We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2007

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding last weekend and couldn't find one fault with the place. The room for the reception was beautiful and the room I had was great, especially as it was so reasonably priced. The best thing about the hotel was its staff. They were so friendly and attentive - they really made sure that everyone had an enjoyable day and a beautiful meal. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone planning a wedding as I had such a nice time as a guest at the wedding I was just at.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Can't find a fault
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonegalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    63
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
93
68
6
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2007

Stayed in the Glenavon on the 16th - 19th March 2007. Having read some previous reviews was a bit concerned; however my concerns were unfounded.
Had a family room which had a bouble and 2 single beds, which were in an alcove and the kids even had their own T.V.
the room was very spacious and looked out onto a river.
Breakfast is a buffet of the usual but we found it superb.
Tried out the leisure centre which has a 20metre pool, etc. and found it very clean and the staff helpful; it even has its' own hair saloon.
The hotel is situated close to ASDA and only about 2 mins (by car) to the town centre.
I have already booked another weekend visit for the middle of April.

  • Liked — Room and rate
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenavonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2006

We stayed one night in the Glenavon House Hotel to attend a friends wedding on 30/09/06. We were booked into Room 4 with friends of ours in rooms 5 and 6. We were smokers but our friends weren’t and they didn’t comment on the smell of smoke in the rooms. The rooms were small, with no view (our room actually had a frosted window). The fans from the kitchens were directly outside our windows and we were above the function rooms. This didn’t bother us at all as we were partying until the small hours and then collapsed into bed. The next morning it was very noisy with all the bottles being removed from the function rooms and put into the bottle banks (no consideration for people in bed).

Some other friends that were staying in the hotel got much better rooms, presuming these are in the new part. Their rooms were very spacious with lovely big bathrooms etc.

Breakfast was buffet style and very nice. If you want breakfast delivered, you have to prebook it the night before. We also had dinner there later in the day and it was very good.

If you need to change Euro to Sterling, the reception will change it for you, but charge you extra for the privilege.

All, in all not a bad hotel but have stayed in better.

  • Liked — Not a lot
  • Disliked — Small Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Request one of the larger rooms when booking.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettypink21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2006

Following our engagement we spent some time deciding where to hold our wedding reception. Having contacted many hotels and having been treated like just another pound sign it was refreshing to deal with the staff at the Glenavon hotel. Being an Irish girl living and planning a wedding from England and bringing seventy or so guests back to my home country I wanted everything to be perfect and it was! From the first time we spoke to the Glenavon to the months, weeks and days leading up to the wedding we were treated like the only couple on the planet getting married. The weekend of the wedding was superb. The Glenavon went out of their way to welcome each and every guest. The food was exellent, The drink was top class and not too pricey, there was even magners on tap. The facilities at the Glenavon from the hairdressers to the pool were second to none and were well used and raved about by all the guests at the wedding. In reflection of our time at the Glenavon the thing that stands out most for us is the way we were treated by the staff. Even though theGlenavon is a large hotel with all of the bonuses that come with that, you still feel that you are the only guests there. All of our guests both from Ireland and from England had a fantastic time, and for many of our English guests it was their first trip to Ireland but it wont be their last or their last trip to the Glenavon. I am going to stop typing now because I could rave forever. We have been left with very fond memories and cannot wait for a return visit to the Glenavon Hotel. Charlene & Ian (Harrogate, N.Yorkshire)

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank greensword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2006

We were invited to a wedding at Glenavon Hotel and to tell you the truth I wasn't looking forward to it having read the review on this website Sept 6th ( I think? )

On arrival we received a very friendly welcome, help with the kids, luggage etc.. our rooms were lovely - 2 overlooked the river and one the grounds at the front of the hotel. The rooms were first class - comfortable, clean and well appointed.

We had a meal in the restaurant the first night and attended a wedding the second day - all meals, breakfast included were first class. Staff extremely friendly, atmosphere excellent - bit smoky in bar area the first night but restaurant was completly smoke free so we stayed there!
#
The Leisure Centre is second to none that I have used for cleanliness, facilities - you can actually swim in the pool!!!

Another weekend in the spring is a cert!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

We stayed at the Glenavon hotel for three nights last week. Four of us stayed to attend a wedding on the Friday night but decided to extend the stay. When we arrived on the Thursday afternoon, we were checked-in and given our room numbers ( rooms 3 & 4). These were directly upstairs in the main building. The rooms smelled really awful - stale smoke. Went back to reception and said we had requested no smoking rooms but were told that they didn't have any. The receptionist gave us the keys to some other rooms so we could see if any smelled better than the others and we eventually found two that were "tolerable" - just! We were not offered rooms in the part of the hotel above the leisure facilities. The rooms in the main building have no views at all, even though they state in their brouchure that most of the rooms overlook the river - some of the rooms even had frosted glass in the main window. Our room overlooked the flat roof of the function room and opposite will soon be the new rooms of the extention looking directly at you! Also, the rooms are quite shabby. What they failed to tell us was that the rooms upstairs from reception are above the function rooms (especially rooms 1-9) and when the weddings were in full swing on the Friday and the Saturday nights, sleep was impossible. The disco directly under our room was finally turned off just before 2 am. It was so loud you could hear the words of the songs and people laughing and talking - like they were in your room (surely there cannot be sound-proofing). On the plus side the hotel was clean and the all staff were very good. We had a nice meal in the Cellar bar downstairs and the swimming pool, gym, etc. are very good. There is a new extension being built but there was no noise or problems caused by that and it should be lovely when it is finished. But again, they have built a function room with bedrooms directly above it! Hope the sound-proofing is better in the new bit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelfreak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
2.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
22.0 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Property: Glenavon House Hotel
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing