We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Irish welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avondale Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cookstown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avondale Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Cookstown B&B and Inns
Corby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful Irish welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just spent a lovely few days catching up with family and friends, and making new ones!. Tom and Ailsa are the best hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, and I'm still missing the breakfasts - perfectly cooked and always served with a smile. The rooms are all beautiful, plenty of space for everything, comfortable beds and 2 sitting rooms to use downstairs, perfect for us as we were a party of 6 so there was somewhere we could all sit together and chat. Tom and his brother, Jim, even played for us while we were there. Many thanks for making our stay such a happy one.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
corby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived at this lovely quaint B&B in the beautiful countryside of Cookstown, Co Tyrone to a lovely welcome from the owners Tom and Ailsa McQueen. We quickly settled in with tea and cake. The room we had was lovely with shower and loo. It was clean and welcoming, the bed was lovely and comfy. Towels changed everyday, tv and tea and coffee in room. We had a cooked breakfast everyday which was cooked beautifully by Ailsa, the eggs were from her own chickens and tasted good. Tom makes and plays the violin and when his brother Jim came to visit we were given a musical rendition which was brilliant.they couldn't do enough for us, it was just like being at home. This s a place you must visit, so peaceful and very friendly. We loved it, thank you Tom and Ailsa for letting us stop in your lovely home.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcqueenCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

A last minute booking on a rainy weekend, sadly for a funeral, but we were at once feeling at home in this special place. Tom and Ailsa look after you like family and the rooms and catering are great. We will be back in happier and sunnier times, to take better advantage of their great welcome. A comfortable improvement on the larger and more corporate local venues and close enough to the town to suit most requirements.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crumpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I spent 3 nights staying with Tom and Ailsa at the Avondale B&B, having booked for the location plus the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, and I wasn't disappointed. Talk about hospitality - what warm and lovely people they were. I went to Northern Ireland to seek out the townland my Irish ancestors came from, and Tom's knowledge of the local area was a great asset. I didn't have a car so he chauffered me around the spots I wanted to visit, and knew exactly where the townland was. B&B's can be cramped and poky but not this one - plenty of space to spread out your belongings and move around. It is set in the heart of beautiful peaceful countryside - I took a photograph of a rabbit from my bedroom window. The breakfasts were wonderful and both Tom and Ailsa were hospitable and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My family recently stayed here for 2 nights on our recent trip to Ireland. The B&B is clean, charming, and situated in the midst of some truly beautiful countryside scenery. Tom and Ailsa, the proprietors, could not have been friendlier. They were lovely people and very graciously helped my mother-in-law in her quest to find her family's history in Cookstown. They even gave us rides into town because we were without a car. And it was such a great deal! I would recommend staying here to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anana216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent a very pleasant, enjoyable night at the Avondale B&B in Sept. during our trip to Ireland. Tom and Ailsha were wonderful hosts, excellent cooks and the "best" in showing us how warm and friendly the Irish people truly are. A great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaWeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a trip to Ireland visiting relatives. Tom and Ailsa made us feel very welcome when we stayed there, leaving us to come and go as we pleased. The breakfasts were amazing and set in very comfortable surroundings. As previous posters have commented, Tom will play you a tune on one of the fiddles he made himself and even let me have a go on one even though it's many years since I played. Will definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
3.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
4.1 mi away
Kingsmills Self Catering Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondale Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondale Bed & Breakfast

Property: Avondale Bed & Breakfast
Address: 31 Killycolp Road, Cookstown BT80 8UL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avondale is located 1.5 miles from Cookstown. The facilities include patio, water-featured garden, sun lounge and 2 family rooms available consisting of a double bed, single bed, en-suite, television and tea & coffee. Nearby activities: golfing, fishing, horseriding, shopping, leisure complex and hotels. Handmade crafts available including violins - from the solid wood to Irish jig. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Avondale Bed And Breakfast
Avondale Hotel Cookstown
Avondale Bed & Breakfast Cookstown, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing