We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spilman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spilman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best of the Best”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

i will say hands down that the Spilman has the best rooms anywhere in the area. the staff were only too happy to help,
i cannot remember who it was that served breakfast on the 6th of april, but i suggest that she be awarded employee of the year,the same goes for the receptionist that day. a joint award from me anyway!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room in the building in the outside complex, either 25 or 15 are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    151
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
179
36
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay and would stay there again,everybody we met were friendly and polite,the room was superb and the breakfast was ample, as advised the car park is very tight but we were giving great directions and had no trouble

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank adrian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great little hotel right in the centre of town with parking and free (good) WIFI throughout the hotel, what more could you need??

Easily the best in the area, and I have been travelling to this area for work for over 5 years.

Room Tip: Personally I love the annex rooms 12-15(?) could be 16, great size modern and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This our 3rd visit to the Spilman over recent years and we were not disappointed. Good location right in the middle of Carmarthen with plenty of parking although tight access - but not a problem.
Clean, comfortable room with modern en suite. Free wifi and nice private bar area. Very comfy bed and a good night's sleep followed by a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BenBrierley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lovely greeting and great help with parking the car. (I know for next time) Lovely room with tasteful decor and all mod cons. We enjoyed a peaceful nights sleep in a comfortable bed. breakfast was cooked to order and served by a charming young lady. What more could one ask for. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank E_Grumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

i did an overnight stay at this hotel and right from the time i arrived to the time i left i received excellent and personalised service. I asked for a quieter room than the one i was allocated, and without any fuss at all, i was offered a quiet location in the building. they even sent my luggage on to the station in a taxi to ensure that i didnt miss my train.breakfast was excellent - fresh and well-presented. all in all, an excellent recommendation, i would go there again.

Room Tip: the rooms in the courtyard are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Spilman a couple of nights ago and I would recommend it to anyone. The rooms were extremely comfortable, lovely comfortable bed and very tasty breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and have paid a lot more then £60. This hotel is excellent value for money and is centrally located in the town of Carmarthen.

I would recommend it to anyone that like clean rooms and friendly welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooby2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
70 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spilman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilman Hotel

Property: Spilman Hotel
Address: 36 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spilman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Hotel with 15 En-Suite rooms in a town centre location with free on site parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Spilman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilman Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing