We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Right in the middle of the town is this hotel, an oasis of calm and helpfullness. The Reception staff were very helpfull and when we wnated to extend our stay by a day, we were given very good terms for a "deal" without having to push. We had booked on a Living Social deal giving a restricted menu but this changed every night and a gluten free option was available at all times.

No issues with noise other than the refuse wagon on Thursday morning which was a bit more than I would have wished.

No issue with parking on site. Friendly and very helpful staff even when large parties were in the restaurent.

Room Tip: Room numbers in the 90s are accessed between the Bar and Reception and away from the Restaurent and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you had an enjoyable stay, we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    140
    82
    44
    47
See reviews for
71
122
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of June as I was meeting up with some old friends. The Receptionist was very friendly and helpful. We were given room 132 which had no blinds up so you either had to have the curtains drawn for privacy or make sure you were dressed at all times. There was a constant humming from some sort of unit outside and as it was unbearably hot we had to keep the windows . There was a small fan provided thank goodness. We had room service the first night which was very good.
The room was tired with wallpaper coming away in places and although the beds were comfortable the bases were well worn and stained.
The next morning we went down for breakfast at 9.30 (serving at weekends until 10am) we were the only people there and the staff seemed surprised to see us. They did cook some fresh eggs and then enquired if we needed more toast as they were going to switch off the machine. At about 10.50 another couple came in ....another surprise to them and to be fair they switched it all back on but it wasn't a very comfortable experience feeling a bit in the way.
My visit there was to meet up for a school reunion and a buffet lunch had been ordered. £16.50 per head. The lunch consisted of poached salmon,smoked salmon and a roll of ham with cream cheese... If you didn't like fish you'd had it. There was plenty of salad and new potatoes and indeed they kept bringing more and more of it even though we weren't eating it. However that was it. No dessert ...not even a coffee in the price. We all felt a little ripped off to be honest.
Later on a few of us ordered teas/ coffees and a plated of cakes. Two small plates with some sliced ginger cake,fruit cake and some mini eclairs and small slices of cheesecake cost us £10. I'm 99% sure it was all bought in as well.
Disappointed is probably how I would describe my feelings about it. It's convenient and has been in business for a long time but so much could be improved about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that you left feeling disappointed. With a hotel of this size there has to be vents and fans and machinery on the outside of the building. It was very hot outside in June and we are sorry this meant you had to keep your window open. With regards to the buffet that you had, the choices and price would have been arranged and agreed by one of your guest prior to the event. we have a pastry chef in the hotel and the majority of cakes and desserts are made in-house and we are very proud of this, as we do get very good comments on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was unlucky enough to have room 146 for 4 nights starting 12th june as a single the room was okay but for the two large aircon units right under the window which only cool reception and they are very loud in the room on top of that on the Saturday night there was a wedding party in the function room right underneath me which went on till midnight the music was terrible my floor was shaking and my bed sleep was imposible the night manager said yes the band is right under you to which I said I did not think they should have put anyone in that room he was sorry but not really helpful so I had to endure it the food was fine in parts but awfull in others so all in al would not stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review, unfortunately sometimes due to the amount of business that the hotel is doing, the single use rooms above the function room have to be used to non-event guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carmarthen hotels

Oswestry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were at the Ivy Bush Royal this weekend June 14 2014 for our sons wedding. From first arriving at reception, we were made so welcome, the staff in this Hotel were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble there attention to detail for the wedding reception made our day topped off next morning by a fabulous buffet breakfast thankyou all at the hollybush.
David and Madeline Hull

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 444madelinehfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that your sons wedding was such a success, we hope all your guests had a great time too, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Although the family room we stayed in was spacious and clean we did not enjoy our stay here. The double bed in the room was very small and my husbands feet were hanging over the bottom.
The food was absolutely terrible and service was also poor.
Will not be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay or the food, since your review we have a new team in the kitchen and I hope that should you return you will see an improvement. With regards the bed in the family rooms they are standard double beds which are slightly narrower than a king size but they are the same length.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We received a warm welcome on arrival and immediately registered our car on a touch screen computer. There is a very small but reliable lift. Our bedroom was large and very comfortable and everything looked new and clean. The bathroom was large with bath and small shower cubicle. We had a nice evening meal in the restaurant but it took a while for the waiter to understand that we wanted to see the a la carte menu! The waiters were not very knowledgable being unable to name the cheeses and wanting to bring an ice bucket for the red wine! Breakfast was ok. The hotel is in a good location for walking into the town which had more major retailers than I expected - M & S, BHS, Debenhams, Next - but also lots of small independent shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenF53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you had a good time, I am sorry for the confusion with the waiter, but we do have an ongoing training plan with all the staff, so when you return, it wont happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Good to use as a short distance from Cardiff. Very welcoming, food lovely and good service throughout. Afternoon tea including in our offer as was evening meal. Hotel is dog friendly and all staff very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we hope that when you return to the area you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
195 reviews
9.0 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
0.4 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel

Property: The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Address: 11 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding a spectacular position at the gateway to the Golden West, the Ivy Bush Royal has long welcomed leisure and business guests in considerable comfort and style.Once a favoured retreat for Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised to blend its old world charm with modern facilities. There are 70 comfortably furnished bedrooms, 2 family rooms and a suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Carmarthen
Carmarthen Regal Hotel
Regal Carmarthen
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing