We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The old forge”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Forge

The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm. All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Forge is set in what was the old farm yard and is now surrounded by flower beds.
The Forge was once the blacksmith's forge that served the farm.
All our guests enjoy the welcome here with fresh flowers, and home made flapjacks.
The rear of the property has a secluded sun-trap garden for relaxing after a day's walking.
The living area has exposed beams into the roof space and has a double sofa-bed.
The kitchen area opens onto the rear garden.
The kitchen is contemporary and fitted with all mod-cons.
The open-plan living area retains a homely and cosy feel.
The double bedroom is super-cosy for a perfect night's sleep after days out exploring.
The en suite shower room with heated towel rail.
Looking towards Dynefwr Castle from the Forge.
Dynefwr Castle in the early morning mist.
There are lots of walks directly from the Old Forge.
Dryslwyn Castle is a five minute drive away.
Dryslwyn at sunset.
The National Botanic Garden of Wales is a ten minute drive away.
The Mediterranean glasshouse is the largest single-span glasshouse in the world.
Carreg Cennen Castle is a fifteen minute drive away and is a great day out.
Looking up to the castle from the farm and cafe.
Carreg Cennen Castle.
Dylan Thomas fans will enjoy visiting Laugharne and the Boathouse and writing shed.
The 'Welsh Fans' are a stunning mountain range that make great walking- only 15 minutes away.
Carmarthenshire is well wooded and stunning in the spring.
April and May are the best time for the bluebells.
Autumn brings the glory of golden colours to the woodlands here.
Cenarth Falls and coracles in Cilgerran are a short drive away.
Head to Rhayader for the Elan Valley dams and reservoirs. Beautiful at all times of the year.
The Pembrokeshire Coast National park is only an hour away by car.
Skomer Island is a birders dream.
May, June and July the Puffins can be seen on Skomer Island off the Pembrokeshire coast.
Grey Seals can be seen around the Pembrokeshire coast all year round.
Visit September- January to see the pups.
Carew Castle in South Pembrokeshire.
St David's Cathedral in North Pembrokeshire.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharon H
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The old forge”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Well what a wonderful beautiful place.So clean,tidy and comfortable. It was a home from home. We came for a rest and that is exactly what we got. The cottage was fully equipped with all mod cons and more. We only go to met Bron, what a lovely lady, couldn't do enough for you. We had a bad trip up. We should have arrived around 20.30, but actually arrived around 23.45. Bron text us to make sure we were OK, and she stayed up for us to arrive. The cottage was warm and there was milk in the fridge. There was also freshly made flapjacks for us. Not many people would go to that much trouble. There was information on places to eat. Our favourite was the plough. Also leaflet on places to visit. What can we say a lovely visit, a place we will definitely go back too. And we will recommend them. Points out of 10. It's a 25. Fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2017
What a lovely review Sharon: thank you so much. We are so pleased you had a good stay after such a dreadful journey. It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us and we hope we can welcome you here again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian d
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect cottage for a holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

All though you are 4-5miles away from LLandelio it self the cottage was amazing clean all mod cons inside Bron and Steve where brilliant hosts although we dealt with Bron more steve was in the back ground. You do need a car for travelling to places Tenby was a good day out at the seaside clear waters nice walks along the beach botantic gardens where good near by and a nice local farm/café for lunches where good aswell nice café in LLandelio called café brax.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Oct 2017
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, even if it was last year. I don't know why your lovely words have only just come to our attention: thank you so much for them and your recommendation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maureen N
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Old Forge was clean and comfortable particularly the bed! The furnishings were good with plenty of storage space and the kitchen well equipped, although there was no washing machine.We did find the en suite wash sink quite small, but this was a minor inconvenience .We were greeted by Bron and made to feel very welcome. The fresh flowers and delicious Flapjacks were very much appreciated. The property has gardens surrounding it which are tastefully laid out with ample room for secure parking. The location is excellent with access to amazing scenery, interesting castles and two wonderful gardens - Aberglasney and the Botanical garden of Wales. The town of Laugharne and the beach at Llansteffan are also easily accessible.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and some of the beautiful attractions the area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Forge”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A delightfully refurbished blacksmith forge. All we needed and more, the legendary flapjack , milk in the fridge, tea and coffee all ready waiting for us. Steve popped in to check all was Ok and explained how things worked. We were attending a family wedding nearby and the Old Forge was ideally located. My great find was the personalised map centred on the farm house, which was of immense help on the days we spent exploring the area ( I love maps and don't like Sat Nav).
If you want peace sand quiet and a few sheep as neighbours this is the place for you.
Bron was very helpful and easy to contact. We will be going back at some point. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home ( slightly smaller)
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and many thanks for your kind words about the Forge: the peace and quiet, maps and sheep will all be here to welcome you again in the future (and the flapjacks of course!).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TanyaB198...
Konigstein im Taunus, Germany
1 review
“Extra lovely”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I had an excellent time at the Old Forge. Spend 7 amazing days in Carmarthenshire and the Cottage was just better than expected and the best solution to get the mind free and have a peaceful time. The area is perfect as well since all the best sights and beaches in Carmarthenshire are easy to access via car. Bron's Flapjacks are definitely the best I've eaten in Britain yet :) I'd highly recommend this Cottage and am very greatful for my time over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Tanya, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, even if you did experience four seasons in one week! Glad also that the flapjacks hit the spot. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation- hopefully we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dguy1961
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a beautiful easter”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

a beautiful cottage,spotlessly clean,well equipted,comfortable bed.set in alovely quite location in the countryside.bron and steve were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble,the flapjack was very yummy.the only negative thing was that david ate all the flapjack.we will deffantetly be going back.thankyou very much for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the flapjack
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and really look forward to welcoming you back in the future. There will be flapjacks waiting for you in the cookie jar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing