We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gluten Free 'special'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Armagh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gluten Free 'special'”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I visited the Cohannon Inn last Thursday night. I was pleasantly surprised to find amid their menu they had another gorgeous menu 'tailor made' for GLUTEN FREE customers. I have been unable to eat Gluten or Wheat since March. My husband and I eat out quite a bit and this is the first restaurant I have come across to have a SEPERATE Gluten free menu. I would like to commend the Cohannon Inn for looking after customers like me. I felt quite special. My experience at Cohannon Inn was stress free and relaxed unlike other restaurants where the table staff are unsure what you can have to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joybells31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    45
    17
    13
    12
See reviews for
32
28
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have eaten here few times and have found food to be excellent with a good choice on menu. The carvery service good selection of meats and vegetables. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good value for money

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have Now stayed hear Twice in One Month Once just Myself and my Wife and the Second time with our 2 Grown Up Sons, Wile there the Second time a Member of Staff Requested that we Remove the Unflattering but Truthfull Review that we had Written about our First Stay so we Did so now this Updated Review Cover Both Stays, On our First Stay a Member of Staff kept on Parking her own Car in a Guests Parking Space even to the Point of Moving Her car In To It once our Car was Moved, We had 4 Breakfasts at a Extra £5.95 each the First 2 wear Great However the second 2 Had to be Sent Back to the Kitchen and Replaced as most of the Items on Both Plates wear Overcooked Baddly Pluss 3 Items that wear on the First 2 Breakfasts wear also Missing as the Kitchen Staff seem to have Trouble giving the same amout of items out on a Plate more than Once as the Very same thing Happond with 1 of my Sons Breakfasts on the day we Left However the Price Remains the same £5.95 Regardless, From all of our Views on both Trips the Entire Cohannons Complex appears to Want to Make as Much Money as Possible as Quickly as Possible No doubt so the Owners can Holiday themselves somewhear in the US like Califorina for a Month or so No Doubt, The Rooms are very Basic Indeed there is Not Even any Drawspace just the odd Shelf and None of Either the Bathroom, Thay do seem to have Quite a Good Digital TV Signal in there Rooms However this is Spoilt by only Having 17inch and Under Televisions to watch it on, The Corowdoors and Open ariers stink of Stale Smoke as do some of the Rooms, There was and still Is Lots of Burn Makes and Cup and or Glass stains in our room That we had on both Stays this alons says a lot about the Cleaning Staff and Clenntheyness of the Rooms at Cohannons Auto Lodge or Inn Or whatever it wants to call itself, We wear told That this is a 2 Star Ratted Lodge that Would be a 3 Star Ratted but for No Room Service However It Would Needs Far More Than Room Service to make this Place either 2 or 3 Star Ratted The Rooms and Bathrooms need Re-Decorating from top to Bottom as Paint is Flaking Away and Wallpaper is Coming Lose, And the use of Large Keys to let you in no less than 3 doors is Outdated in this day and age as you even have to Lock your room Door with the Key every time you go in or out of it, Most Good Hotels these days use Swipe Cards Not keys. Cohannons has Resently Won a Award But I very Much doubt that whoever thay won it from has ever Stayed at Cohannons as if thay had I do not think thay would of Won as Good First Hand Experience of a Hotel Inn or Auto Lodge tells a very Different Story and you can-not always beleaive just Glowing Reviews Alone Read the Bad Once Aswell, I NO that we will Never Ever be back to Cohannons in this Lifetime to stay Or Eat as just like the Room Prices the Food is also Well Overpriced for what you get But atleast the Prices are Completing with Good Hotels its just a Shame that Evrythink ealse is NOT.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martina C, Manager at Cohannon Inn and Autolodge, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear David H,
Thank-you for taking the time to review.

You and your wife stayed here at the beginning of July 13 and were so pleased with your stay that you booked before you left to return again for four nights with your two sons.
We were very surprised when, after your first visit, you posted a terrible review saying you would never stay again when you had actually booked to com back.
During your second visit you boasted to a member of staff that you had put a bad review on about another hotel and Trip Adviser had to remove it. Your review history reports on Trip Adviser show that you have written unpleasant reviews about 15 of the 17 places you stayed.

Your malicious comments have been hurtful to our staff, however, thankfully our other customers appreciate us otherwise we would not have received a certificate of excellence from Trip Adviser this year and had a successful business here for 34 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed at the Cohannon Inn a few weeks ago and couldn't have been more impressed. The rooms were spotless. There was plenty of parking spaces with in close walking distance to your room. There was good amenities near by such as a shop, petrol station, beauty services and an off license. The room was spaceous and there was plenty of space to put your stuff away and make yourself at home. The food in the restaurant was delicious whether in the morning or afternoon. The staff in reception and the restaurant really couldn't have been nicer and really went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed your stay. I would highly recommend Cohannon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Spent the night here recently after attending a function. The room was scrupulously clean, with lovely big fluffy towels which are always appreciated, rather than some of the tiny worn ones some hotels seem to think will do. Very comfortable accommodation at very reasonable cost, with all the in-room facilities you would expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oakville1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My husband and I were looking for a convenient overnight stay before proceeding to the Belfast Ferry to Scotland. We decided to stay here as it seemed to be very convenient to the M1 Motorway to Belfast which indeed it was. There were all necessary facilities at hand including a good restaurent, general store and petrol stationand everywhere was clean and tidy. The receptionist at the autolodge was very helpful and found out information for us and nothing was too much trouble. We followed her advice as to the time it would take to get to the ferry and if we hadn't taken her advice we would have missed it!! Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask questions about where your room would be situated and bear in mind where 'noise' can com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Cohannon twice during a trip to Ireland to visit family and friends. We found it very clean and comfortable with very helpful and friendly staff. The rooms are quite large and comfortable with adequate hanging space and shelves.They were also willing to store our large suitcases while we went to Scotland between our stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungannon
4.0 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
7.7 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
9.9 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
10.8 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cohannon Inn and Autolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohannon Inn and Autolodge

Property: Cohannon Inn and Autolodge
Address: 212 Ballynakilly Road, Dungannon BT71 6HJ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cohannon Inn and Autolodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cohannon Inn and Autolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cohannon Inn And Autolodge Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing