We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carmarthen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caeiago Riding Centre
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Ive just experienced my 1st visit to the wonderful Caeiago after strong recommendations from a friend who is a regular visitor.
There is nothing negative you can say about the place.
It starts with a very warm welcome from Lesley where you are really made to feel it is a home from home. The food Lesley serves is absolutely delicious from the cooked breakfast, packed lunch, very welcome tea & homemade cake when returning from your ride to your evening meal.
The rooms are very clean and all with ensuite bathrooms with shower. A very welcome facility is also the 'bath' room for a very welcome soak of those aching muscles after a days riding.
Now for Roddy & the horses. Roddy - what a character who obviously adores his horses & who likes a bit of banter with his guests. The horses are all so well cared for and gently handled. Such well mannered, gentle & quiet horses instil confidence to even those that maybe a little nervous riding an unknown mount on unknown terrain. Roddy obviously takes time to match the rider to the horse and therefore making the most of the experience for everyone. You feel in very safe hands.
The scenery is stunning, (even in the rain) and well worth the journey to get there. Riding through forests, streams & fords is something I've never done before but hope to do again soon.
Just like all the other guests I met who have been returning for years I too intend to be a regular visitor.
Many thanks to Lesley, Roddy, Maria, Carol & Charlie for a brilliant weekend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Racmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I've just had the most wonderful weekend at Caeiago. Lesley looks after everyone so well, the food is excellent and plentiful (there is even tea/coffee and cakes when you return from a ride!) and you are made to feel so welcome. The surrounding countryside is stunning and there is easy access to many long and interesting rides, most of the route is off road but where you have to ride on the road there is very little traffic. Roddy is very careful to choose a horse suited to your ability and I felt in very safe hands. The horses are all beautiful and you can tell they are very much loved. I will definitely be making this a regular trip and the fact that 3 of the people there at the same time as me had returned again and again says everything. Thanks to everyone for making it such a special weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJT100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My first trip to Caeiago was booked on the strength of previous tripadvisor reviews, and I was not disappointed. I was made to feel one of the family from the moment I arrived til the moment I left, and even though I was the only guest for 2 of my 3 days, I was made to feel pampered and nothing was too much trouble. Les, Roddy and Charlie really intuitively understand what people want from a relaxing riding break, quickly assess your particular riding needs without making you feel judged, and then tailor your time there without you even realising. The horses were all a delight to ride, obviously love their work and were beautifully kept (as a vet, I should know!) I have come back refreshed, full of wonderful food, and with a desire to sort out my next break asap!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian_B61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As always very well looked after by Lesley, Roddy, Charlie & staff. 5* rating for accomodation, food & riding. Made to feel at home. The horses are just beautiful, with fantastic temperaments. Looking forward to next years visit! You must try it!!
Liz

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our fourth time spent with Lesley roddy and Charlie, always make us welcome, great food, excellent accommodation, horses lovely. Will def be making a fifth visit. Thank you for a fab weekend. Janice and liz

Room Tip: Every time we have stayed we have had twin rooms, which are great, no problem with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fantastic to be back at Caeiago. A bit like coming home - Lesley and Roddy are so warm and welcoming. Great to see the horses again - in their bright, airy new barn which Roddy built for them last year. They are loved and cared for like members of the family - and they are fabulous out on the rides. Very keen and responsive, but also very safe. Ride leaders Charlie and Carol took us out - and my friend Martha and I had some stunning canters through mountains and forests, got soaked in April showers, dried out in the sunshine, and arrived back to tea and cakes and then Lesley's gorgeous home-cooked dinners later in the evening. The woodpecker was back on the birdtable, with his friend the nuthatch, too. We saw red kites and heard cuckoos and skylarks out on the rides. I'd like to say something about the beautiful Welsh landscape - so green and wild and endless under the blue spring skies - but I couldn't do it justice. You have to be there, be in it, on the back of the horse - and then you'll get it! I'm missing the whole Cae Iago experience very much, and already planning to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Just got back from my 6th visit. Had lots of fun. Rides ,horses, food , accommodation and the team were all fab.

There is no better feeling when you are cantering on one of their horses.
They have a wide range of horses to suit you

If you are not happy tell them , they will help you all they can , If you are happy tell them :)


Just take your alcohol and enjoy, you won't regret it :))

Stayed: April 2014
Thank oaky5709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmarthen hotels
15.4 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
177 reviews
21.6 mi away
Baytree Cottage B&B
Baytree Cottage B&B
#1 of 2 in Cwmffrwd
38 reviews
19 mi away
Hollybrook Country Inn
Hollybrook Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bronwydd
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
483 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Old Dairy B&B
The Old Dairy B&B
#1 of 2 in Llandyfaelog
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caeiago Riding Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caeiago Riding Centre

Address: Ffarmers, Carmarthen SA19 8LZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Carmarthen
Hotel Class:4 star — Caeiago Riding Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guided adult horse riding holidays, horse riding weekends, mid-week breaks and week long holidays on the edge of the beautiful Cambrian Mountains in Wales, UK ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caeiago Riding Centre Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing