We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at the Royal Hotel a few months back with my boyfriend as we were going out to one of the local bar and we are not from the area. Driving up to the hotel we were disappointed with the initial appearance but one we entered the hotel and got our room we were happy enough, I have to say the service we received from the staff was fantastic, especially the lovely lady that served us at breakfast! Second plus point on the hotel is the bar which served us a really good evening meal, it was delicious. Ok the hotel décor itself could do with a make over, however for the amount we paid I can not complain. I am not easily impressed when it comes to food or service but top marks on both with this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Open_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

The hotel is well situated in Cookstown with amenities near by. It has dated interior with the room I stayed in very small. Price of the room directly from the hotel was £50 cheaper than from booking.com. Room allocated was a twin room, as the booking was made for a double I enquired for a change however the hotel was full. Being told up front would have been a better customer focused service. Rooms were clean but with the dated interior it didn't seem like it. A decent hotel, slightly over priced when comparing quality and standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

When I decided to eat dinner in The Royal Hotel's bar when staying in Cookstown recently, I ordered the "Royal Mixed Grill" (with a side of chilli diced potatoes) that was on the menu and, when it all came, it was all more than I could eat. The platter included steak, chicken fillet, pork chop, liver, lamb cutlet, two sausages, two bacon, tomato, fried egg, peas and and French-fried onions. While the diced potatoes were very good, I barely ate any of them, opting to concentrate on the meat instead, which I was barely able to finish. This was easily one of the best meals I've ever had in my travels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sanquhar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just stayed one night. The room had to be the smallest I ever stayed in but the thing that really sticks with me is that after a late day at the office we arrived at the hotel at 11.30pm to find the place in total darkness. never again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We opted for a superior double with a king size bed and were very satisfied with it.

Nice room with a good bathroom and a powerful shower.

Staff in bar were great for our evening meal and breakfast was very good, too.

Room Tip: Apparently the superior rooms are ones that have been refurbished and all will be done in time. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Very friendly welcome by Receptionist. Good range of drinks served by attentive bar staff. Food in Bar Lounge is well presented and plentiful. Didn't eat at night in the Restaurant, but nice wholesome breakfast. There was music on but did not disturb in the bedroom. Rooms could maybe do with a bit of a freshening up, bed was comfortable, but the room was very warm and room was facing the road, so couldn't leave the window open. Had a good powerful shower in the bathroom. Nice beer garden with open and shaded areas. For disabled there is a chairlift if required.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teddybear731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

have just got back from this lovely family run hotel in cookstown where i spent the weekend with two friends. we stayed in room 12 which was a family room 1 double and 2 singles which were through an ajoining door. the rooms were clean and the beds lovely, the decor may have been a bit dated but everything was spotless and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. the breakfast was amazing well cooked, well presented and lots of it. we had dinner in the hotel on the saturday night and it to was delish .. the bar had a live band on the saturday night and there was also a disco in another part of the hotel. the disco finished about 1 or 1.30 and the rest of the night was very quiet so we all slept well. difinitely a little hotel to visit if you want a bit of enterainment and fun on a saturday night and the prices are exceptionally reasonable. don't know what some people expect? it is not 4* but you are diffinitely getting a lot more than you pay for, i had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memorablemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
3.9 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
401 reviews
1.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
22.5 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
481 reviews
22.9 mi away
Corick House & Spa
Corick House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Clogher
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 64-72 Coagh Street, Cookstown BT80 8NG, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: £75 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing