We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Peaceful Walk with the Family”

Drum Manor Forest Park
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, NS, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Peaceful Walk with the Family”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really enjoyed a visit here the end of July. Lots of open space, nice trails, and some unique spots - it was just a very relaxing and enjoyable time.

The old castle ruins are quite interesting and some very old, wide, large trees that we don't normally see in our home area also captivated us. There were some swans and ducks in the pond, a little waterfall along the trail, some lovely flowers and plants, other old ruins, and some tasty raspberries along the trail that were ready for picking!

After a picnic lunch, we took advantage of the open space and kicked a ball around with the children for a bit.

The washroom facilities were also quite acceptable, at the entrance to the park.

I would love to visit there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wsekem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    10
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to walk see wildlife and for dogs.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I visit this park most days with my dog and never tire of the scenery wilh all the wonderful trees and walks available. It is great for dog walking and there are plenty of walks to suit all. There is a garden and two lakes with ducks plus 1 swan. Really busy early in morning paths good but can be mucky in places there are two large car parks and toilets but no shop or cafe which is a shame. There is a tower to climb beside the house which was burnt down but not always open.
I get a yearly pass which is useful and can be used in other parks owned by the forestry. The rangers do a great job but some people do not clean up their rubbish which is a pain for everyone else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marion059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful walks with wonderful surroundings....”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I would visit drum manor once a week with family for nice walks etc... Lovely gardens and forest trails!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank marktrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A walk in the park”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely setting for a long or short walk - waymarked trails around lakes and woodland - easy walking territory.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berlingo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A great outdoor venue on the edge of town”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Travelled back to Drum Manor on a recent trip home - revisiting Sunday afternoon trips from my childhood!
Well tended grounds, great walks and still that tree by the duck pond for the kids to climb!
My only gripe is that so much more could be made of the place - the last few times I've visited, it was virtually empty, and I can see why - the tearoom and toilets are permanently locked up, there isn't even an ice cream van. The attention to the business is tipified by the fact that admission fees are now via an honsety box! I don't want Alton Towers, heaven forbid, but this place could be so much more of a draw.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave29969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drum Manor Forest Park also viewed

Cookstown, County Tyrone
Cookstown, County Tyrone
 
Cookstown, County Tyrone
Cookstown, County Tyrone
 

Been to Drum Manor Forest Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing