We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gathering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gathering”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We met today--a group of 12 retired teachers and had a lovely carvery lunch The service and quality of food was fantastic. The staff were so attentive and no one hurried us out of the cellar after we ate. They even carried us more tea and coffee. The price was very reasonable and the visitors among us could not get over the attention to detail. Great spot

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moke09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Moke09,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit - we were delighted to hear that you and your friends had such an enjoyable afternoon and that you were very happy with both the food and the service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    67
    44
    17
    21
See reviews for
100
80
6
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in the Glenavon hotel with 6 friends for my friends hen do just last wkend. Had such a brilliant time and we got such a great deal! The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and were always willing to help in anyway they could. We had an evening meal in the hotel on the friday & saturday night, both nights the food was lovely and service was reasonably quick even though there was a wedding party on at the sametime! The hotel rooms were basic enough but for the price we paid there were very good. There is also a jacuzzi, swimming pool, steam room and sauna which you can go and relax in which was amazing. Had the place to ourselves which was great! We had a cocktail lesson in Sense night club on the saturday night which was brill crack! Then we were in the VIP V suite in sense afterwards to club in which was very good also. Could not fault the place tbh and would definitely recommend it for a wee wkend break away. I will definitely be returning in the near future!!

Ps: We always met May McFetridge who was staying in there on the Friday night and got a few pics with him/her lol. Was good fun!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie-C88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Sadie-C88

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with your friends for a hen do - I have to say the photos look great and you all certainly looked as if you enjoyed yourselves including Mae!

Sometimes out guests don't have time to experience all that is on offer - The 2 night stay was ideal as it gave you a chance to enjoy the Leisure facilities as well as the Cocktail class before Sense.

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My second visit to the Glenavon hotel in 3 months and I must say that I have noticed a reduction in the care and attention given to guests by the dining staff, particularly at the morning breakfast. Rather than the staff meeting and greeting people coming into the dining room,you are left standing there until you give up waiting and make your own way to a table. When you sit there, don't expect anyone to come to you anytime soon, in fact, I had to go and ask for a coffee after 5 minutes unattended. There was no hot counter for breakfast, instead, you has to pre-order and wait for it to be cooked. This is useless for people who need to be in and out of the breakfast room quickly, in fact, I witnessed some people who we're waiting over 10 minutes for scrambled eggs and toast leave before getting them, I was one of those people. Most surprisingly of all, there were staff eating their own breakfast while waiting for customer orders to be handed out of the kitchen.

Room Tip: Only the newer rooms are value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Dotzi,

I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction of the breakfast service you received during your stay last week.

I can assure you, having identified the staff on duty, I will be taking up the matters you raised regarding shortage of staff available for service directly with them.

In support of the buffet service v table service -: we can only use the buffet for service when we have a quick turnover of food, that is when there are sufficient number of residents coming down to the restaurant around the same time. This allows us to refresh the food regularly otherwise it is impossible to maintain the quality of food. I appreciate that table service is a little slower than buffet service however food quality is not then compromised. It can be a difficult balancing act.

What I can definitely say is that scrambled egg can never be held on the buffet as the eggs turn a grey / blue colour ( something to do with sulfates! ) so even had the buffet been available there would always be a wait for fresh scrambled eggs to be cooked. We are unaware of any complaints from other residents or of anyone leaving before they got their breakfast that morning. I have however asked the receptionists to get in touch with all our residents that morning to clarify.

I notice that your tip was to request one of the newer rooms – if you request on booking we will always try to allocate one of the larger family rooms if they are available.

Please accept my apologies for any shortcomings during your most recent stay and I trust that any subsequent visit to the hotel will have a more satisfactory outcome with regards to breakfast service. Thank you for taking the time to draw this matter to my attention.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a hen party group and i can honestly say it was amazing. The rooms were lovely, big bathrooms. The only criticism is that the fan in the bathroom was incredibly loud. We had dinner in the cellar restaurant and the food was fantastic, there wasnt a single complaint on the food in the whole group of 25. And the service was top class.
We all used the spa at some point during our stay, it was a very relaxing atmosphere, excellent facilities and very clean.

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyH29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear MandyH29,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay - we were all delighted with your very kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had our wedding reception in the Glenavon on Saturday 26th April. From start to finish the service was first class. At all times James was very reassuring and accommodating! The hotel staff had prepared the room wonderfully. The food and service was excellent, I would strongly recommend the chocolate cake for dessert. Many people complimented us on how great the food was and that the bar drinks were very reasonably priced! The bedrooms were also very clean and comfortable. Thanks again to James and all the staff at Glenavon for making our wedding reception just perfect! See you again soon. Siobhan & Terence

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Siobhan s

Thank you for your very kind comments after your recent wedding - we are delighted that we met every single one of yours and Terence's expectation and that you had a "perfect" wedding day!

James and all the staff are particularly delighted that you highlighted them for praise for the various roles they played. It is really nice when everyone is recognised in such a complimentary fashion as well as the acknowledgement of the food, banqueting suite and bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the Glenavon for your 1st anniversary meal ( if not before ! ) and wish you many more happy times in the future.

Kind regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Attended masquerade ball..
Normally with big functions the meal can be a hit or miss..this to date has been the best..
Beautiful red pepper soup with dif breads.. Main course of chicken was so moist & dessert unreal..
You just couldn't find fault.. The staff & management where 100% on the ball.. A big congrats to them.. Any wonder it's so popular for weddings..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nailparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear NailParlour,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. We were all delighted to learn that you had a very enjoyable experience both in terms of food & service.

I have to say it was a very enjoyable evening to work - it's always nice to do something a wee bit different and the style and masks were fabulous!

Many thanks once again for your kind comments

Best regards



Paula Wilson




Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst on business. I only wanted a good night's sleep and internet access. Unfortunately I didn't get either. The mattress was soggy and the extremely complicated internet connection took an hour to upload successfully then kept tripping out. On the upside the room was clean, the reception staff polite and the restaurant staff exceptional. The steam room and sauna were excellent, however the Jacuzzi was extremely vigorous. The food was of a reasonable quality and if you are a committed carnivore then this is the place for you. I struggled to find much to eat on the evening menu that did not contain meat, fish or dairy. Breakfast is an open buffet, with a range of hot and cold items - again heavy on the animal origin. Also, be prepared for a bit of a trek as the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairScunnered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Manager at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear FairScunnered

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay - we were pleased that on most points you were happy with your stay.

I was disappointed to learn that your mattress was uncomfortable - whilst I do appreciate that each person will have their own preferences in this regard, we buy very good quality Sealy Posture-pedic mattresses in an effort to offer a quality product and it is disappointing to learn that you do not get a comfortable nights sleep.

We have been in touch with our Internet access providers BitBuzz in an effort to have the return log in simplified at least for returning customers and this is due to go live at the end of this month. In the meantime our receptionists can always help with any technical problems you may be having with log in.

Although the menu is very much geared to catering for the majority of our customers, we do cater for guests' with various dietary requirements including vegetarian and coeliac. I appreciate that the layout of the hotel is unusual and to someone not familiar with it, it may indeed appear like a rabbit warren!

It was great to hear the very many positive comments especially about the Leisure Centre and the staff in particular are delighted with your kind comments regarding them. We hope that you return to the hotel at sometime in the future and enjoy a comfortable nights sleep and easy internet access!

Kind regards

Paula Wilson




Jacuzzi was extremely vigorous. The food was of a reasonable quality and if you are a committed carnivore then this is the place for you. I struggled to find much to eat on the evening menu that did not contain meat, fish or dairy. Breakfast is an open buffet, with a range of hot and cold items - again heavy on the animal origin. Also, be prepared for a bit of a trek as the hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,051 reviews
13.2 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
11.1 mi away
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
Apparo Restaurant & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draperstown
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Property: Glenavon House Hotel
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing