We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice day out!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwili Railway

Gwili Railway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Take a step back in time at the Gwili Steam Railway, a delightful preserved railway just outside Carmarthen in West Wales. Running steam train services every day of local school holidays and selected days throughout the remainder of the year, this is the perfect trip for all ages to enjoy. Experience a typical country branch line from the 1950s with a stop off at Llwyfan Cerrig Station in a beautiful spot alongside the River Gwili.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
wales
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit last minute and we had a good time. Staff are friendly and very informative. Dogs are welcome too. Only takes about an hour to do but there is a lovely picnic area if you want to stay longer.

Helpful?
Thank tootsiegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor and for giving us such a great rating. As a volunteer run attraction, we love to see the hard work put into running the Railway being appreciated.

Although currently the track line is only 2.5 miles long, we are in the process of building an extension which will double the length of the journey which will add to the experience. Unfortunately, although we hoped that the extension would be opened by the summer, due to external factors outside of our control, the opening has been postponed. We hope to open the extension in the early part of 2015.

I hope that you and your family have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    105
    22
    10
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experiance for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

visiting family close by and we have a 3 yr old train mad! he loved it!! we arrived 5 mins before train left and still got on! not too long a trip for kids and stops twice to get out. inside the train could have done with a clean tho.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank saskiacheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor and for giving us such a great rating.

We are a volunteer run attraction and a good review like ours means a great deal to us all.

I did note that you felt the train could do with a clean. We have had a very busy season with lots of school parties and although we try to keep the train as clean as possible, it does sometimes get a little untidy. Although we have lots of bins for rubbish available and the guards sweep the trains out at the end of service each day, it is not possible to clean the trains in between runs. I am glad that this didn't spoil your visit and that the whole family had a good time.

We are now busy getting ready for Santa's Magical Steamings which run every weekend in December and every day in the week leading up to Christmas. I do hope that you and your family will be able to visit us again and enjoy the event.

Thanks again
Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Parking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We phoned the day before to book tickets for 1.20, luckily we decided to pay on the day. We were told to get there for 1oclock to make sure we had a parking space.
We waited all morning and were really looking forward to it. We arrived there just before 1oclock and drove into the very small car park to find no parking spaces and there was nobody there to advise not to go in. It would have been nice for them to at least have put a sign at the entrance saying no parking as the car park was too small to turn around and we had to reverse out onto a main road.
We were very disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank s86_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, 18 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor.
This is a new system to us and it has taken a while for us to get used to it and get responses out so please accept my apologies for the delay in getting a response to you.

We are a Heritage Railway which means we are managing 2014 demands with early 1900 facilities. That does mean that areas such as the car park are small and on occasions, it does become very full especially when we have coach parties.

I am sorry that you felt this spoiled your visit to us. During busy times, we do try to have a car park marshal to help visitors park in a considerate manner so that there is space available to as many visitors as possible. However, as we are a volunteer attraction, it is not always possible to have sufficient staff to cover all areas within the Railway and some areas are critical to keep the Railway and our guests safe. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do to relocate the entrance to the Railway, away from the road.

We are busy working on an extension to the line which will double the length of the track and there is more space available at the new station. It is hoped that there will be sufficient space to create an additional car park but as with everything, this is going to take us some time to raise funds and to build the car park.

Thanks again for the review and we hope that you will give us another chance.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

What can i say this was only the second visit to the railway and it was great. The links by public transport was wonderful with a bus direct from the train station in Carmarthen which was perfect. The non apperance of the signalman all thou some might call it a problem but the volunteers were truely professional and were just so friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor and for giving us such a great rating.

I am glad that you managed to find us as being outside of Carmarthen, getting to us can sometimes be problematical.

We are a volunteer led attraction we rely on people to give up their time. Sometimes, real life gets in the way and as we require a driver, fireman, guard and signalman to run steam trains, it is not always possible to operate when we want to. Some of our volunteers are trained and qualified in several disciplines but not all. Without a signalman, we cannot run any trains even on our short track which can be very disappointing for everyone.

I am so pleased that you found the volunteers friendly and helpful. We do try to make everyone feel welcome.
We hope to see you again soon.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

A brilliant day out for all families, visited here on a Santa magic steam ways and it was a lovely day out, the kids loved it, especially seeing the big steam train, also seeing Santa was great for them and going on a miniature train which they loved! Would definitely go again especially when the Thomas train is back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zoesdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona E, Front Office Manager at Gwili Railway, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

As a volunteer led attraction, feedback from our visitors is very important to us and gives the volunteers a much needed boost as we all work very hard.

I note that you visited us for Santa's Magical Steamings in 2013. We are currently busy getting ready for the Santa's Magical Steamings 2014.

There are changes from last year. Everything this year will be under cover as we felt that children were being disappointed when the bouncy castles had to be deflated when it rained. This year we are still having a bouncy castle but it is going to be in the main marquee so should stay drier.

We are not going to split the attraction between the main marquee and a smaller tent in the picnic area. This should stop the bottleneck on the platform and wet and muddy visitors. Not the best way to visit Santa. Everything is going to be under one very big marquee.

It was also felt that having a shop in the main marquee wasn't adding to the experience. It made the marquee feel cramped and children were overwhelmed by everything which spoiled the whole day out. We are still having magicians and balloon modelling for the children and mince pies and sherry for the adults. The shop will be open at Bronwydd Arms, which is where you join the trains.

We hope that you and your family will visit us again this year but book early. You can book online now, just visit the website and check us out on Facebook as well.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Fiona
(Volunteer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gwili Railway also viewed

Llandysul, Ceredigion
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Gwili Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing