We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch stop”
Review of The Cottage Inn

The Cottage Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good lunch stop”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Ordered filled baguettes for lunch. Good service and enjoyable food. My wife was given tasters of the real ales by the landlord. Quality ales.

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    45
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CARMARTHENSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very Ordinary”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This seemingly popular restaurant was disappointing. Although not expensive the food was very plain and dry lacking a sauce to on my salmon and my partners lasagne was the same. Not a place to go back to in a hurry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJBCarmarthenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good pub meal”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This pub has a varied menu of very typical pub meal dishes, including a grill menu of steaks etc.
I had sirloin steak - quite expensive but the meat was very tasty, tender and cooked exactly to the 'medium' requirement I'd asked for.

Good sides of mushrooms and beer-batter onion rings, and the main meal portions were good.
The waitress was very nice and attentive, and as tables became vacant we saw her cleaning up very thoroughly.
Also on the plus side, coca cola is served from either bottles or cans, tipped into a glass, so none of that awful watery rubbish that comes out of a hose, like you get in many places these days.

I would point out that this is a normal *pub* which means it has locals and sometimes music and/or the TV on, showing rugby etc.
Personally I like this as I always see someone I know and end up having a chat.
It mightn't be for those of a snootier disposition, for whom the Cawdors in Llandeilo itself might be a more appropriate destination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EWEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Lovely home cooked pub grub”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We went toThe Cottage Inn whilst out with friends who live in the area. The food was top notch, all freshly prepared.
We ordered two 8 oz Gammon, chicken in leek and white wine sauce and a home made curry - everyone's plates were empty by the time we'd finished.
Will definitely be popping in again when back in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Emily I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Great pub food, great service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Lovely welcome from the staff here who were interested in our holiday in the area. Food is good, great size portions, good range to choose from. Children can eat from the adult menu but have a childs portion or choose from their own menu. Local meats served, great lamb. Nice local beers to try too. I will happily go back next time I am in the area. 2 adults/ 1child inc main meal and drinks was about £40.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cottage Inn also viewed

Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing