We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet fully licensed guesthouse”
Review of Spilman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spilman Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Lovely bedrooms with fridge and cool bottled water, nice ensuite and shower. A nice relaxing nights sleep, close to a good choice of restaurants and good shopping. Just over an hour from the Fishguard ferry, handy stop before travelling or after a long journey.
Very tight entrance into car park.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Spilman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

stayed for one night break,having a night out in Carmarthen
Had a room in the courtyard superior room ,large room comfortable bed spacious room
clean.,Breakfast was good. Just outside the courtyard was a wetherspoon pub,ideal for a drink and a meal,would stay in this hotel again.Staff were very good.

Room Tip: choose a superior room well worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rober22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We haas a lovely few days at the Spilman Hotel. Comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast served by friendly and helpful staff. We had a room in the annexe which was generally quiet considering it is so close to the busy Main Street. The entrance to the car park is very tight, but I left this to my husband as we have a large estate car. No mishaps I am glad to say. My only quibble is that there should be more fresh fruit for breakfast rather than little tubs of sweetened fruit. However, the veggie breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Will definitely return. The pub next door serves excellent beer and the Ginger Indian Restaurant is one of the best I have eaten at. Be sure to book though as it gets busy at weekends especially.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheProf1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here last weekend, with my husband for one evening.

Overall it was mostly good for the following reasons:

The room was a good size, very clean with a decent sized bathroom that included a new shower and cabinet unit – very smart.

The room also contained a fridge and a complementary bottle of water – which was a godsend in the current heat.

Another thoughtful and much appreciated touch was the bedroom fan! We were very grateful for that.

There were plenty of sockets all over the room – my normal bug-bare is the fact that most hotels do not have a socket on both sides of the bed (they’re always on my husbands side J)

The bed was very comfortable – we both had an excellent  nights sleep.

Excellent wi-fi signal

Complimentary tea and coffee with full fat milk instead of semi

 

The not so good.....

The water pressure was very poor resulting in a mediocre shower in the morning.

Breakfast....I was pleased to see that it was a ‘served to table’ breakfast and not a buffet style affair but unfortunately it did not live up to expectations. There was a bit of a wait before being served but that was not a problem as there was a polite notice on the table explaining that when it is busy things can take longer. I didn’t think it was particularly busy but cooked to order food is worth waiting for, or so I thought.

We both had a cooked breakfast but I was disappointed with the quality – the sausage was tough and not very nice and everything else was just ok, apart from the mushrooms which were great.
I’ve definitely had better breakfasts. We ordered toast at the same time as our cooked meal but that never showed up. The teapot was also too small  - after I had poured mine, my husband was left with only enough for half a cup of tea.

So to sum up apart from the breakfast I think this is a cracking little hotel. Other reviews rave about the breakfast so maybe we were just unlucky, it certainly wouldn't deter us from returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed en route to Lampeter for our son's graduation ceremony. The rooms were beautifully decorated, had everything your would require. The staff were very helpful and arranged for us to have breakfast before 7am as we needed to check out by 7am. The breakfast girl was very helpful and pleasant. My son left his charger and a shirt in the hasty exit and the hotel forwarded on the items without fuss or bother. We would highly recommend this hotel and well done to all at the Spilman.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor of the annex and it was perfect
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at Spilmans. Cannot fault it. Everyone very friendly and our room was big and comfortable (room 4). Even though it was very hot, we were able to have the window open all the time, noise was not a problem. They also provided a very effective fan. While there wasn't a huge choice for breakfast, there was sufficient to ring the changes and have something different each day. If we go to Carmarthen again, would definitely return to Spilmans.

Room Tip: Ask whether the room offered is in the main building.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ladieswhodine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The hotel is well located and we enjoyed our stay there very much. The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and most helpful. We only stayed the one night as we were travelling on to see our daughter. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Helen23052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.0 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
205 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spilman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilman Hotel

Address: 36 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range: £71 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spilman Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run Hotel with 15 En-Suite rooms in a town centre location with free on site parking and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Spilman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilman Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing