We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ralph & Norah are the best hosts”
Review of Grange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grange Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ralph & Norah are the best hosts”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

It was so important to find a relaxing place to stay with my Dad & Brother as we don't get away together often and a hectic Irish family reunion was planned for the weekend. Going to the Grange was a welcome respite and we spent most of the time in the summer house (so that Dad could smoke)! We enjoyed the manicured gardens and warm hospitality of both Norah (a great cook, Dad is missing her greatly) and Ralph (an entertaining, welcoming host) and we missed them afterwards more than the family! This has to be the best place to stay in Northern Ireland and we are so grateful to them both and for the other trip advisor comments that encouraged us to stay. Thanks very much for making our rare family holiday in to a great trip.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family was blessed to be able to spend a couple of nights at the home of Ralph and Nora Brown. Their home was absolutely gorgeous and full of charm and the grounds were lovely and peaceful. Our rooms were thoughtfully equipped with every amenity even to include homemade cookies. Breakfast was an amazing adventure filled with delicious home cooked treats, especially the traditional Irish porridge floated in Bushmills whiskey and trimmed with cream and sugar! The Browns are genuinely the most kind and pleasant hosts. We enjoyed chatting with them as much as we enjoyed staying in their delightful home!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

a recent visit to Dungannon was made a memorable one by virtue of our stay at Grange Lodge.
A warm welcome awaited us and our rooms were so comfortable and charming. The house is delightful with elegant rooms and brimming with antiques. The gardens are simply enchanting and even facilitated a few practice golf shots! Breakfast was amazing with beautiful fresh fruit salad one of the many features of the beautiful menu. Our hosts couldn't have done enough for us even providing us with a 7a.m. breakfast when we had to make an unexpected early departure
Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmurphy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was practically adopted by Ralph and Nora who couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful and hospitable. Nora's breakfasts were excellent - everything home-made, the breads, apple pancakes, real orange juice and more than I could ever hope to eat - much to Nora's disappointment! Fresh fruit every morning too, melon, strawberries, berries, pineapple. A beautiful house in a quiet rural setting and a really cosy room which was kept snug and warm during some very unseasonably cold weather. It was a real home from home. Ralph and Nora's local knowledge of the area also helped ensure I was never at a loose end for places to visit and explore. They are ideally situated, just 45 minutes or so by car from the airport, just over an hour to The Giant's Causeway and the amazing north coast, and there are some good places for an evening meal nearby to suit every budget. No hesitation in recommending Grange Lodge as an ideal place to stay. Thank you Ralph and Nora - hope to see you both again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This very lovely B&B was our first stay in Ireland. We did a bit of driving around to find it but that was probably more our fault rather than the directions being unclear!
This beautiful lodge is set in lovely gardens, up a very private country lane and amidst a very Irish rural setting. Our bedroom was roomy and had all the necessities [tea and coffee making] and clearly, a lot of thought has gone into the way the rooms were decorated.
A very relaxing drink before dinner in the lounge room was a great start to our stay. Dining was an absolutely delicious experience [dinner and breakfast] - the meals were excellent, and Nora's skills in the kitchen confirmed her culinary reputation whilst Ralph handled the front of house duties with good nature and humour. I tried their speciality porridge [with Bushmills whiskey and cream] - an unusal taste but very nice all the same!
We, along with our travelling friends, agreed that our stay at Grange Lodge was the pick of the B&B's we stayed in whilst travelling in Ireland - there were others which were very good but Grange Lodge had that extra "something" about it and we now wish we could have stayed longer.
Again, Tripadviser was used to find this B&B and again Tripadviser was "spot on" with it's reviewer's comments. We very highly rate Grange Lodge and if we get back to Ireland, it will be the first booking made. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We truly enjoyed our five days visit to Northern Ireland and Ralph and Nora enriched our time on holiday. The house, room, and grounds were excellent. The porridge and our special dinner cooked by Nora was superb. We highly recommend you visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

One of the best guest house I have stayed in, everything about the Grange lodge is superb..Porridge with irish whiskey is divine washed down with fresh local apple juice.The house is set in beautiful grounds in lovely surrounding coutryside

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dungannon
1.9 mi away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
31 reviews
8.8 mi away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Armagh City Hotel
Armagh City Hotel
#1 of 1 in Armagh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
234 reviews
18.2 mi away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
680 reviews
11.4 mi away
Glenavon House Hotel
Glenavon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Cookstown
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Lodge

Property: Grange Lodge
Address: 7 Grange Road, Dungannon BT71 7EJ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Dungannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dungannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Lodge Dungannon, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing