We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD AMIDST CHAOS”
Review of White Hart Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
vavuniya
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD AMIDST CHAOS”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

They are chaotic;they had got my dates wrong and placed us in a poor quality room that was corrected on day 2/3 and price reduced.They were others suffering too -meals take long to serve there is too much music from ongoing functions and bookings not confirmed.Put that aside they are very decent and good people going to a hard period but very good too.
There is a grave error that leads to much confusion that needs correction in my view (that could be mistaken) : the girls that run the bar and dinning table are too close for comfort.

Room Tip: See your room before accepting.some rooms are not worth if they charge the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruvinivavuniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    23
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
24
22
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location was good. The bedroom was large and very confortable, bathroom was also very good. We had lots of space to store our luggage. Wifi worked very well in the bedroom, although not in the restaurant.
Te staff although fairly nice, seemed more concerned with their regular customers from the pub. On our arrival they warned us that a disco party would take place below our room, and they could move us into another room just for the night. The noise was unbearable, so we had to change rooms for one night. On our 2nd. day, when we arrived for lunch, (they had told us they served food untill 9:30 PM), we were told that the food was over! So we had to leave to find a place to eat. And on our 3rd. day, although we checked at breakfast if dinner would be served, we made our orders and waited for more that one hour, just to be told that there was a "function" going on on the other room and the chef was too busy and could not serve us, they apologized, but they should have told us upon arrival and not let us waiting for a whole hour. We went to sleep on an empty stomach, as it was to late to go somewhere else.
Breakfast was a little limited, with not many options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catasalaverry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were in South Wales looking for a new home over the Easter weekend & found this lovely country inn which offers B & B at £80 per night which although a little expensive, it was a bank holiday so maybe reasonable, we booked a ensuite room on Booking.com with a bath but received room 5 which although ensuite has a shower but no bath. Normally we'd object but as we were only here 2 nights we weren't too bothered.

Room 5 is directly above the entrance to the public bar and as a result there's lots of friendly locals chatting & smoking outside - which could annoy some people. The room itself is small but was clean and reasonably well appointed BUT the bed / mattress is awful and certainly not up to A.A. 2 star standard.

The breakfasts are well cooked & plentiful and so are the evening meals.
There was a young farmers disco on the Friday evening in the function room and we found this not be any problem at all - due to being in room 5 away from the music.

The staff here are friendly, the location is nice, the food is very good in terms of quality and value - they just need to upgrade the bed / mattress.

Room Tip: We believe the rooms ( 1 - 6 ) over the pub bars are quieter, albeit smaller but the rooms over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

did a disco there last night very clean place and food was amazing the welcome you had was amazing very lovely place to work meet all the workers and the welcome you had was great very friendly pup with a open fire very cosy and very clean with loopylou and son x

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We also had the misfortune of booking a room on 07/12/2013. When we checked in nothing was mentioned about the disco that would be directly below our room. We had booked an ensuite room. When we looked over the room it was a bit grubby and dated (wallpaper peeling etc), disappointing but okay for one night. However, on returning to our room at 23:00 there was a disco directly below our room which sounded from within the room as if you were on the dance floor. There was absolutely no way you could sleep through that and since the hotel knew the function room would be blaring music into the rooms above (rooms 6+) i think it is out of order to place people who were not going to the function into these rooms and not warning people so they could look for alternative accommodation. Had we known that it would be absolutely impossible to sleep we would not have booked as the least you expect from a room is for it to be quiet enough to allow the guests to sleep. By this point it was too late to go anywhere else, so my other half asked how long it would be going on, they stated until at least 1am so he asked to be moved rooms (rooms 1-5 are in the old part of the hotel so the sound from the disco did not travel). They moved us to room 4, which was smaller with a bathroom across the hall, Again the bathroom was grubby with mouldy/black silicone around the bath and dusty. The room was hot and there was a noise all night - a bit like a fan or heating system (hard to tell - I suspect the kitchen fan as we were above the kitchen and I heard people at breakfast complaining about the same noise and also the smell of chips.) The hotel was too hot, but I found opening the window did solve this, until a dog started barking early in the morning.
I would not return and would recommend booking somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfootsteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We apologise but at this time of year we do have Christmas parties. However you should of been made aware of this and offered alternative accommodation where possible. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us at a quieter time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband & I booked to stay here while in town for a christening as we'd been so pleased with the value for money we felt we got when staying here on a previous occasion.
Unfortunately, we could not be less happy with our stay on this occasion.
I am over 7months pregnant & we have our toddler with us & they have placed us in a room directly over their function room while they cater for what I am assuming is a Christmas party.
It is currently 23:30 on a Saturday night in early December (a reasonable time & date for a Christmas party). I can not only hear the music clearly (despite wearing earplugs), I have been able to feel the music through the bed since it woke me over half an hour ago.
To be fair, it is not unreasonable for there to be Christmas parties on in a pub in December. However, why book family rooms out during the party season? And Why put a family in a room directly above said function?? (They knew about the toddler as a toddler bed was requested at the time of booking)
It is especially unfortunate given all the other issues we have encountered on this visit:
1) a complete lack of wifi (despite this being advertised as available)
2) poor quality food - served tepid instead of hot, my desert was unpleasant to eat & my husband's was inadequate
3) poor standard of cleanliness in the bedroom (I'm coughing from the dust)
4) no 'climate control' - it is roasting with no way of cooling down (opening the windows hasn't helped much with the temperature & has let in more people noise)
5) service was lacking

Basically, it would seem that all their efforts have been concentrated on the function without a thought to any paying guests they have. Definitely not worth £70 a night this time!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiredHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We apologise but at this time of year we do have Christmas parties. However you should have been made aware of this and offered alternative accommodation where possible. We hope that this will not deter you from staying with us at a quieter time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is right across the street from the entrance to Dinefwr Castle, and walking distance from the restaurants in Llandeilo. The service was really friendly, and while the rooms were kind of plain and motel-y, they were clean and quiet. Location is superb for exploring the area - Carreg Cennan, Dinefwr, Talley Abbey, etc. We went to the coast one day, and they kindly let us take the room towels to the beach. No complaints!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soybean1734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Therese G, Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandeilo
0.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
796 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Goose & Cuckoo
The Goose & Cuckoo
#2 of 5 in Llangadog
26 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Glynhir Estate
The Glynhir Estate
#2 of 2 in Llandybie
32 reviews
6.1 mi away
the stag and Pheasant inn
the stag and Pheasant inn
#6 of 11 in Llanelli
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Property: White Hart Inn
Address: 38 Carmarthen Road, Llandeilo SA19 6RS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandeilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llandeilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — White Hart Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular pub, restaurant, hotel and function venue. Rooms from £50 including breakfast. Free wifi and large carpark. Food all day, every day. Sky televiosn (including sports) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Inn Llandeilo, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing