never seen my daughter eat fish as quickly as she did here! Overall a large roomy dining area, accommodating staff, and ok budget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeboat47026home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Lifeboat47026home,

Thank you for such a lovely review.

I am pleased that my front of house staff were able to help you dine early, we work hard to make all of our diners feel welcome and I am happy to hear that all of your party enjoyed our food and hospitality. We use local ingredients where possible, and feel that this reflects in the quality of the food that we provide. I will pass on all of your comments to my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough in the future

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    135
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
158
387
16
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Not able to pass comment on the rooms or food though i'm told they are excellent.Due to poor mobility i walk with the help of a stick, Almost immediatly on entering the property which seemed beautiful i was told the restaruant was upstair's.I'm not able to use the stair's so, we left bitterly disappointed and, feeling quite second class.
I wish this had been made clear when we looked up the hotel we had made a special journey out.i'am surprised a hotel of this class as no lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Anya G,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback regarding your recent visit.

Please can I reassure you that disabled people most certainly are welcome at The Plough, we often have diners and hotel guests use our facilities.
Unfortunately it seems that as a booking was not made we were unable to make you aware that our upstairs restaurant was in use to due a private function downstairs. I aplogise for the upset that this caused you, I am sure should you return to The Plough again you would enjoy your visit.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Had an excellent stay here the staff were more than helpful and the food second to none a most imaginative menu and reasonably priced a lovely setting and I could not have chosen better
I would go again and have no hesitation in recommending it.
it was well worth the 6 hours drive

Room Tip: we had 304 and it was great for the less abled
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Ian F,

Thank you for leaving such a high praising review.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, all of my team work hard to provide top class service along with 1 rosette standard food, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel and beautiful food

We had a party of 32 people and we all enjoyed the 3 course meal. Staff were great and very helpful

The bridal suite was a lovely size room and great service

Would recommend and stay again !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Two families with young children & Visited on our way back from show. Tel on route & they actually served us after the usual hours of 9.30pm by reserving table. Only had main course as late but it was beautiful. Waitress was lovely and v helpful, will be back soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Compca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Compca1,

Thank you leaving such a positive review regarding your visit.

I am pleased we were able to help with you dine in our 1 rosette restaurant, we use local produce where possible and feel that this really reflects in the quality dishes we serve.
My chefs will be happy to hear your feedback and I will pass on your praise to my front of house staff. We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Regards

Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I'd heard about this place but only recently got the canhce to stay there. In the wonderful Tywi valley of south-west wales this locla hotel has been turned into a wonderful experience: good rooms - comfortable and modern - and a great restaurant. The staff changed from Welsh to English for different customers and gave the stylish restaurant a warm welcoming feel. Convenient for Carmarthern, Llandeilo and Llandovery, the south wales coast and just to the west edge of the Brecon Beacons this would be a great base for a touring, fishing or walking holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JegeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear JegeT,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us such a brilliant review.

I am pleased that you were able to finally come and visit us and enjoy all our stunning location.

I will pass on your praise to all members of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plough soon.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have just had a superb meal at The Plough to celebrate our daughters graduation. We couldn't fault it at all. The food and service were both amazing. Well done on a truly great place to eat. We can't comment on the Hotel as we didn't stay but if the food is anything to go by then the rooms must be magnificent!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Carla D,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am pleased to hear that you were able to celebrate in our restaurant. Here at The Plough we are passionate about providing 1 rosette quality food, we feel that using local produce where possible really reflects the quality of our dishes.

I will pass on your feedback to all members of my team, and would like to congratulate your daughter on her graduation, maybe next time you visit you can treat yourselves to a nights stay- all special offers can be found on our website.

Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
1.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
87 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
16.3 mi away
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
Stradey Park Hotel & Spa
#3 of 10 in Llanelli
852 reviews
14.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough Inn

Property: The Plough Inn
Address: Rhosmaen, Llandeilo SA19 6NP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plough Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four star boutique hotel and award winning restaurant set in the beautiful Towy Valley at the edge of the Brecon Beacons. Surrounded by castles and country houses with the National Botanical Garden of Wales and Aberglasney House only minutes away. Enjoy beautiful views from all 23 of our well appointed en suite rooms equipped with everything you would expect for your stay - queen sized beds, free wifi, sofas and disabled facilities - all impeccably serviced with our attention to detail. Why not take advantage of our gym and sauna to unwind and relax during your stay! At the Plough you will be greeted with a traditional Welsh welcome, good food from our varied menu in our award winning restaurant, including gluten free, with excellent wines that can be enjoyed in a warm and relaxed atmosphere served to you with that all important personal touch. Afternoon tea is also available, includes a selection of scones, cakes and sandwiches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Plough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough Hotel Llandeilo
Plough Hotel Llandeilo
The Plough Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing