We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I do not normally do reviews, but having stayed at the hotel for a family party, I felt that I had to comment. I have read some of the other reviews on this site and have to say (unlike some reviewers) that the alterations are simply superb. the meals are excellent in value and quality. The staff could not have been more helpful. the bedroom that I had was very clean, functional and very comfortable. It is one of the only hotels to have free parking which is another big plus. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

We would like to thank you for your review and we are glad that you had a good time and that you like the new decor, this is continuing to the bedrooms through 2014 and 2015. We hope that when you return you will see what else we have been doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Rated highly in Carmarthen apparently.

Nothing wrong with the staff, they are all very polite and the Portuguese barman is excellent.

The hotel itself is a little odd, in that there are so many styles going on its frankly ridiculous. The literature states that the place has been 'tastefully' modernised but sympathetic to the character of the building. I seriously don't agree!

The bar is something from the 80's, the surrounding lounges vary from modern to almost stately, but all within the same area. I don't get the glazed wall mounted window displays randomly placed around the hotel displaying middle aged (or old age) women's clothes for sale.

The bedroom I had obviously hadn't been renovated for a long time and the decor, whilst clean, was very boring and gives you that disappointing feeling.

Bathroom was ok, but cheap fittings and dated wall tiles dominate.

There's a few local bars within close walking distance and I'd recommend you try these as the beer in the hotel is expensive and disappointing.

From what I can see, the hotel options in Carmarthen are limited which is perhaps why this is rated so highly.

To summarise, the hotel is ok for a base but you may be disappointed with the title 'royal' ivy bush hotel. There is nothing 'royal' about it

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room, if there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terzo290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

We would like to thank you for your review and we are glad that the staff treated you well. With regard to the comments that you have made about the decor and styles within the hotel, the lower floor was refurbished in 2013 and has been done with the idea of having different areas and styles, and although not to everyone's taste has been very well received by most. The rooms are the current area we are upgrading, but 70 rooms in a very busy hotel does take quite a long time, and when you return in the future I hope you can see the hard work that has been carried out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The towels were definitely the best thing here. The room I had was pretty tired. The bedspread was faded and the upholstered back of the chair was not in it's correct place. You could see the staples holding the fabric on. I tried to slip it back in to place, but then realized it would not stay in the appropriate slot and instead fell out the back of the chair. The room was clean to look at, but the bathroom had a heavy growth of mildew in the tub grout. This was toward the shower end of the tub, so it is getting wet every day, but I think closer attention to cleaning would help. There was also mildew in the grout behind the sink and in fact a perhaps 4-inch long piece of grout totally missing. My sense is that the Head Housekeeper, the Chief of their Maintenance Department and the Hotel Manager need to do a walk thru for every room with a punch list for problems. This hotel is well-located and as others mention has great parking. It would just take some focused attention to bring it up a notch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

We would like to thank you for your review and we are very sorry that your stay did not meet with expectations. Since you review there has been a high number of hotel bedrooms redecorated and refurbished. With this being a 70 bedroom hotel this task does take quite some time, and I hope that when you return in the future you will see an improvement in the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have stayed in most hotels in Carmarthen but this one was on offer at a similar rate to the others so i thought i would give it a try. Great location with free parking, pleasant staff, clean room and good breakfast.
I would stay here again if it was at the same rate but if it goes up then i will use other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We would like to thank you for your review and We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My partner and I have just stayed in this hotel. We discovered it simpy by driving down the street when we needed accomodation for one night three days ahead. The facade and foyer were bright appealing and cheerful so we booked the room. when we arrived tired after a long journey we found the room very grubby. There was one large black stain on the carpet and several smaller ones. the radiator was of the old fashioned kind and difficult to regulate. There were two beds with different covers on each-a small problem i know but shows lack of attention to detail. the room was warm--very warm-- and there was lots of hot water in a clean bathroom with large soft clean towels. we had booked dinner and evening meal--The evening meal was very average--the duck tasted like nothing and the chicken dish came with very stoggy stuffing. The steak was fine. Again breakfast was poor with eggs that has sat overlong under heat lamps.
I have read other reviews here which are positive and there were many people about so maybe we were unlucky but our room certainly need a makeover. To finish it off there was a door beside our room leading up and uncarpeted stars with bare stone walls--creepy or what?/ if it had been going down you would have said it let to a dungeon

Room Tip: Dont take 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We were sorry to learn of your disappointment when you stayed at the Ivy Bush Royal Hotel.
We have recently completed a refurbishment programme of all the public areas, Restaurant, Bar and the exterior of the hotel . We will now concentrate & begin to refurbish the accommodation to a very high standard so that guests will enjoy an experience comparable to a 4 star hotel.
We have spoken to our Head Chef regarding your comments about dinner and he will take these on board.

In addition, we have also spoken to the Breakfast Chef and he can assure me that the cooked items were not prepared well in advance, as it is hotel policy not to do this.

The door you could see leads up to the roof and again this is in the plans for decorating.

I do hope that one day you will return to the Ivy Bush Royal Hotel and see the completed renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel very reasonable rates. Hotel is well situated for the town it was clean a little bit dated but for the price I paid no complaints. Staff very professional plenty of parking what else can you ask for! Did not have breakfast so cant comment on this. Carmarthen a great little town and well worth a visit. Would I stay again yes I would.

Room Tip: We were on ground floor think upper floors may have been modernised but not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaMcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We would like to thank you for your review and We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed in a suite which was absolutely lovely at a very reasonable price for what you got: big comfy bed, bathroom with spa bath and 'his and hers' wash basins and a separate living room. Fantastic :)
Dinner was extremely good and plentiful - you will not go hungry at the Ivy Bush! Breakfast in the room was a bit of let down but I think that may have been our fault to some extent as we ordered late and the hotel was full.
The staff here are fantastic; nothing, absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: The hotel has just completed a refurbishment programme and it appears that all the rooms are finishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 470John470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We would like to thank you for your review and We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
80 reviews
10.3 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel

Address: 11 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding a spectacular position at the gateway to the Golden West, the Ivy Bush Royal has long welcomed leisure and business guests in considerable comfort and style.Once a favoured retreat for Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised to blend its old world charm with modern facilities. There are 70 comfortably furnished bedrooms, 2 family rooms and a suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Carmarthen
Carmarthen Regal Hotel
Regal Carmarthen
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing