We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, will be back!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We arrived at the hotel on the 25th May and stayed for two nights. We had booked two triple rooms and a double room as we were 8 girls away for a birthday weekend. The receptionist on check in was brill, really welcoming and informed us of all the times for breakfast, dinner, the bar snack menu and the leisure facilities. Our rooms were massive!!! One of the triple rooms slept 6 people so we were so happy as we had stayed in other hotels and the rooms were so small!!! The bathrooms were big aswell we had a corner bath and a shower in our bathrooms. There was always hot water and as three of us had to get showered around the same time this was brill as we have also stayed in hotels that by the time the last person was getting showered the water was cold. The shower was really powerful aswell which was fantastic. On the friday evening we wanted to go to a bar in cookstown and the receptionist phoned a taxi and sorted out a bar for us to go to as we were not familiar with the area. The receptionist seen us all leaving on the saturday afternoon and asked what we were doing today and want to know if we needed directions to get there which was really attentive. The meal on the saturday night was delicious. Seven of us had steak and the flovour was amazing really good meal and service in the bar was really good they couldn't have done anymore for us. We went to Sence nightclub on the saturday night and it was fab, V.I.P worth the money, the table service was a nice touch as we didn't have to wait at the bar for drinks and the waitresses were really quick. On Sunday we checked out in dribs and drabs and the ladies on the reception desk did not rush us out of the rooms at all which we have experienced at other hotels. All in all we all had a fab time and two of the girls are coming back with their husbands and kids. We will be back for sure as it was by far one of the best weekends we have ever had!!!! I would tell anyone to go if they are looking nice food nice rooms and brill staff!!!!

Room Tip: 108 slept 6 people and the decor was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear ShellyH,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. Your comments were very kind and the staff are always delighted when their hard work is acknowledged positively!

We will welcome with open arms guests like your party who were a pleasure to work with!

Best Regards


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have to agree with several of the reviews made about this hotel and with regard to the hotel staff who were not welcoming at all during check in- extremely poor customer service on arrival!!!
I accept that yes hen parties can be loud and noisy which is why we were allocated rooms all beside one another- which was great and the rooms were satisfactory. We were all hungry so went to the restaurant for food, unpacked a few of our items and went down stairs!!Food was ok-menu was limited but our waitress was great I have to say.
As a hen party we did take alcohol with us to enjoy in our rooms as I do when I go away with my partner which has never been a problem, however we were not made aware of this before we arrived. Had we known this we obviously would not have taken the alcohol with us if we knew it was going to be taken/stolen from our room. Whilst at dinner- some persons entered our rooms and took all of the alcohol from each of the rooms!!!!We were informed that staff were allowed to enter the rooms, however we had not consumed the alcohol on their premises at all!!!!!
Seeking advice from a solicitor there are several legitimate reasons when hotel staff can enter rooms:

• To stop you from disturbing other guests or from destroying hotel property;
• To carry out housekeeping duties; or
• To perform necessary maintenance

Where we targeted as we were a hen party-???Yes I think so!! I would understand if we were rowdy and out of order but we had all paid upfront and left our credit card details and obviously as a hen party some noise was to be expected but we were all on one floor and not near anyone else to disturb them.
The drink was returned to some members of our party the next morning, but some of the seals had been broken and therefore the staff could not return the alcohol. Never in my life have I had anyone enter my hotel room without MY PERMISSION!!!!!! We all should have been informed and being able to witness the hotel stuff going through our possessions- after all we paid it was our property- no one had the right to touch it without informing us!!Thankfully it was only the alcohol that was taken, but I had my bag with camera and my clothes on display. I felt that this was a total invasion of my privacy and no one has the right to do this- as part of the Human rights legislation. Completely and utterly out of order!!! the thing that annoys me most is that the staff were not apologetic- had they asked if we had alcohol and came and knocked our doors- as you expect in a hotel of this standard then we would have gladly not consumed the alcohol on their premises and let them take it as we were not aware of their policy,- I have been and stayed in many hotels and enjoy a drink in my room as after all I paid it, they had no right whatsoever to enter without our permission. There was another hen party and there rooms were not searched and they had plenty of drink as well as the male group staying at the end of our corridor- so they broke your policy as well- thankfully they didn’t ruin two nights!!!
I have been to several weddings in the Glenavon and had always had a great time but unfortunately this was night was not the same as we felt we had been the target of prejudice just because we were a hen party! Had I went here as a couple I don't think this would have happened.
Really disappointing- Service with a smile :) does not happen here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank goldiefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Goldiefox,

When your party’s booking was made on January 16th, a booking confirmation letter was posted to the person at the address given. It was confirmed on Saturday that this was the correct address. A copy of this letter was retained by the hotel for their records. A photocopy of this letter was given to you by the receptionist on Sunday

The house keeper does a final check of all rooms before she goes off duty – this is to ensure all guests have everything they need. During this check she found the following:

18 x 1 litre bottles of Bacardi Breezer, various flavours.
70 cl bottle of Bacardi
2 x 70cl bottles of wine
½ bottle of Gin
3 x 70cl bottles of Cactus Jack
1 x 70cl of Vodka
1 x 50cl of Vodka.
6 x 300ml Bacardi Breezers.

As this contravenes the hotels policy as outlined in the booking confirmation letter-:

“ Alcohol - Please note that only food and drink purchased on the premises can be consumed on the premises. Confiscation of items not purchased on the premises will occur for anyone who chooses to ignore this policy”
She placed the bottles in plastic bags and brought them to reception where they remained on a shelf until the following morning.
All of the above drink with the exception of the 50cl & 70cl Vodka, 70cl Bacardi, 2 x 1litre Bacardi breezers and 2 x 70cl cactus jack were returned. All of the bottles returned were full. Whether the seal was intact or broken has nothing to do with us – the drink was carried down in plastic bags and handed over from the same plastic bags.

I have to say I am amazed that you feel it is even acceptable to carry this amount of drink into a business which is here to provide amongst its many services, drink! Would you bring a meal purchased elsewhere into a restaurant?

Despite receiving in the region of 10 emails from 2 members of your party, this is the first time anyone has complained about the receptionists on check in – it was only ever in-house after post confiscation of drink and check out which had been flagged as a cause for concern prior to this review!

I have worked with all the receptionists involved for several years now and I can assure you that I have no concerns over their ability to deliver high standards of Customer service. Nor have I any doubt that their ability to deal with rude, awkward customers is second to none.

If you do change your mind and decide to come back could I suggest that when you return you abide by the rules of the hotel and nightclub and then you will have no cause for complaint.

Yours faithfully,

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

On arrival on thurs 10th may i thought this looks nice. It ended there. The dark haired receptionist is the rudest person on the planet! The rooms are in need of dramatic overhall and are filthy. We had papers in our wardrobe and dirty used tissues in the drawers in the room. It was dusty and the bed was really uncomfortable. We ate there amd the food was just ok with the server having no manners. My friend ordered a taxi from the receptionist and her reaction was appalling and rude the same dark haired lady. She should not work in the hospitality industry. We will never stay here again. If you want a pleasant warm welcome don't go here until they employ a nicer receptionist. Clue is in the name "reception"

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foxymcstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear Foxymcstra,

We are very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction from your Tripadvisor review given that none of your concerns were raised during your stay on Thursday 10th May.

We would have been more than happy to deal with any issues had they have been brought to our attention when you were in-house ie. when we were in a position to do something about any perceived shortcomings! We find it quite surprising that these complaints have now arisen given that during check-out the indication was that everything fine and the dark haired receptionist and her colleague enjoyed a chat admiring the various wedding outfits and offered their wishes to your family members for an enjoyable day.

Our apologies for the delay with the taxi – the receptionist was asked to book a taxi which she did whilst your friend was at the desk. According to the telephone logger, the call was placed at 22.08 and the taxi driver indicated he would be10 minutes – cctv footage shows he arrived at 22.23 - 5 minutes later than scheduled. Undoubtedly this was due to the road works near the entrance to the hotel.

Given your local connections we would have felt that any issue you may have had with your accommodation or any hotel staff could have been dealt with in a more useful manner, obviously not your preferred option for whatever reason…..

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson
Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed here at Beginning of May 2012 for a weekend break - 2 adults & 2 kids. The family room was huge - had 4 single beds and 1 large king size bed. Room had a fridge also which came in handy. Very clean room, located near the leisure complex and overlooking a river. The hotel has a large swimming pool, steam room & sauna, the kids over 8 can use these when accompanied by an adult. There are allocated times for the kids to use the swimming pool, which is great for adults.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on both nights and the food is a very high standard and good value for money. This was our third visit and would definately return again. Thanks Glenavon!

Room Tip: Ask for the large family room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BURDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Burdy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel and for all your very kind comments!!

We are delighted that you enjoyed the spacious family rooms, leisure facilities and the restaurant. I will pass your comments onto the staff who love to hear all the positive feedback resulting from their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 4th visit soon!!

Best Regards


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of a business conference. The rooms were of a high standard and very comfortable. The restaurant which is located down stairs offered a carvery menu and during my stair i found the food a good standard. Staff in both the reception, and restaurant were very pleasant and very much customer focused. All in all a great hotel, which i would certainly return to on a personal basis.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Biglad42,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments and taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. Needless to say we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards


Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Looks almost like a 5 star from outside
has facilities of a 4 star (nice rooms and nice shower)
breakfast was great !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8506CarlaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear 8506CarlaP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. We are delilghted that you consider our facilities higher than our star rating!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Had an excellent value break at this hotel booked direct with them. Room had just been refurbished to a very high standard. One double and one single bed in room which overlooked the river. Staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool was one of the nicest I have seen with beautiful classical paintings around the walls. Though there was a major function at the hotel on Sat night, we could not hear any noise from it as accommodation is away from main building.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrincesMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear PrincesMargaret,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for your very kind comments - I am glad you liked the pool so much, it is very popular with our guests!

We do have regular offers which are great value for money so why not join us on our Facebook page and we will keep you up to date with those!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
32 reviews
22.0 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
476 reviews
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range: £118 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing