We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

On arrival on thurs 10th may i thought this looks nice. It ended there. The dark haired receptionist is the rudest person on the planet! The rooms are in need of dramatic overhall and are filthy. We had papers in our wardrobe and dirty used tissues in the drawers in the room. It was dusty and the bed was really uncomfortable. We ate there amd the food was just ok with the server having no manners. My friend ordered a taxi from the receptionist and her reaction was appalling and rude the same dark haired lady. She should not work in the hospitality industry. We will never stay here again. If you want a pleasant warm welcome don't go here until they employ a nicer receptionist. Clue is in the name "reception"

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foxymcstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Foxymcstra,

We are very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction from your Tripadvisor review given that none of your concerns were raised during your stay on Thursday 10th May.

We would have been more than happy to deal with any issues had they have been brought to our attention when you were in-house ie. when we were in a position to do something about any perceived shortcomings! We find it quite surprising that these complaints have now arisen given that during check-out the indication was that everything fine and the dark haired receptionist and her colleague enjoyed a chat admiring the various wedding outfits and offered their wishes to your family members for an enjoyable day.

Our apologies for the delay with the taxi – the receptionist was asked to book a taxi which she did whilst your friend was at the desk. According to the telephone logger, the call was placed at 22.08 and the taxi driver indicated he would be10 minutes – cctv footage shows he arrived at 22.23 - 5 minutes later than scheduled. Undoubtedly this was due to the road works near the entrance to the hotel.

Given your local connections we would have felt that any issue you may have had with your accommodation or any hotel staff could have been dealt with in a more useful manner, obviously not your preferred option for whatever reason…..

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    67
    44
    17
    21
See reviews for
100
80
6
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annalong, Co Down, N.Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here at Beginning of May 2012 for a weekend break - 2 adults & 2 kids. The family room was huge - had 4 single beds and 1 large king size bed. Room had a fridge also which came in handy. Very clean room, located near the leisure complex and overlooking a river. The hotel has a large swimming pool, steam room & sauna, the kids over 8 can use these when accompanied by an adult. There are allocated times for the kids to use the swimming pool, which is great for adults.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights and the food is a very high standard and good value for money. This was our third visit and would definately return again. Thanks Glenavon!

Room Tip: Ask for the large family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BURDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Burdy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and for all your very kind comments!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious family rooms, leisure facilities and the restaurant. I will pass your comments onto the staff who love to hear all the positive feedback resulting from their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit soon!!

Best Regards


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERRIAGHY
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a business conference. The rooms were of a high standard and very comfortable. The restaurant which is located down stairs offered a carvery menu and during my stair i found the food a good standard. Staff in both the reception, and restaurant were very pleasant and very much customer focused. All in all a great hotel, which i would certainly return to on a personal basis.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Biglad42,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. Needless to say we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Looks almost like a 5 star from outside
has facilities of a 4 star (nice rooms and nice shower)
breakfast was great !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8506CarlaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear 8506CarlaP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We are delilghted that you consider our facilities higher than our star rating!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had an excellent value break at this hotel booked direct with them. Room had just been refurbished to a very high standard. One double and one single bed in room which overlooked the river. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool was one of the nicest I have seen with beautiful classical paintings around the walls. Though there was a major function at the hotel on Sat night, we could not hear any noise from it as accommodation is away from main building.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincesMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear PrincesMargaret,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind comments - I am glad you liked the pool so much, it is very popular with our guests!

We do have regular offers which are great value for money so why not join us on our Facebook page and we will keep you up to date with those!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Visited Northern Ireland for family wedding and stayed at Glenavon House Hotel. The hotel has excellent facilities including, health club and swimming pool. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother for them! Meal in the Cellar Restaurant was first class with good food, well served by friendly waiter/waitress. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which was excellent value. Would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to friends visiting this part of Northern Ireland.

Room Tip: Refurbishment of room was going ahead when we were there and although our room was to be redecorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homejames63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Homejames63,

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel recently. Thank you for your very comments and recommendation!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have been coming to this hotel 2-3 times a year for the past 7 years (along with my 4 sisters their husbands and kids). My 3 children love it here so much, every mid-term break / Easter holiday when we ask them what they want to do this is always their first choice. The hotel is very welcoming, warm, comfortable, spacious, clean and the staff are always so friendly we almost feel like family. The lesiure complex caters for all types of people if you are going to pump some iron or take a nice relaxing swim. The restuarant is great value for money and the meal is always delicous. The night life here is also pumping. Looking foward to heading here again in Easter

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Joan D,

I am delighted to hear of your enjoyable experiences in the hotel over the years.

Thank you for your kind comments and I hope you continue to enjoy many more visits to the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,057 reviews
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
11.1 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Property: Glenavon House Hotel
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing