We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes a good base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Makes a good base”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed last weekend a The Ivy Bush. Very pleasant hotel, plenty of parking and near to the centre of Carmarthen. have stayed there several times over the passed six years and have always come away happy with the experience. nice rooms, comfortable lounge and restaurant, and friendly staff. ideal base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    143
    85
    44
    47
See reviews for
72
126
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Planet Earth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This place is nothing amazing. The restaurant is new but the dated tables let them down. The food is cheap but the quality isn't amazing. Not bad service. If you don't like dated this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Get_Stuffed_Pizza_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that you felt the way you did, the décor and furniture was all new around 12-18 months ago, and has been very well received by most people, but as with everything its not to everyone's taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at the ivy bush royal hotel, we had an amazing 3 course meal of excellent quality and not over priced, and I have to say their home made ice cream was second to none, also the staff were very friendly and helpful. Cant wait to return P&H Llanelli

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your meal, and yes the ice cream is very nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having been left by my Husband to have a drink on my own while he went off to see the Specialist I felt very much "at home" reading and enjoying people watching until he returned. He returned and we had coffee and then decided as we felt so comfortable there, we would have lunch which was very good, served with a smile, priced reasonable. Lots going on there, every member of Staff very pleasant and helpful. I felt very much at ease and we will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased that we could be of service to you, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our coach party were welcomed here on the second leg of our Grand Coastal Tour of Wales.. My wife and I had a comfortable room on the first floor, comfortable beds, flat screen TV and good tea-making facilities. Spacious, clean bathroom and an easy to use shower system. A small criticism is that the opening window of the bedroom was so balanced that it swung wide upwards, however with a little ingenuity it was made adjustable by using a strap from a shoulder bag! There were no blinds and the main curtains had to be used to shield any unwanted gaze from the street. Evening meal had a good choice of starters, main course and dessert. Breakfast also had a varied choice for full Welsh breakfast and Continental breakfast should you require it. The toast maker caused a few problems occasionally, but I think it may have been due to misuse. The staff were always helpful and efficient . . . and my wife thought the Harry Potter look-a-like was a real star ! It was a real pleasure to stay at this hotel, having suffered a bad experience with another hotel earlier. This hotel is 3-Star PLUS !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here over the weekend as it was only 30 minutes away from the Eisteddfod in Llanelli. The hotel receptionist was friendly and helpful as was the kind bar man.
However most of the waiting on staff were miserable and didn't even ask if I or my partner had finished our food before taking our plates. A smile really does go along way!
The evening meal however was gorgeous!

Breakfast was edible. There was a variety of choice; cooked, cereal, fruit or pastries.
The plates for the cooked breakfast however were cold.

The rooms themselves were nice and clean. The beds were comfy and the water was hot enough to have a bath. The shower could have been more powerful. My only big criticism about the rooms is that the walls are thin so we could hear drunken men making noise outside our room. There is also no net curtains meaning you have to be sure you are dressed all the time or that you have the curtains closed, esp if your room is facing a busy pub.

The carpark is spacious and free of charge, all that needs to be done is to entre you reg number at the reception or at the bar. Be warned though, the car reg screen asks how many days your staying and not nights i.e. 2 nights means 3 days.

All in all a decent hotel to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we are sorry there were a couple of hiccups, and when you return we hope you will see that these have been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night and the location is great. Staff very friendly, rooms spotless, really comfy bed and very peacefull nights sleep. Breakfast is superb, fresh fruit n youghurt, pastries, fully cooked brekky, Well recommended and ample parking.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivy B, Front Office Manager at The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you had a good time, we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Carmarthen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmarthen
0.0 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rose and Crown Hotel
Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 7 in Carmarthen
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boar's Head Hotel
Boar's Head Hotel
#6 of 7 in Carmarthen
195 reviews
9.0 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
0.4 mi away
The Drovers Arms Hotel
The Drovers Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Carmarthen
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel

Property: The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
Address: 11 Spilman Street, Carmarthen SA31 1LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmarthen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commanding a spectacular position at the gateway to the Golden West, the Ivy Bush Royal has long welcomed leisure and business guests in considerable comfort and style.Once a favoured retreat for Lord Nelson and Lady Hamilton, the hotel has been sympathetically modernised to blend its old world charm with modern facilities. There are 70 comfortably furnished bedrooms, 2 family rooms and a suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Carmarthen
Carmarthen Regal Hotel
Regal Carmarthen
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing