We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for my needs”
Review of Spilman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spilman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adequate for my needs”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Was a pleasant 2 day stay , but not enough staff to cope with everyone's needs including in the restaurant , which had a waiting time ....!
An "error" also caused my credit card to be charged Twice , which I did not notice for two weeks and then had to wait for a refund ... !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWheatcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    154
    31
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
181
37
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed in the 'Executive' Double and it was a very comfy, clean, good size room with a nice bathroom, soft chairs and a mini fridge alongside the other things you expect. Service was good too. The only thing we'd have liked was if they'd made a little effort to put some fresh milk in the fridge rather than UHT tubs and fresh fruit salad at breakfast rather than, again, long-life tubs. These small changes would make a big difference as we always have tea in the morning and I have fruit with yoghurt for breakfast, as many people do. I'd rather pay an extra few pounds for the room to include these.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank debz40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good hotel, very central, clean, friendly, good breakfast. Nice rooms, but one overlooking King St was a bit noisy at night. Car park ENTRANCE is very tight for a big estate car -there are quite a few scrape marks on the walls! Overall good experience. Would use it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank steph h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Second time here after a gap of 2 years and just gets better! In a newly refurbished executive room (a suite really as there are separate lounge and bedroom) this time. Friendly & helpful staff, nicely stocked bar and very good overall design throughout the hotel. The room is furnished to a high spec with a proper mini-fridge (not a fan-operated cooler as have had in some 'boutique' hotels), 2 large flatscreen TVs (one in lounge and one in bedroom), nice soft towels and bedding, all immaculately clean & free wifi. Breakfast was very good both days with a nice selection of yoghurt, fruits and cereal and good quality bacon is very much appreciated on the fried breakfast. Would recommend to anyone staying in Carmarthen especially as it does have on-site secure parking despite being right in he middle of town. The only 2 things I can say to the negative are that we do miss the super little restaurant they used to run in the evenings but have stopped since our last stay (a real pity as the food was excellent having dined there on two separate occasions) and they aren't charging enough for such good rooms! There are many high end boutique and chain hotels out there who could learn a thing or two from the Spilman. Long may they continue and we will definitely be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Room 26 is very nice and has just been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_O_C479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is always difficult reviewing on-line, however the Spilman delivers. Although it has different annexes, all the rooms are very well appointed. I booked 5 rooms in total for colleagues and we were all impressed.
Town centre location and there is even a Wetherspoon pub opposite the car park entrance.
The car park is tight, however try reversing in, its easier than trying to turn in forwards.
Breakfast was tasty ad plentiful and the staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms are of good standard, more space in the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Bodsy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gargas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked the Spilman Hotel as a result of reading Trip Advisor reviews. Location is very good, the room we occupied was excellent, spotlessly clean and very well appointed and breakfast was perfectly acceptable. Downside, parking with a normal to large family vehicle is tortuous, and the lack of any form of public rooms or on site evening catering is a distinct disadvantage. Wifi was very good. The low score for service is quite simply because there is none apart from check in and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDGargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed 2 nights with my girlfriend. Spilman hotel ticked all the boxes. Central location, near Carmarthen train station. A big room - clean, quiet, and comfortable. Friendly staff. Tasty breakfast included in the cost of the room. Overall, very happy to have picked this hotel.

Room Tip: Room six was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
71 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spilman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilman Hotel

Property: Spilman Hotel
Address: 36 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Spilman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Hotel with 15 En-Suite rooms in a town centre location with free on site parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Spilman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilman Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing