We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a business conference. The rooms were of a high standard and very comfortable. The restaurant which is located down stairs offered a carvery menu and during my stair i found the food a good standard. Staff in both the reception, and restaurant were very pleasant and very much customer focused. All in all a great hotel, which i would certainly return to on a personal basis.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Biglad42,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. Needless to say we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

Looks almost like a 5 star from outside
has facilities of a 4 star (nice rooms and nice shower)
breakfast was great !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8506CarlaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear 8506CarlaP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We are delilghted that you consider our facilities higher than our star rating!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had an excellent value break at this hotel booked direct with them. Room had just been refurbished to a very high standard. One double and one single bed in room which overlooked the river. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool was one of the nicest I have seen with beautiful classical paintings around the walls. Though there was a major function at the hotel on Sat night, we could not hear any noise from it as accommodation is away from main building.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincesMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear PrincesMargaret,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind comments - I am glad you liked the pool so much, it is very popular with our guests!

We do have regular offers which are great value for money so why not join us on our Facebook page and we will keep you up to date with those!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Visited Northern Ireland for family wedding and stayed at Glenavon House Hotel. The hotel has excellent facilities including, health club and swimming pool. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother for them! Meal in the Cellar Restaurant was first class with good food, well served by friendly waiter/waitress. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was excellent value. Would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends visiting this part of Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Refurbishment of room was going ahead when we were there and although our room was to be redecorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homejames63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Homejames63,

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel recently. Thank you for your very comments and recommendation!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have been coming to this hotel 2-3 times a year for the past 7 years (along with my 4 sisters their husbands and kids). My 3 children love it here so much, every mid-term break / Easter holiday when we ask them what they want to do this is always their first choice. The hotel is very welcoming, warm, comfortable, spacious, clean and the staff are always so friendly we almost feel like family. The lesiure complex caters for all types of people if you are going to pump some iron or take a nice relaxing swim. The restuarant is great value for money and the meal is always delicous. The night life here is also pumping. Looking foward to heading here again in Easter

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Joan D,

I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable experiences in the hotel over the years.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope you continue to enjoy many more visits to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here in Febuary with a group of friends and we had a great stay. Rooms were very nice and comfortable and we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Nightclub attached to the hotel was really good!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear laz28,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in February - Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review and the very kind commments therein.

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Customer service??!!! Clearly the management have no idea what this means!!!!! Extremely bad experience on my visit to this establishment and can safely say I will never return!!!! I also will advise anyone I know to stay away!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Graciej124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Graciej,

As the Nightclub Manager has explained we have a very strict admissions policy with regard to a person who has consumed too much alcohol. Likewise he has also explained in detail the policy with regard to refunds to the pre-paid VIP area.

If you do change your mind and decide to come back, we would respectively suggest that you abide by the rules of the establishment and then you will have no cause for complaint.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
0.2 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Corick House & Spa
Corick House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Clogher
737 reviews
22 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
485 reviews
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: £117 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing