We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a whirl”

The Cawdor Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Llandeilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$27
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cawdor is renowned for enthusiastic Head Chef Gavin Oram's delectable cuisine. Gavin delights in serving a mix of traditional and innovative dishes using the freshest local ingredients wherever possible.
Plummers Plain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Give it a whirl”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The food and the bar was excellent, it may look like a larger hotel that has seen better days but was very good. The staff were very helpful

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloBinners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    70
    25
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch Time at the Cawdor”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We visited The Cawdor for lunch. We decided to go to the restaurant area rather than a bar meal and it was absolutely the right choice. The food was exceptional, as good as we have had on The Queen Mary 2. The service was 1st class and we would have no reservation in recommending this restaurant to anyone that appreciates fine dining. We are looking forward to staying at the Hotel in the near future and enjoying another first class meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wednesday special.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely meal with family. Great value for a 2course special. So lucky to a quality restaurant as a local! The staff always welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

Great to get together with some of my fathers side of the family, great tasting food , ordered the fresh muscles in garlic cream and laverbread and chicken wrapped in Carmarthen ham on a risotto lovely

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Van-Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely staff and a great time”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We had a super meal here and were totally looked after by Ashlyn. We had coffee in the lounge afterwards which was so relaxing- it's a shame we could only fit in 1 visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cawdor Restaurant also viewed

Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 
Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Cawdor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing