We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel Near the City Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel Near the City Centre”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The rooms were clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly. Hotel can be rated below Premier Inn standards but reasonable. Did not try an evening meal, which may have been a good choice as the breakfast was in hot trays, dried and poor (they must waste more money in throwing away food rather than cooking fresh). Very convenient for town and would consider staying again but only on business.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie and Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that the breakfast was not up to standard, we do get a high number of positive comments and reviews about breakfast and are sorry that it was not as good on the day you stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    140
    82
    44
    47
See reviews for
71
122
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A big sarcastic "Thank you" (er, not really) to the Ivy Bush for their treatment of parking at their car park. We've had a parking fine for time spent when my wife was an invited guest of Carmarthen Council at a business meeting in the Ivy Bush, neither Ivy Bush or the parking cowboys would budge. Think carefully before booking anywhere that is likely to allow their guests to be treated like this. We will certainly not step through the Ivy Bush doors again and would never recommend this place to anyone - unless you'd like your (wedding/christening/party) guests to be fined whilst under your invitation...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Regarding your comment about the Ivy Bush Royal Hotel car park, this course of action that we have had to implement has not been undertaken lightly and has been done purely to keep the car park free for our customers.

I can assure you that it is certainly not our intention to put any financial burden on our bona fide guests and customers and can assure you, we are making every effort possible to ensure that all guests & customers are assisted to understand and comply with the car park policy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carmarthen hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here over easter and it was an okay hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable the staff were very friendly and the food was okay, although not good enough to tempt us every evening.
Very convenient for town and would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay, we hope that you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just spent Easter at the Ivy Bush, very enjoyable experience, room clean and comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful and good food, my only criticism being that the self service breakfast was a bit hectic due to the hotel being full over the Bank Holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and and we are glad you had a good time, sorry that breakfast was a bit hectic on the bank holiday, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rooms are nice enough, breakfast pretty good. Stayed here twice and the staff are very friendly. Carmarthen itself is a good base for shopping and touring South Wales and this hotel offers good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

In Carmarthen on business, hotel couldn't be more central, suited needs perfectly. I had a good nights sleep and breakfast was more than adequate. Staff were friendly and helpful. The fact that the parking is free for hotel residents is another plus although I do feel there was a slight over kill on the number of notices warning about parking without registering your number !

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordshireChicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy you had a good stay, we do agree with you regarding the overkill on signs for the parking, but as you will see with other reviews, some people believe it is not sign posted enough. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just stayed here for one night for an important birthday party. The twin room & bathroom were spotlessly clean. The beds extremely comfortable with crisp white linen. Wifi available. Comfortable bar with a good outside seating area (for the smokers!). Breakfast is buffet style but with plenty of choice of fruit, cereals & breads. The bacon & sausage were delicious.
On the downside, our room faced the car park & was overlooked by an office building so could have done with nets or blinds on the window however the curtains really kept out the light. For £80 per night B&B-EXCELLENT value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolajacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy to hear about your stay, the rooms are being redecorated throughout 2014-15 and the issue with the lack of nets will be addressed as the rooms are done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
195 reviews
9.0 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
0.4 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel

Property: The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Address: 11 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding a spectacular position at the gateway to the Golden West, the Ivy Bush Royal has long welcomed leisure and business guests in considerable comfort and style.Once a favoured retreat for Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised to blend its old world charm with modern facilities. There are 70 comfortably furnished bedrooms, 2 family rooms and a suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Carmarthen
Carmarthen Regal Hotel
Regal Carmarthen
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing