We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and good value”
Review of Boar's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boar's Head Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good value”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The welcome we received made us feel special. The staff offered to carry our cases to the room and told us everything we needed to know.
The room was not large but adequate. (It took me a minute to find the bathroom light switch as it was over by the bedroom door)
The hotel was tastefully decorated and full of character. The bar was used by locals too.
Located in the middle of town meant some night noise but we had to have the secondary glazed windows open as it was a hot simmer's night. Maybe pick a room that isn't at the front.
The evening meal was a delight - the sizzling meat feast was an experience in itself!
Although the price was amazing is was, overall, the staff that made our stay exceptional.

Room Tip: The room at the front was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Equibod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    47
    33
    34
    37
See reviews for
29
69
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

While on holiday we visited this lovely hotel for lunch. The carvery was cooked perfectly. I had a little of everything for main course. We each had a different dessert and no complaints. Price was fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Spent one night at this hotel. The building is very old and has creaking floors and other quirks you would expect to find. In fact it just adds to the charactor of the place. The room was small but of adequate size, it was clean and the bed comfortable. Could do with a lick of paint in places but don't let that put you off. The staff vere very friendly and attentive, were made to feel very welcome. Also the food was great and very good value for money. The driveway to the carpark is narrow but the staff take a transit through it. All this and slap in the town centre. We will be back.

Room Tip: Probably all a bit quirky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Characterful old coaching inn with a reasonable room (given the limitations of the building) with a comfortable bed, decent bathroom, TV and hot drink facility. The narrow entrance to the car park will challenge some drivers of larger cars! Some improvements do need to be made re: customer service however. We were 'sat' in the back room of the restaurant for supper (having asked to be in the adjoining room with windows. We were told it was to do with breakfast settings...). Pretty galling then to see two other couples allocated seats there subsequently. Breakfast didn't have everything as advertised (no yoghurt out for instance) and not everyone can eat butter (most places have marge of some variety these days). These issues are more to do with attitude than anything and could easily be resolved......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrispreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Now I live abroad I look forward to my trips home to Wales. Every year a group of friends have a night in Carmarthen/Tenby. This was our second year staying at this hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Last year excellent customer this year we had the misfortune of being check in by the owner. Who with her no can do attitude actually made me feel ashamed to be Welsh!! With out train being at 8.20 am to Tenby we did not think arranging breakfast in a hotel for 7.30 a.m. could be such hard work - but when the owner is not even prepared to make you tea and toast..... Thankfully, next door at the Rose and Crown they had a much better way of thinking and approach to customer service, only to happy to open at 7.30 a.m. and provide us with Breakfast - safe to say next you they will also get my money for a room to!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carmarthen hotels

uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

14 of us at the hotel recently for one night, we go every year and have stayed at this hotel on two occasions. My partner and I were lucky enough to stay in room 15, in a four poster bed. we he'd an evening meal which was lovely (apart from the jack Daniels sauce which is normally a sticky sauce but it was more like a salty gravy) and the full English breakfast in the morning. We visited Tenby after breakfast and called back to the hotel for a car very lunch, We don't normally do carvers but I was impressed. We also stayed at the hotel 3 years ago and we weren't disappointed then and we were not disappointed this time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mistee2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

my husband and i did not stay in hotel but went in for food .my food was ok but my husband had the pie and there was about 1 piece of meat and loads of gravy and a large slab of pastry, when asked by the young girl how the meal was i said mine was ok and my husbands was not she just said ok and walked off .thought she was going to get manager but alas did not . still had to pay £17.00 and to top it off my husband had to go elsewhere for food not very happy .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.2 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
71 reviews
8.7 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boar's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boar's Head Hotel

Property: Boar's Head Hotel
Address: 120 Lammas Street, Carmarthen SA31 3AE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boar's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Boar's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boar's Head Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing