We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avondale Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hotel(Cookstown)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenvale Hotel(Cookstown)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
61
2
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
2
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb ba great place to stayquiet countrysidevisiting the arealocal knowledgehome from homeperfect hostsmany thanksstayed for nightsvisiting familythank you so muchnorthern irelandtomviolinalisatalentedmotorcycle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I am sure that not nearly enough people know about this fabulous B&B situated in the countryside just a short distance from Cookstown. It is a lovely home with Ailsa and Tom being two of the nicest people you could hope to meet. They made us feel so at home. Our room was large and comfortable with a huge bathroom which appeared to have been recently renovated to a very high standard. We so enjoyed breakfast when both Ailsa and Tom sat and chatted with us......just like family!!!!!! It is on our list of places to stay when we return to Ireland!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Everything I had reviewed was very positive so decided to book there! Absolutely loved it. You are treated like royalty! The room was excellent, comfortable bed and the breakfast was just as awesome. The location is great for exploring the western side of Northern Ireland. It is in a nice quiet area and is a great value! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turnerpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed here in September last year when over for our friends wedding, which was nearby.

Lovely friendly welcome from Ailsa and Tom. This is a clean well kept house, decor may be old fashioned for some but it is a B&B not a hotel. You are immersed farmland so no road noise. We had the en-suite family room which had a "rose" theme. The cooked breakfast was excellent, not at all greasy. We were even given a fiddle recital by Tom in the morning!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just spent a lovely few days catching up with family and friends, and making new ones!. Tom and Ailsa are the best hosts, nothing is too much trouble for them, and I'm still missing the breakfasts - perfectly cooked and always served with a smile. The rooms are all beautiful, plenty of space for everything, comfortable beds and 2 sitting rooms to use downstairs, perfect for us as we were a party of 6 so there was somewhere we could all sit together and chat. Tom and his brother, Jim, even played for us while we were there. Many thanks for making our stay such a happy one.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were lovely
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louise_cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Arrived at this lovely quaint B&B in the beautiful countryside of Cookstown, Co Tyrone to a lovely welcome from the owners Tom and Ailsa McQueen. We quickly settled in with tea and cake. The room we had was lovely with shower and loo. It was clean and welcoming, the bed was lovely and comfy. Towels changed everyday, tv and tea and coffee in room. We had a cooked breakfast everyday which was cooked beautifully by Ailsa, the eggs were from her own chickens and tasted good. Tom makes and plays the violin and when his brother Jim came to visit we were given a musical rendition which was brilliant.they couldn't do enough for us, it was just like being at home. This s a place you must visit, so peaceful and very friendly. We loved it, thank you Tom and Ailsa for letting us stop in your lovely home.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcqueenCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews