We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Found it Open.”

Kidwelly Industrial Museum
Ranked #8 of 31 things to do in Carmarthen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The site of one of Britain's oldest tinplate works Original machinery and buildings are on show along with exhibits on coal mining, other industries and crafts.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Never Found it Open.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have never been able to visit this museum, simply because whenever we have visited, it has always been closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank san_thur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The personal touch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were privileged to have a private tour of this fascinating small museum, thanks to the generosity of one of the volunteers who gave up his time on a soggy Autumn afternoon. I'd never thought much about tin and was amazed at the complexity of the manufacturing process. The museum conveys this using a combination of old video footage and static displays. The machines are huge and the whole place is atmospheric.
All members of our party, older and young enjoyed the visit. It's definitely worth a trip if you're in th area visiting the equally impressive castle.
Thanks again Malcolm!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinbram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotskerswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Fascinating place - if you like industrial archaeology!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This museum is unique. It is really well laid out and all the films and artefacts gave a real feel of what the tin industry must have been like. As a retired teacher I think it would be a great place to take children Just a shame that some of the Welsh/English signs were absent on the film buttons!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Felt like we were trespassing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

A trip out with two of our children (age 2 and 3, both boys) took us to this tucked away museum. Good car parking, nicely presented grounds and buildings, excellent signage. Good going for prams and little feet. Somewhat surprised to see only one member of staff on the whole site and the visit felt very much as though we were kids playing on an unused site. Kids (and engineer husband) a loved the locomotives gently rusting by the side of the path; given the 'Don't Touch' notices everywhere we were surprised to be allowed onto such a dilapidated object.

The Museum tells the story of the Welsh tin mining and processing industry. It does this by many displays of equipment and loads of display boards (so many of these, it became tedious). While we appreciate there is a need to keep visitors safe, there was an over abundance of notices telling us not to touch, dangerous etc. One if the largest display areas was cordoned off so we only saw half of the space.

The ticket office (well, it's free entry) looks like one of those wooden temporary classrooms. It says it is a cafe but, apart from the few tables, I didn't see anything else cafe-esque.

Overall, if you fancy a trip lasting a couple of hours largely in the open air it is nice place. Much more could be done to encourage an emotional response to the story. It is a very passive experience. Only the disabled toilet was open for use.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RevNicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne Minster, Dorset
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Tucked away down a narrow lane at the back of Kidwelly is this industrial museum, sited on the second oldest tinplate works in the world.

It's obvious that a lot of time and effort has been put into explaining the history of the tinplate industry, with very interesting archive film (in both English and Welsh) showing what it was like to work there. The machines, tools and other artefacts give a real sense of "place". There are also couple of locomotives, one steam the other diesel, positioned around the site. One is able to wander freely inside the various buildings, as well as the cabs of the engines.

When we initially arrived we missed the car park and drove round the actual site. This was because the carpark was completely empty and we were the only visitors.The attendant in the entrance building, however, was very friendly, chatty and helpful. This aspect can make or mar a visit to a place such as this.

My wife and I really enjoyed looking around, though my teenage daughters were much less enthusiastic - it was their second museum of the day.

The bookshop had a few items; I bought a book on the history of South Wales tinplate. There didn't appear to be a guide of the actual site though. Entrance is free - there is no pressure to make a donation but I wanted to as in a way I felt sorry for the place.

We were visiting in the middle of the peak tourist season. Though the attendant said there had been visitors earlier and some other arrived after us, this museum really needs to be better promoted. It also saddened me to hear that they'd not had many school visits that year either.

So a hidden gem well worth a visit. It's worth checking their website for opening times as they aren't open every day, even in the high season.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterKazmierczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kidwelly Industrial Museum also viewed

Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Kidwelly Industrial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing