We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed all expectations. Highly recommended.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm. All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm.
All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
The rear of the property has a secluded sun-trap garden for relaxing after a day's walking.
The living area has exposed beams into the roof space and has a double sofa-bed.
The kitchen area opens onto the rear garden.
The kitchen is contemporary and fitted with all mod-cons.
The open-plan living area retains a homely and cosy feel.
The double bedroom is super-cosy for a perfect night's sleep after days out exploring.
The en suite shower room with heated towel rail.
Looking towards Dynefwr Castle from the Forge.
Dynefwr Castle in the early morning mist.
There are lots of walks directly from the Old Forge.
Dryslwyn Castle is a five minute drive away.
Dryslwyn at sunset.
The National Botanic Garden of Wales is a ten minute drive away.
The Mediterranean glasshouse is the largest single-span glasshouse in the world.
Carreg Cennen Castle is a fifteen minute drive away and is a great day out.
Looking up to the castle from the farm and cafe.
Carreg Cennen Castle.
Dylan Thomas fans will enjoy visiting Laugharne and the Boathouse and writing shed.
The 'Welsh Fans' are a stunning mountain range that make great walking- only 15 minutes away.
Carmarthenshire is well wooded and stunning in the spring.
April and May are the best time for the bluebells.
Autumn brings the glory of golden colours to the woodlands here.
Cenarth Falls and coracles in Cilgerran are a short drive away.
Head to Rhayader for the Elan Valley dams and reservoirs. Beautiful at all times of the year.
The Pembrokeshire Coast National park is only an hour away by car.
Skomer Island is a birders dream.
May, June and July the Puffins can be seen on Skomer Island off the Pembrokeshire coast.
Grey Seals can be seen around the Pembrokeshire coast all year round.
Visit September- January to see the pups.
Carew Castle in South Pembrokeshire.
St David's Cathedral in North Pembrokeshire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nitsch1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surpassed all expectations. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We had stayed in a poor hotel the night before and it was an absolute pleasure to arrive at the old forge.
The photos on their website do not do the accommodation justice. It is extremely clean, the standard of fittings and furnishings is excellent and there is entry of space in the main kitchen/lounge area. We even stayed an extra night.
I would highly recommend a stay here and well worth staying here to explore the local area.
The complementary homemade flapjacks were excellent and an indication of the level of personal care evident throughout.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
We are really pleased that you were happy here at the Forge. Thank you for your kind words and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aga m
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This cottage is a true gem!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Everything about this place is simply lovely :) 
THE COTTAGE is cosy and homely, nicely decorated and the very well equipped (especially the kitchen). THE AREA is quiet, peaceful and offers a wide range of activities for those who would like to explore Wales.
Bron and Steve (the owners) are helpful and ready to offer their advice. Moreover, Bron bakes the best flapjacks ever, so difficult to resist.
I can truly recommend the place for short or long brakes. You will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the weather
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
We are delighted that the Forge was all you wanted it to be, and hope we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Welsh accommodation, perfect spot!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I am delighted to see this rental on Trip Advisor now, we stayed there before it was on here so I'm writing my review a bit late!!! But better late then never to recommend so highly this wonderful Welsh cottage in the most beautiful location!!! The owners are just lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The cottage is beautifully done inside and had everything we needed as well as being spotless... The flap jacks were lovely too!!! It's situation is in the middle of everything enabling us to explore the whole area for a week and the owners have all the advice we needed and where to go, how to get there and what options we had for activities. We visited 2 separate coasts in 2 different directions, including Skomer Island, we saw seals and porpoise and so many beautiful walks. We went quad biking and to the local Theme park at Oakwood as well as botanical gardens, the beautiful town of Llandeilo and Narbeth among many. The cottage was a perfect retreat after our packed days....Thanks to Bron and Steve Jones the owners.... We will be back next year... Thank you... Quite a find !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable cosy cottage and its location
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
Many thanks for your review of the Old Forge. We are delighted that you were happy here and hope to welcome you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus-Die...
Neustrelitz, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ruhige Lage, Herzliche Eigentümer, Tiere vor der Haustür
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your kind words and positive review (my German is shocking so a friend of mine translated it for me). We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that the Forge was what you had hoped for. I hope we can welcome you back to this beautiful part of wales again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing